View unanswered posts    View active topics

All times are UTC - 6 hours





Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 
Print view Previous topic   Next topic  
Author Message
Search for:
PostPosted: Fri Jun 30, 2006 10:54 am 
Offline
Joined: Sat Jun 10, 2006 5:27 am
Posts: 24
Hi, I just managed to install knoppmyth using the failsafe-option when installing. (a small step for mankind, but a huge leap for me!)
After the install the computer rebooted, but hanged at "checking if image is initramfs..." with a blinking underscore next to it. Everytime i reboot it, it still hangs there.

The (crappy) system:
PII 350MHz
SE440BX motherboard
384MB SDRAM (3x128MB @ 100MHz)
160GB Hard Disk (Western Digital WD160BB)
GeForce 4400Ti 8x AGP (overkill :D )
Medion tv-tuner (type 7134 => philips??)

I hope someone can give me a solution for this problem.

Thx,

The Crazy Noob


Edit: Would the Gf4400Ti make up for the bad CPU? (Does most calculations have to be done by CPU or by the GFX-card?)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jun 30, 2006 3:59 pm 
Offline
Joined: Fri Sep 19, 2003 7:05 pm
Posts: 5088
Location: Fontana, Ca
Sounds like a bad burn. Did you verify md5sum? Did you verify the CD after burning?

_________________
cesman

When the source is open, the possibilities are endless!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jul 01, 2006 1:34 am 
Offline
Joined: Sat Jun 10, 2006 5:27 am
Posts: 24
I verified the CD with md5sum and all was OK. The CD-ROM player that I used for the install was a bit old and was at the end of its life (making funny noises...). I'll try to reinstall Knoppmyth and see if that helps.

Edit: could it have something to do with the fact that I could only install Knoppmyth in failsafe-mode? (see this thread for more info on that)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jul 01, 2006 2:19 am 
Offline
Joined: Sat Jun 10, 2006 5:27 am
Posts: 24
I tried reinstalling Knoppmyth, but the computer still hangs.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jul 17, 2006 7:55 am 
Offline
Joined: Sat Jun 10, 2006 5:27 am
Posts: 24
*Bump* Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jul 21, 2006 11:27 am 
Offline
Joined: Sat Jun 10, 2006 5:27 am
Posts: 24
I found a similar problem here: http://www.ubuntuforums.org/archive/ind ... 75446.html
can annyone tell me if i can use a solution of that thread for knoppmyth?

_________________
Visit my site about cool things you can do with fresnel lenses including TV and LCD Projectors and a 3D Virtual Monitor using a regular computer-monitor and a fresnel lens!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jul 21, 2006 6:09 pm 
Offline
Joined: Fri Sep 19, 2003 7:05 pm
Posts: 5088
Location: Fontana, Ca
Yes, those are viable especially with an older motherboard...

_________________
cesman

When the source is open, the possibilities are endless!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jul 21, 2006 9:25 pm 
Offline
Joined: Sun Jun 12, 2005 10:55 pm
Posts: 3161
Location: Warwick, RI
Hi The Crazy Noob,

I've installed on some really old and slow hardware and what you have listed should be able to run a 350 card. Sounds as the cd may be having issues reading the cd properly, colors, brand of optical media are all factors, even the tracking could be just out of tolerance.

As a trick if you have a second machine to play with, hang the hard drive on it, do the install, and at the reboot point power down and switch the drive back to the original old slow box. Now when it boots up it does the detection and goes through the 2nd stage.

Have fun!
Mike


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jul 23, 2006 6:21 am 
Offline
Joined: Sat Jun 10, 2006 5:27 am
Posts: 24
Never mind, I fixed it: the problem was the BIOS. I put on the latest BIOS and everything boots up fine now. :)

Now i just need to get my TV-tuner to work...

_________________
Visit my site about cool things you can do with fresnel lenses including TV and LCD Projectors and a 3D Virtual Monitor using a regular computer-monitor and a fresnel lens!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jul 23, 2006 6:21 am 
Offline
Joined: Sat Jun 10, 2006 5:27 am
Posts: 24
Never mind, I fixed it: the problem was the BIOS. I put on the latest BIOS and everything boots up fine now. :)

Now i just need to get my TV-tuner to work...

_________________
Visit my site about cool things you can do with fresnel lenses including TV and LCD Projectors and a 3D Virtual Monitor using a regular computer-monitor and a fresnel lens!


Top
 Profile  
 

Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 


All times are UTC - 6 hours




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

Theme Created By ceyhansuyu