View unanswered posts    View active topics

All times are UTC - 6 hours

Go to page 1, 2  Next

Print view Previous topic   Next topic  
Search for:
PostPosted: Thu May 14, 2009 3:08 pm 
I have zero experience with Linux of any flavor. I am very interested in learning and would like to run KnoppMyth/ MythTV. After reading a lot of posts here and several other forums on Myth, I purchased the components to build my very own HTPC! I created a bootable cd of R5.5 and ran the auto install on my laptop (with a new hard drive of course) just to see how the software works while waiting on all of my new components to arrive. It seemed to load fine, but when it said to remove the cd to reboot, I removed it and hit enter. The screen came back up as a black screen with a blinking cursor that does not respond to anything. I'm sorry if this problem has been addressed already, but I could not find it, and most problems are addressed by running commands from a command prompt (which I am unable to get to).
I am afraid that with no experience with Linux/Unix or any other command prompt languages, my wife will kill me before I am able to show her that I am not wastiing money and that I can watch/record TV without Charter Communications!
I am open to any suggestions, and I'm not insulted easily.... so fire away!
Thanks,
John

Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu May 14, 2009 3:24 pm 
This page may help.
http://www.knoppmythwiki.org/index.php? ... terInstall

Additionally, it can be helpful if you list the hardware you are trying to get up and running.

PostPosted: Thu May 14, 2009 4:51 pm 
Bugg25 wrote:
It seemed to load fine, but when it said to remove the cd to reboot, I removed it and hit enter. The screen came back up as a black screen with a blinking cursor that does not respond to anything.

Does this occur after your standard BIOS messages (memory test, hdd detect, etc.)? Do you see a line that says "LILO version x.y.z" at all before this blinking cursor?

Post subject: