View unanswered posts    View active topics

All times are UTC - 6 hours





Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 
Print view Previous topic   Next topic  
Author Message
Search for:
PostPosted: Fri Oct 13, 2006 10:13 am 
Offline
Joined: Thu Oct 12, 2006 1:41 am
Posts: 2
Location: Aachen, Germany
Hi there,


i'm just installing your nice knoppmyth and discovered a problem with the auto installation routine KnoppMyth-auto

I have a 2100mb CF card in my htpc.
But your installationroutine wants to make the first partition 5000mb big.

you could first check the size of hda , and then subtract a reasonable amount of swap size from it
then you have the max size for the first partition :)


when i select manual install and get into the partitioning program, i can't get out of it.
when i select quit its tells me something about exec_proc and stays in the partitioning dialog (the blue one, not the partitioning program itself)


everyone with the same problem: switch to console2, run
pico /usr/local/bin/KnoppMyth-auto

^W and search for 5000
then change the 5000 to a smaller size (1800 for me) and change the value for partition2 to something smaller.
maybe you have to tinker a little bit with the values

then ^X and save the file to /tmp (/usr/ is read-only)

chmod 755 /tmp/<yourfile>

and run it.
should work now

_________________
mfg
angel


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Dec 01, 2006 10:52 am 
Offline
Joined: Wed Oct 04, 2006 8:44 am
Posts: 17
Location: Swansea, UK
This should be a first test done by the installer - i.e. is the selected medium at least 5Gb in size?

The way it is at the moment, everything proceeds until *after* the partition tool repartitions the disk. At this point the old contents of the disk are gone, but you don't get a Knoppmyth installation.

(I misread an 8 000 000 sector disk as being 8Gb, when in fact it was 4Gb. That's how I came across this situation.)

I'd flag it in the Knoppmyth bugzilla, but there doesn't see to be one!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Dec 03, 2006 7:12 am 
Offline
Joined: Sun Jun 12, 2005 10:55 pm
Posts: 3161
Location: Warwick, RI
Hi,

You want to put KM
Quote:
I have a 2100mb CF card in my htpc
Sorry, you can run dsl ( damnsmalllinux.org ) on a cf and the same would apply to a usb mem stick.

If you really insist, then you can try by doing the install as manual.

Mike


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Feb 08, 2007 12:09 am 
Offline
Joined: Fri Nov 21, 2003 10:23 pm
Posts: 66
mjl wrote:
Hi,

You want to put KM
Quote:
I have a 2100mb CF card in my htpc
Sorry, you can run dsl ( damnsmalllinux.org ) on a cf and the same would apply to a usb mem stick.

If you really insist, then you can try by doing the install as manual.

Mike


Actually he did try a manual install but he got stuck in an endless loop after partitioning. I am having the same problem.

After doing partitioning the drive you come back to the screen where you either choose to "partition the drive" or "quit the program" Since I have parttioned the drive I choose quit and at the bottom of the screen a message flashes by that reads

/usr/local/bin/KnoppMyth-installer: exec_proc: command not found

I am installing R5C7 onto a pIII 450 with a 12 G harddrive. the machine is to be a frontend only and also has windows on it. I am trying to install knoppmyth root to /dev/hda3 which is 2G. Has anyone ever had this endless loop situation while attempting a manual install?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Feb 08, 2007 7:00 am 
Offline
Joined: Sun Jun 12, 2005 10:55 pm
Posts: 3161
Location: Warwick, RI
Hi,

2 gig is not enough space to put the system. You MIGHT make it work on a 4 gig usb and and an second real drive for the /myth storage. CF has limited number of write cycles so even if you did install it to a 4 gig unit, it would have a short life.

There may be things that you could remove to squeeze it into 2 gig, but why? Cecil has trimmed it really nice already and still leaves us with a great package.

Quote:
R5C7 onto a pIII 450 with a 12 G harddrive
make it a fe/be with a pvr350 if you want to be able to watch tv. 12 gig will leave you ~6 gig for media.

Been there, done it.
Mike


Top
 Profile  
 

Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 


All times are UTC - 6 hours




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

Theme Created By ceyhansuyu