View unanswered posts    View active topics

All times are UTC - 6 hours





Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 34 posts ] 
Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next

Print view Previous topic   Next topic  
Author Message
Search for:
PostPosted: Wed Nov 04, 2009 10:40 pm 
Offline
Joined: Mon Jul 16, 2007 4:18 pm
Posts: 17
Hello,
I had a Knoppmyth 5.5 box running nicely for quite some time. I thought I'd upgrade to 6......oops
I have an old Pentium 3 box with a PVR-350 card (due to slow CPU, low RAM) and after I started the upgrade, found out that I probably shouldn't have tried an upgrade. I know....read the nice instructions before attempting an upgrade - but I didn't.

Is there any hope in getting my previously running box back as it was? Or am I screwed? The farthest I got in the upgrade is (I think) - it did get upgraded, but when it booted, would get stuck on something about /etc/fstab, or ??? not sure exactly. I know, that is probably important info. I did get a bright yellow screen and then later, a blue screen asking me to select a language (though the keyboard was unresponsive to do this and the drive activity light kept flashing in a steady manner)

Do you think there's any hope in restoring the box to is previous running state (or completing the upgrade and having it work OK) - and saving all of the 125+ movies I had on the drives?

I will attempt to supply any information needed, though I am not a Linux expert, but can follow directions.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Nov 04, 2009 11:11 pm 
Offline
Joined: Thu Apr 03, 2008 11:42 pm
Posts: 114
Location: Calgary, Canada
Not to worry, this shouldn't be too hard to fix. First hit Ctrl+Alt+F2 after booting and you should get a console session where you can login. (You may need to login as root with no password.)

Once there, look to see if a folder called /etc.old got created during the upgrade. If so, look for /etc.old/fstab and post the contents here along with the new /etc/fstab. If there's no backup then all is not lost but it'll be a bit trickier.

I'll probably defer to someone with more knowledge to get you going but this will at least help speed things along. Meanwhile I suggest you Google "/etc/fstab" just to learn more about what it does.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Nov 04, 2009 11:20 pm 
Offline
Joined: Mon Jul 16, 2007 4:18 pm
Posts: 17
will do...when I get home in the morning.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Nov 05, 2009 8:24 am 
Offline
Joined: Wed Feb 08, 2006 6:13 pm
Posts: 480
Location: IN
Be sure to read tjc's post in this thread:

http://knoppmyth.net/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=20302

I guessing you got burned by the switch to uuid's in R6.

Martian

_________________
ABIT NF-M2 nView | Athlon 64 X2 3800+ | 2GB DDR2 800 | HDHomerun | GeForce 6150 (onboard) | WD 640 GB SATA HD | DVD-RW (sata) | StreamZap IR receiver with Logitech Harmony remote

Vizio 37" LCD HDTV (1080p)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Nov 05, 2009 11:53 am 
Offline
Joined: Thu Apr 03, 2008 11:42 pm
Posts: 114
Location: Calgary, Canada
Martian wrote:
I guessing you got burned by the switch to uuid's in R6.


That may very well be true in this case, but as an aside I had the same problem upgrading even after converting fstab to use UUIDs. From what I recall of the terminal output during upgrade, the script found all of the partitions but couldn't detect/read the UUIDs (except on my root partition), so I guess that's why it didn't write them.

In hindsight I wish I'd investigated further, but unfortunately I'd had other much bigger problems with the upgrade that had my attention, and knew I could rebuild fstab without much difficulty. I'd open a ticket but I have a feeling the upgrade log and the original converted fstab are gone so I wouldn't be able to put much helpful info in it. (However I'll dig around tonight just in case.)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Nov 05, 2009 11:59 am 
Offline
Joined: Mon Jul 16, 2007 4:18 pm
Posts: 17
paulsid wrote:
Not to worry, this shouldn't be too hard to fix. First hit Ctrl+Alt+F2 after booting and you should get a console session where you can login. (You may need to login as root with no password.)

Once there, look to see if a folder called /etc.old got created during the upgrade. If so, look for /etc.old/fstab and post the contents here along with the new /etc/fstab. If there's no backup then all is not lost but it'll be a bit trickier.

I'll probably defer to someone with more knowledge to get you going but this will at least help speed things along. Meanwhile I suggest you Google "/etc/fstab" just to learn more about what it does.
I tried to SSH to the box, but both the root and myth passwords are not accepted as I set them up in the install/upgrade program. Neither is leaving them blank accepted. Can't access the terminal. Also, can't directly on the box since I get the GUI with the hard drives chugging away - can't figure how to break into the terminal. :(

Is it possible just to find a 5.5 version install CD just run it to up/downgrade back to previous working condition? Oh - I (hope) that the 125+ movies are still on the other drives.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Nov 05, 2009 12:34 pm 
Offline
Joined: Mon Jul 16, 2007 4:18 pm
Posts: 17
OK...rebooted it and now I can get into the terminal. - I was getting just a back and forth between the GUI and the splash screen before.

Here's the requested info:

Yes, there is an /etc.old folder.

