View unanswered posts    View active topics

All times are UTC - 6 hours

Print view Previous topic   Next topic  
Search for:
PostPosted: Mon Sep 17, 2007 3:39 pm 
Hello all. . this is my first exposure to KnoppMyth. I'm a relative newbie to Linux in general, but I have successfully installed and run Ubuntu, Mint, SuSE, Mephis, the old versions of Mandrake, and a few others. Getting tired of the requirement to endlessly send my hard-earned $$ to Microsoft, so I thought I'd try to build a Linux-based PVR/Media Center.

So here goes:
Downloaded and burned the R5F27 ISO this past weekend and proceeded to try to set up a PC. Used pretty mainstream components, Asus P4P800E board, Intel P4 2.8Ghz, 1Gb ram, ATi AGP video, ATi Pro Theater 550 tuner. The box has both DVD-R/W, and CD-R/W drives, both are again, mainstream components, Samsung and Plextor. And, of course, a WD disk drive.
The first attempt got as far as booting the CD to the first screen (pretty colors, by the way), before an error about being unable to continue. Something about the CD volume having errors and being unable to continue to read it. So, I thought maybe I got a bad cd burn and decided to try another. Burned the ISO at slow speed again (4X- like I always do) to try to avoid any errors. Same result - just kept prompting to try running the knoppmyth command with the "irqpoll" switch. Tried all the various suggested command line switches such as "testcd" (I think that's what it was) and loading the cd contents to RAM, none of which worked. They just occasionally got me a little further into the setup before it froze each time. After wasting a good part of my Saturday on this , I decided to give up in frustration.
I've got over 12 years as a SysAdmin and have burned perhaps a thousand or more CD's, so I think I'm a fairly good judge of the CD quality being OK.
Basically, I couldn't even get the install to run. Just don't know where to go from here. HELP!

Post subject: