View unanswered posts    View active topics

All times are UTC - 6 hours





Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 
Print view Previous topic   Next topic  
Author Message
Search for:
PostPosted: Sat Jun 20, 2009 8:10 am 
Offline
Joined: Tue Aug 08, 2006 7:08 pm
Posts: 554
Location: UK
In trying to install from the LinHES RC2 disk (R6.00.08 ) on a Compaq Deskpro EN (PIII 1GHz i815 Chipset) as a test, the initial boot from CD halts at the "Loading UDev uevents" boot step, there is some inital CD activity. at this step, but then stops. This was left for a good 15 minutes to ensure that it wasn't a just a slow return from this.
I tried doing another boot on an i815 based laptop, the same thing occured.
To check it was not a CD problem, booting on 2 BX chipset based machines, they both passed this point.
Trying out a recent Arch ISO showed the same problem on the 2 i815 based machines.
Googling for this particular problem, reported adding pci=conf1, pci=conf2 or pci=nobios to the boot prompt would possibly fix this, as can be seen, as this is not in the hints and tips, this didn't work. :)
Are there any suggestions to work around this?

Bruce S.

_________________
Updated 2011/11/19: Athlon64 3700+ Asus A8N4-SLI Deluxe
1Gb PC 3200, 200Gb+250Gb+500Gb SATA HDD,
SATA DVD-RW Optiarc , Gigabyte GV-NX66128DP
Hauppauage Nova-T 500,+ 2x Nova HD S2 LinHes R6.02


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Aug 08, 2009 2:29 pm 
Offline
Joined: Sun Feb 19, 2006 8:47 am
Posts: 5
Location: Sweden
This is a known problem with Arch on the Compaq Deskpro EN. At kernel command line you need to enter disablemodules=iTCO_wdt when booting from the CD.

Later when installed, you need to edit /boot/grub/menu.lst and add disablemodules=iTCO_wdt

Bananis


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jun 26, 2010 7:54 am 
Offline
Joined: Tue Aug 08, 2006 7:08 pm
Posts: 554
Location: UK
It works, well until I get to the graphical install, then its just vertical lines on the display.
Trying various combinations of boot parameters (i810, NoX), got me to a very weird display, i could see some kind of text on screen, but if was like there was some real problem with the display timing.
BTW I had the lines problem with Mythbuntu 10.04 but OK with 9.10

So I'll just have to put MB on this box.

Thanks for the info, sorry for the delay :wink:

Bruce S.

_________________
Updated 2011/11/19: Athlon64 3700+ Asus A8N4-SLI Deluxe
1Gb PC 3200, 200Gb+250Gb+500Gb SATA HDD,
SATA DVD-RW Optiarc , Gigabyte GV-NX66128DP
Hauppauage Nova-T 500,+ 2x Nova HD S2 LinHes R6.02


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Exact same problem
PostPosted: Sun Aug 29, 2010 1:14 pm 
Offline
Joined: Sun Aug 29, 2010 1:06 pm
Posts: 1
Hi, I have the exact same problem. Same computer Compaq Deskpro EN. Was going to try and use this as it is in a nice small box. I have less memory and for now will be using the onboard graphics.

BUT I have no idea where to enter these instructions. I am trying to boot from the CD and no command prompt comes up. Early on in the boot process I get a graphics error, it says 312 was sent and is wrong, I can leave it to autoboot in 30 secs or I can view the list of available choices. I chose 60x80 I think and it progressed further, but then later I get the issue at the UDev bit.

I know this must be really basic question, but I don't know Linux. Hope someone can help.

Are these problems insurmountable - do you think I should give up on LINHes and go with Mythbuntu? Do you think that will work OK on such a low spec system?


Top
 Profile  
 

Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 


All times are UTC - 6 hours




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

Theme Created By ceyhansuyu