View unanswered posts    View active topics

All times are UTC - 6 hours





Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 
Print view Previous topic   Next topic  
Author Message
Search for:
PostPosted: Sun Jun 18, 2006 3:42 pm 
Offline
Joined: Mon Jun 12, 2006 9:04 pm
Posts: 5
Fresh burn of R5C7 hangs at 78%. Using auto-install. Installs fine up to 78%. Then some drive and CD activity, and then nothing. Num lock is still responsive.

I've checked the CD burn with:
Code:
tv testcd
and all the checksums are fine.

2 times this has happened.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jun 18, 2006 4:20 pm 
Offline
Joined: Mon Jun 12, 2006 9:04 pm
Posts: 5
Waited 30 mins at 78%, no change.

Removed:
- PCI Soundblaster Live
- PCI 3com 3C905C
Reinstalled, and still hangs at 78%

Athlon64 2.2GHz
MSI RS482M-IL mobo
NVidia 6600
1.5GB RAM


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jun 18, 2006 5:16 pm 
Offline
Joined: Thu Mar 25, 2004 11:00 am
Posts: 9551
Location: Arlington, MA
Try adding some keyboard activity. Hit the shift key or something like that every few minutes.

I seem to remember some other issue, so searching for "install hangs" may turn up something. Possibly a BIOS setting, or a boot option:

http://mysettopbox.tv/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=9836

You may also want to run the memtest86 utility to make sure that you don't have any RAM problems.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jun 18, 2006 6:29 pm 
Offline
Joined: Mon Jun 12, 2006 9:04 pm
Posts: 5
tjc,

Thanks for the response.

Using your link, and searches, I tried:
Code:
knoppmyth vga=normal

- Pulled the Nvidiia 6600
- Pulled the pcHDTV HD-5500
- Disabled BIOS APIC
- Disabled BIOS on-board LAN
- Disabled BIOS on-board Firewire
- On-board parallel was already disabled
- On-board audio was already disabled
- On-board SATA was already disabled
Booted with on-board video and PATA drive.
Same 78% hang with all of the above actions.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jun 18, 2006 7:45 pm 
Offline
Joined: Sun Jun 12, 2005 10:55 pm
Posts: 3161
Location: Warwick, RI
Hi
How large is the drive? Over 20gig at least..
Mike


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jun 18, 2006 8:25 pm 
Offline
Joined: Mon Jun 12, 2006 9:04 pm
Posts: 5
mjl wrote:
Hi
How large is the drive? Over 20gig at least..
Mike
15GB. Too small? This 15GB was meant to be just a trial.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jun 18, 2006 8:40 pm 
Offline
Joined: Sun Jun 12, 2005 10:55 pm
Posts: 3161
Location: Warwick, RI
Hi,
With a 15 gig, you must do manual install to squeeze it all in :) Works fine with everything except won't work well for continous tv. Simply exit tv every couple hours and it works ok. (has to do with auto expire)

R5A30 runs like a rock on 15gig.

This is a Dell Dimension L1400c (400mhz, 256 meg, pvr-350) running R5C7 Won't do eye candy while smoothly playing music :(
df -h
Filesystem Size Used Avail Use% Mounted on
/dev/hda1 4.6G 3.5G 919M 80% /
/dev/hda3 7.5G 2.9G 4.7G 39% /myth
adds up to ~13gig for me.
Swap: 572536k total, 0k used,
22:39:29 up 8 days, 22:28, 2 users, load average: 0.00, 0.07, 0.08
I just posted some notes else where on the forum (sata issue) and that will help guide you along I think.

Mike
correction, Mem: 382640k total, 371764k used,


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jun 19, 2006 4:30 pm 
Offline
Joined: Mon Jun 12, 2006 9:04 pm
Posts: 5
Tried install with a 45GB PATA drive, same result.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jun 19, 2006 6:10 pm 
Offline
Joined: Thu Mar 25, 2004 11:00 am
Posts: 9551
Location: Arlington, MA
Definitely time to try the memory tests. At the CD boot prompt type memtest86 and hit enter then go find something to do for a while. You might want to stick around for at least long enough to see that it passes the first few tests.

And now that I'm thinking about RAM, given that you must have two asymetrically sized sticks of RAM in there to have 1.5 Gb with a 2 slot MoBo, I'd try pulling one of the sticks. If you're going to do HDTV leave the 1Gb stick, if you're just going to do SDTV the 0.5Gb stick should be plenty.

BTW - If you haven't already checked the manual for that board to see what it says about RAM configurations like that it might be a good idea.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jun 23, 2006 12:57 pm 
Offline
Joined: Thu Mar 02, 2006 5:42 pm
Posts: 410
Location: middleton wi usa atsc
I had a similar problem with r5b7. It would always hang during install, where as a previous version installed just fine. Turned out I had to select "failsafe" install mode where it does almost no hardware detection. At least I think it was called "failsafe", what ever the most conservative install is, thats the one to pick. It then installed just fine and Myth worked fine.

It threw me off a long time because the earlier versions didn't need the failsafe mode with the exact same hardware!
Goodluck,
jzigmyth


Top
 Profile  
 

Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 


All times are UTC - 6 hours




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

Theme Created By ceyhansuyu