View unanswered posts    View active topics

All times are UTC - 6 hours

Print view Previous topic   Next topic  
Search for:
PostPosted: Sun Jan 14, 2007 12:00 pm 
Okay, I'm very new to this, so sorry for the dumb questions.

The pamphlet says: Select partition and create 3 partitions using cfdisk. The first will be /, the second swap, the third /cache and fourth /myth."

A few questions:

Is it THREE or FOUR that I'm supposed to make? (first it says 3, then it says four).

Secondly, what type? All Primary? Or Extended, or a mix of both?

Thirdly what FS type? (I know swap is "swap"). I don't see an ext3 or ext2 as the type, simply a type 85 as "linux extended". And I don't see an XFS type (or is that later?) for the \myth partition. This will be for HDTV and "regular" SD recordings as well.

The Wiki indicates that cache is no longer needed? (R5B57, but not sure if that's on the ISO or not).

Thanks!

Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jan 14, 2007 12:44 pm 
Site Admin
R5E50 (the latest public release) can do an auto-install to SATA disk if you will let it take the entire disk.

Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jan 14, 2007 12:45 pm 
I am by no means an expert, but I did three partitions. I think the two beyond swap I used ext3.

On another note, with an issue that I had I think I sucked it up and tried the automated install and it seemed to work for me....take that with a grain of salt though.

Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jan 14, 2007 12:46 pm 
Dale beat me to it. :D

Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jan 14, 2007 1:28 pm 
Okay, thanks. Any way to get someone to update the "pamphlet" then so that it doesn't make it sound like you have to do a manual install if you have SATA?

Also, will the automatic format the /myth as JFS or XFS?

Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jan 14, 2007 1:29 pm 
The mention of four partittions and /dev/hda4 are editing oversights from when Cecil updated the pamphlet after the cache partition got dropped. Just read 3 for 4 and you should be alright.