View unanswered posts    View active topics

All times are UTC - 6 hours

Go to page 1, 2  Next

Print view Previous topic   Next topic  
Search for:
PostPosted: Fri Oct 06, 2006 4:07 am 
Hi,

I am a newbie with not much experience with Linux. I have followed the pamplet in trying to install R5D1 on a machine with SATA drives.

I tried Auto install, but as suggested in the pamphlet, it dosent work, and I then tried manual install. Unfortunately the manual steps to partion the drives arent that user friendly to the uninitiated.

Either way, after following the commands, the installation bombs out and gives an error at line 609. I never get back to the install scrren where the "load" option is supposed to be.

My questions are
1. Is there any trick to get auto-install to work with SATA drives so I dont have to manually partion drives.
2. Is there a step by step (for newbies like me) that are more precise that someone could post/send me/point me in the direction of.

Thanks
R

768 meg RAM
Hauppauge PVR 150
Maxtor 120gig PATA
Sony DVD ROM CD/CD-RW
Trend TEW-443PI

Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Oct 06, 2006 6:27 am 
search around there are instructions that will tell you how to install from a sata drive. Also you might want to check the wiki page.......hint

Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Oct 06, 2006 6:54 am 
If you are unconfortable with linux use a PATA drive. It is that simple.

Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Oct 06, 2006 7:41 am 
I have tried what is listed on the wiki, but I never get option #4 Load configuration after I exit the partion disk program.

I created 4 partions, wrote them to disk, ran the mke2fs commands and the <alt> <F1> and never seem to get the load config screen.

When I quite cfdisk I get an Error about expecting 7 tokens and only finding 4, which also bombs out of the program.

And unfortunatley I dont have a PATA drive lying around to use, although I wish I did, since it looks like then I could just run the auto install.

768 meg RAM