View unanswered posts    View active topics

All times are UTC - 6 hours





Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 3 posts ] 
Print view Previous topic   Next topic  
Author Message
Search for:
PostPosted: Wed Oct 04, 2006 11:02 am 
Offline
Joined: Tue Oct 03, 2006 6:12 pm
Posts: 2
I am a first time installer of both Knoppix and MythTV. I come from a somewhat extensive background with *BSD , so I figured it couldn't be that hard.

The system in question:
A Shuttle SK21G base system
A Maxtor 300Gb SATA drive. 300mb rate capable, jumpered down to 150 Mb/sec to work with chipset.

I won't go further into hardware because it's never getting to that point.

I get into the install CD, go to manual install, manually partitioned the drive. 4 Partitions, 3G for root, 3G for swap (2G of RAM), 10G for the cache, and the remainder for the mythtv partition. Root partition set to bootable.

This goes fine. I then go into the install, It proceeds fine and I reboot. (This included changing the install from knoppmyth to knoppmyth-sata)

"Error loading OS"

As if it's not recognizing the drive. The BIOS shows it, and it's in "IDE mode" so it shows up as the primary drive on the secondary chain (Optical drive is the primary on the first IDE chain).

I can boot a knoppix live CD and see the drive, and mount the partitions. I tried the install putting lilo on both the MBR and on the root partition. Neither worked.

I am pretty sure I'm probably missing some utter noob point here which I'll bonk myself on the head for once I find out what it is, I just need someone to point me in the right direction to it working so the bonking can proceed. I searched on here, and elsewhere and most places point to the drive not being recognized, but the fact that the install both partitions it and installs to it seems to indicate that the system can access the drive just fine.

Any ideas? Tips? [/url]


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Oct 04, 2006 11:20 am 
Offline
Joined: Sun Sep 25, 2005 3:50 pm
Posts: 1013
Location: Los Angeles
After you install, but before you reboot, try combing thru dmesg for any errors. I had to chroot /mnt/hdinstall and append some paramaters to lilo.conf before my system would boot with a SATA drive. If you search for SATA and Install in this forum you should come up with quite a few posts. Here's one of mine:

http://mysettopbox.tv/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=6357

_________________
Mike
My Hardware Profile


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Oct 04, 2006 6:31 pm 
Offline
Joined: Tue Oct 03, 2006 6:12 pm
Posts: 2
YAY

THank you very much, the addition of the noapic and noacpi stuff seems to ahve cleared it up, also there was a junk line at the beginning of hte lilo.conf file that I commented out.

Thanks :)


Top
 Profile  
 

Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 3 posts ] 


All times are UTC - 6 hours




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

Theme Created By ceyhansuyu