View unanswered posts    View active topics

All times are UTC - 6 hours





Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 
Print view Previous topic   Next topic  
Author Message
Search for:
PostPosted: Sat Oct 04, 2008 10:41 pm 
Offline
Joined: Mon Jun 19, 2006 8:23 pm
Posts: 184
i gave up on the upgrade idea and just did a fresh instal. now i get choppy video and no sound from my pvr-350 when playing back video

_________________
MSI K8MM-V Micro ATX motherboard
3100+ socket 754 AMD Semperon
1GB DDR ram
1TB WD Green Hdd
Hauppauge PVR-350 (tv-out)
SiliconDust HDHomeRun Prime
16X memorex DVD drive


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Oct 05, 2008 10:21 am 
Offline
Joined: Thu Mar 25, 2004 11:00 am
Posts: 9551
Location: Arlington, MA
Have you been through all the PVR-350 and PVR or IVTV related items covered in the R5.5 Hints?

Known Changes 1.2.3 - Make sure that OpenGL is turned off, that the checkbox to use the 350's decoder is on, and that you use an appropriate playback profile.

Known Issues 2.1.2 through 2.1.4 - Make sure you don't have any frame buffer issues or other config issues. Issue 2.1.1 may also be relevant.

Also see the following thread by abigailsweetashoney about selecting an appropriate playback profile: http://knoppmyth.net/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=18951


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Oct 05, 2008 2:57 pm 
Offline
Joined: Mon Jun 19, 2006 8:23 pm
Posts: 184
tjc wrote:
Have you been through all the PVR-350 and PVR or IVTV related items covered in the R5.5 Hints?

Known Changes 1.2.3 - Make sure that OpenGL is turned off, that the checkbox to use the 350's decoder is on, and that you use an appropriate playback profile.

Known Issues 2.1.2 through 2.1.4 - Make sure you don't have any frame buffer issues or other config issues. Issue 2.1.1 may also be relevant.

Also see the following thread by abigailsweetashoney about selecting an appropriate playback profile: http://knoppmyth.net/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=18951


sounds like I need the decoder check box, where is that. I cant seem to find it

_________________
MSI K8MM-V Micro ATX motherboard
3100+ socket 754 AMD Semperon
1GB DDR ram
1TB WD Green Hdd
Hauppauge PVR-350 (tv-out)
SiliconDust HDHomeRun Prime
16X memorex DVD drive


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Oct 05, 2008 7:22 pm 
Offline
Joined: Thu Mar 25, 2004 11:00 am
Posts: 9551
Location: Arlington, MA
electrohacker wrote:
sounds like I need the decoder check box, where is that. I cant seem to find it

The R5.5 Hints I've already referred you to include the full menu path.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Oct 05, 2008 10:55 pm 
Offline
Joined: Mon Jun 19, 2006 8:23 pm
Posts: 184
tjc wrote:
electrohacker wrote:
sounds like I need the decoder check box, where is that. I cant seem to find it

The R5.5 Hints I've already referred you to include the full menu path.


yeah but that didnt help, it doesnt mention a check box, it says something about stopping open GL and says you'll have other issues I dont have

I'm betting it's not using the encoder because the show moves slowly, a 15 minute show takes over an hour to watch (I let it run and walked away). luckily my machine is a 900Mhz duron and sucks at MPEG decoding, lol

_________________
MSI K8MM-V Micro ATX motherboard
3100+ socket 754 AMD Semperon
1GB DDR ram
1TB WD Green Hdd
Hauppauge PVR-350 (tv-out)
SiliconDust HDHomeRun Prime
16X memorex DVD drive


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Oct 06, 2008 10:19 pm 
Offline
Joined: Thu Mar 25, 2004 11:00 am
Posts: 9551
Location: Arlington, MA
Known Issues #2.1.4 which I _specifically_ pointed you to above, gives you the exact menu path for the PVR350OutputEnable setting. It even provides a command line alternative using mysql.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Oct 08, 2008 6:42 am 
Offline
Joined: Mon Jun 19, 2006 8:23 pm
Posts: 184
I'll give that a try,

but the reason that didnt come to my attention is because my output is working, the picture is coming out of the 350, it's just running the Mpeg extremely slowly (suspect the CPU is decoding the MPEG instead of the decoder)

_________________
MSI K8MM-V Micro ATX motherboard
3100+ socket 754 AMD Semperon
1GB DDR ram
1TB WD Green Hdd
Hauppauge PVR-350 (tv-out)
SiliconDust HDHomeRun Prime
16X memorex DVD drive


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Oct 08, 2008 3:49 pm 
Offline
Joined: Mon Jun 19, 2006 8:23 pm
Posts: 184
THAT WORKED

sorry for being an ass, I was really frustrated, it seems as I get older this stuff is getting harder and harder to understand and learn (and I'm only 25 WTF!!!)

but shes working now and this is added to my list of stuff to look for next time I get this problem

_________________
MSI K8MM-V Micro ATX motherboard
3100+ socket 754 AMD Semperon
1GB DDR ram
1TB WD Green Hdd
Hauppauge PVR-350 (tv-out)
SiliconDust HDHomeRun Prime
16X memorex DVD drive


Top
 Profile  
 

Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 


All times are UTC - 6 hours




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

Theme Created By ceyhansuyu