View unanswered posts    View active topics

All times are UTC - 6 hours





Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 
Print view Previous topic   Next topic  
Author Message
Search for:
PostPosted: Wed Dec 27, 2006 12:10 am 
Offline
Joined: Wed May 10, 2006 4:13 pm
Posts: 4
Hi,

I have been trying to install R5E50 and I am having problems with X. I guess the problem is with X org nv driver not supporting the 7300 GT card. I had a similar problem with R5D1 but got over it by using the latest nvidia proprietory drivers.

What I have done so far is to try and stop X from starting. This has caused me problems, I resorted to editting /etc/inittab and changing the runlevel to 3 but this appeared to make no difference. I finally resorted to renaming startx to stop it from running.

If I edit the xorg.conf and change nv to vesa I can get X to work but the performance is poor so I need to use a better driver.

I have just noticed that there is no kernel source, can I download a kernel from www.kernel.org and compile the proprietory nvidia driver or am I better off reverting to RD51.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: GeForce 7300 working
PostPosted: Thu Dec 28, 2006 5:09 pm 
Offline
Joined: Wed May 10, 2006 4:13 pm
Posts: 4
Ok I managed to get it working. The method is not very pretty and I am sure there must be a simpler way but here is how I did it.

When the system stops after rebooting with a blank screen I put the R5E50 CD back in the drive and reboot.

I allow it to boot in the normal way and when the menu comes up I exit out of the installation.

At the prompt I type

mount /dev/hda1 /mnt/hda
chroot /mnt/hda1

I then stop X from starting by renaming startx

cd /usr/bin
mv startx startx.org

I then remove the CD and reboot the computer.

When the computer has rebooted I login as root

I then type

install-nvidia-debian.sh 1.0-8776 -force

Once this has finished I rename startx by typing

cd /usr/bin
mv startx.org startx

I then reboot

Hope this helps


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Dec 28, 2006 8:18 pm 
Offline
Joined: Thu Mar 25, 2004 11:00 am
Posts: 9551
Location: Arlington, MA
Nice write up! Could I talk you into updating the http://www.knoppmythwiki.org/index.php?page=BlackScreenAfterInstall troubleshooting page on the wiki?

Thanks!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Dec 29, 2006 3:00 am 
Offline
Joined: Wed May 10, 2006 4:13 pm
Posts: 4
tjc wrote:
Nice write up! Could I talk you into updating the http://www.knoppmythwiki.org/index.php?page=BlackScreenAfterInstall troubleshooting page on the wiki?

Thanks!



Done


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jan 09, 2007 7:43 pm 
Offline
Joined: Tue Jan 09, 2007 3:02 pm
Posts: 1
Thanks, that was great help to me.

maybe I'm stupid, but why not have that version of the drivers installed automatically during install, if an nvidia card is detected?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jan 09, 2007 9:09 pm 
Offline
Joined: Thu Mar 25, 2004 11:00 am
Posts: 9551
Location: Arlington, MA
It normally would be, but certain newer hardware just doesn't cooperate. This can be a hardware recognition, hardware grey list, or tv/monitor finickyness problem. Right now the install processes uses a list of known card types to select which driver to install based on what is know to work most reliably, but there are always going to be exceptions. As for the TV/monitor side, some TVs are really, really picky about the signal they'll sync to, and other HDTVs or monitors provide bad EDID data about their capabilities.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jan 12, 2007 9:56 pm 
Offline
Joined: Thu Jan 04, 2007 10:31 pm
Posts: 7
Location: RI
That install info was a huge help for me too. I was surprised I needed to
update the driver.
Have you been using full screen HD ok ? I can use the "TVStandard" option
as "HD720p" and everything looks great, but it only uses part of my TV
display. When I use "HD1080i", it uses the whole screen (as 4:3) for the
frontend displays, but go to Watch TV, and the TV goes black and linux hangs
up with X taking 99% CPU. Trying "HD1080p" is even worse, doesn't even
get to the frontend display.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jan 12, 2007 10:52 pm 
Offline
Joined: Wed May 10, 2006 4:13 pm
Posts: 4
I previously used the 9631 version of the Nvidia driver with version R5D1 of Knoppmyth. When I upgraded I simply did a cut and paste of the relevant sections of my old X configuration into the new configuration. This worked Ok even though it is for a later version of the Nvidia driver. I have had no problems with any resolution but I think that this is due to the fact that my Toshiba TV provides correct EDID data. The only tweak I had to make in this version and the previous version of Knoppmyth was to set the DPI to 75 x 75 to deal with the problem of the font being to small to read.


Top
 Profile  
 

Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 


All times are UTC - 6 hours




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

Theme Created By ceyhansuyu