View unanswered posts    View active topics

All times are UTC - 6 hours





Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 
Print view Previous topic   Next topic  
Author Message
Search for:
 Post subject: upgrade HD
PostPosted: Thu Sep 14, 2006 12:35 pm 
Offline
Joined: Sun Oct 23, 2005 10:15 am
Posts: 19
I currently have a single HD MythTV box. I would like to put in a new HD, use it for the /myth directory (currently hda3)

I think I can just wip it in, shutdown the backend, then copy /myth to the new HD, then change the mount point, BUT

I would like to have a larger HDA1.

would this work?

1) install new HD
2) shutdown Backend
3) Copy hda3 to the new HD
4) mount the HD as /myth
5) start MythTV, and do a mythbackup
6) boot from the CD, and re-parttion HDa1
7) then do an 'upgrade' and restore from HDb1 (/myth)

thanks.

_________________
Kevin Cossaboon
www.cossaboon.net


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Sep 14, 2006 1:39 pm 
Offline
Joined: Fri Nov 18, 2005 9:22 am
Posts: 777
Location: spencerport, ny (USA)
Why not join them together with LVM? That's the best way, really. I've got a 200 + 250, and my /myth partition is 400GB+
See the LVM writeup in the wiki. If you follow it (using the same names!), you'll be able to painlessly upgrade KnoppMyth versions, as long as you follow TJC's upgrade notes.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Sep 14, 2006 2:18 pm 
Offline
Joined: Sun Oct 23, 2005 10:15 am
Posts: 19
Had bad luck with LVM. Had one drive of 3 go bad, and lost the whole thing. I would like to move to a RAID setup, but this is step one.

Thanks for the advice. I will check the page out, and see if the procedure will work for a single HD.

Mostly I am wondering haw to expand HDa1 and still keep the MythTV data.

_________________
Kevin Cossaboon
www.cossaboon.net


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Sep 14, 2006 2:59 pm 
Offline
Joined: Tue Mar 28, 2006 8:26 pm
Posts: 804
Location: Minneapolis, MN
I did what you are talking about. I added a 500GB hard drive to hold the /myth partition.

I followed the directions on this thread:
http://mysettopbox.tv/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=641

_________________
KnoppMyth R5.5, Asus A8N-VM CSM (nvidia 6150 onboard video), AMD Athlon 64 dual-core 4200+, two 1GB sticks DDR 400, HD-3000 HDTV card, PVR-150 card, Iguanaworks RS-232 IR receiver/transmitter, Pioneer DVR-110 DVD burner


Top
 Profile  
 

Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 


All times are UTC - 6 hours




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

Theme Created By ceyhansuyu