View unanswered posts    View active topics

All times are UTC - 6 hours





Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 
Print view Previous topic   Next topic  
Author Message
Search for:
PostPosted: Fri Jul 11, 2008 7:55 pm 
Offline
Joined: Sat May 26, 2007 9:51 pm
Posts: 130
I'm upgrading from R5F27 to R5.5 currently using the Auto-Upgrade, using tjc's excellent guide and the pamphlet. Everything ran rather well until I went through some of the prompts after reboot (approx. Phase 2b).

After setting up my network, inserting passwords, the install seems to be hanging at the message,

Quote:
Waiting for schema upgrade to complete


After that message, it has status dots that continue "endlessly"

Quote:
.................[etc]


It's been adding dots and on this step for just over an hour. Has this been seen before?

Thanks everyone!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jul 11, 2008 8:24 pm 
Offline
Joined: Fri Oct 20, 2006 12:04 pm
Posts: 905
Location: LA, CA
both upgrades I did today, did this. I just stopped the script (CTR + C) and rebooted and everything was fine.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jul 11, 2008 8:25 pm 
Offline
Joined: Thu Sep 27, 2007 5:44 pm
Posts: 484
Like this?
http://mysettopbox.tv/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=18478


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jul 11, 2008 9:08 pm 
Offline
Joined: Sat May 26, 2007 9:51 pm
Posts: 130
knappster wrote:


Yep! Just what I was looking for. My searches for "waiting" and "schema" didn't ping that one.

Thanks!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jul 11, 2008 9:10 pm 
Offline
Joined: Thu Sep 27, 2007 5:44 pm
Posts: 484
Yeah, I often find it hard to find relevant posts, too. That's why we help one another. :D


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jul 12, 2008 10:02 pm 
Offline
Joined: Wed Jan 18, 2006 8:36 pm
Posts: 195
I had the same problem tonight, this may be helpful:
Code:
2008-07-12 20:51:28.426 Database Backup complete.
Console is not interactive, cannot ask user about upgrading database schema.
Upgrading.
2008-07-12 20:51:28.429 Newest Schema Version : 1214
2008-07-12 20:51:28.431 Upgrading to schema version 1210
2008-07-12 20:51:28.432 DB Error (Performing database upgrade):
Query was: ALTER TABLE program ADD audioprop     tinyint(3) unsigned NOT NULL; 
Error was: Driver error was [2/1060]:
QMYSQL3: Unable to execute query
Database error was:
Duplicate column name 'audioprop'
 
new version: 1210
2008-07-12 20:51:28.432 Database Schema upgrade FAILED, unlocking.
2008-07-12 20:51:28.433 Couldn't upgrade database to new schema


More interesting, if I do:
Code:
zgrep /myth/backup/mythconverg.sql.gz*

I do not get any matches. To me this suggests the database is being updated in 2 places.

EDIT:
This is how I fixed it:
  • Open a terminal (alt-x)
  • su to root
  • echo Seem to be woken up by USER >> /var/log/mythtv/mythbackend.log
  • mythrestore

This will restore your database, then automatically run the backed which upgraded the database for me.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jul 13, 2008 9:01 am 
Offline
Joined: Thu Mar 25, 2004 11:00 am
Posts: 9551
Location: Arlington, MA
Heh. This makes me really glad I've been careful to keep the restore fixups current... ;-)


Top
 Profile  
 

Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 


All times are UTC - 6 hours




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

Theme Created By ceyhansuyu