/etc.old/fstab
Code:

# <file system>        <dir>         <type>    <options>          <dump> <pass>
none                   /dev/pts      devpts    defaults            0      0
none                   /dev/shm      tmpfs     defaults            0      0
/dev/sr0 /media/cdrom   auto    ro,user,noauto,unhide   0      0
UUID=4281ec49-6344-4617-9f80-efd0562750a6    /    auto    defaults,noatime    0    1
UUID=7bd29975-ae65-4659-934b-9a3cf7eacc7c    /myth    auto    defaults,noatime    0    1
UUID=d1820f40-a4b9-42b2-8dbf-d5667df7f835    swap    swap    defaults    0    0
#STARTSCRUB ----


And /etc/fstab
Code:
# <file system>        <dir>         <type>    <options>          <dump> <pass>
none                   /dev/pts      devpts    defaults            0      0
none                   /dev/shm      tmpfs     defaults            0      0
/dev/sr0 /media/cdrom   auto    ro,user,noauto,unhide   0      0
UUID=6025a4d3-7dd3-4cc4-9faf-cc84e7ffd22e    /    auto    defaults,noatime    0    1
UUID=7bd29975-ae65-4659-934b-9a3cf7eacc7c    /myth    auto    defaults,noatime    0    1
UUID=d1820f40-a4b9-42b2-8dbf-d5667df7f835    swap    swap    defaults    0    0
#STARTSCRUB --------------anything in this block will be scrubbed
#ENDSCRUB

When logged into the box via PuTTy, I can poke around, can do a mythfilldatabase, etc. There is no output to the TV - but is that due to the fact that the PVR-350 TV out is not supported? That's what I need to use because the PC is so old and slow, I need the processing power of the PVR-350 to handle the video.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Nov 09, 2009 10:12 pm 
Offline
Joined: Mon Jul 16, 2007 4:18 pm
Posts: 17
So, LinHES is running, no TV out from the PVR-350.
Any chance of getting the TV-out working?

Or, any way to revert back to the previous working version of Myth?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Nov 10, 2009 11:06 am 
Offline
Joined: Thu Mar 02, 2006 5:42 pm
Posts: 410
Location: middleton wi usa atsc
I'm no expert, but I think if you have not done a backup under R6 then your current backup is still from R5.5. Just boot the R5.5 cd and select upgrade. That should install 5.5 and restore your previous system from that backup.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Nov 10, 2009 1:14 pm 
Offline
Joined: Wed Feb 08, 2006 6:13 pm
Posts: 480
Location: IN
It looks like the UUID for the / partition is different in the R6 fstab than it was in the R5.5 fstab. Is there a good logical explanation for this? If not it might be worth exploring and understanding before you go too much further and before you reboot. You will likely be dusting off a boot CD if you can't mount your / partition on boot up. It's not too bad but not exactly "fun".

Martian

_________________
ABIT NF-M2 nView | Athlon 64 X2 3800+ | 2GB DDR2 800 | HDHomerun | GeForce 6150 (onboard) | WD 640 GB SATA HD | DVD-RW (sata) | StreamZap IR receiver with Logitech Harmony remote

Vizio 37" LCD HDTV (1080p)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Nov 10, 2009 2:41 pm 
Offline
Joined: Wed Dec 10, 2003 8:31 pm
Posts: 1995
Location: /dev/null
jzigmyth wrote:
I'm no expert, but I think if you have not done a backup under R6 then your current backup is still from R5.5. Just boot the R5.5 cd and select upgrade. That should install 5.5 and restore your previous system from that backup.


I believe this is true.... the install (both R5.5. and R6) will nuke /dev/sda1 not the /myth partition which is by default /dev/sda3.

Did you run mythbackup before you upgraded to R6? If you did, there should be two .gz files in your /myth/backup directory from that operation. I think all you need to do is run the R5.5 installer and MAKE SURE that you selected the upgrade option.

Before you do this, you might consider the purchase of a new video card - one that can use VDPAU which will remove the burden of decoding the video from your CPU and place it on the GPU. A $44 8400gs will fit the bill. The one I linked is PCI which should be fine in your board btw. You should stick with R6 if you can because R5.5 is not actively being developed, nor will it.

As to your /etc/fstab issue, you can simply (as root) modify it replacing the uuid's with the old /dev/sdax format.

Code:
# <file system>        <dir>         <type>    <options>          <dump> <pass>
none                   /dev/pts      devpts    defaults            0      0
none                   /dev/shm      tmpfs     defaults            0      0
/dev/sr0 /media/cdrom   auto    ro,user,noauto,unhide   0      0
UUID=6025a4d3-7dd3-4cc4-9faf-cc84e7ffd22e    /    auto    defaults,noatime    0    1
UUID=7bd29975-ae65-4659-934b-9a3cf7eacc7c    /myth    auto    defaults,noatime    0    1
UUID=d1820f40-a4b9-42b2-8dbf-d5667df7f835    swap    swap    defaults    0    0
#STARTSCRUB --------------anything in this block will be scrubbed
#ENDSCRUB


Would become:
Code:
# <file system>        <dir>         <type>    <options>          <dump> <pass>
none                   /dev/pts      devpts    defaults            0      0
none                   /dev/shm      tmpfs     defaults            0      0
/dev/sr0 /media/cdrom   auto    ro,user,noauto,unhide   0      0
/dev/sda1    /    auto    defaults,noatime    0    1
/dev/sda3    /myth    auto    defaults,noatime    0    1
/dev/sda2    swap    swap    defaults    0    0
#STARTSCRUB --------------anything in this block will be scrubbed
#ENDSCRUB


You did mention that you had some 'movies of your drives' implying that you had more than one HDD in this box? Please clarify. What is the output of:

Code:
# fdisk -l


Note that the number sign prompt means you run that as root.

_________________
Retired KM user (R4 - R6.04); friend to LH users.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Nov 10, 2009 6:54 pm 
Offline
Joined: Mon Jul 16, 2007 4:18 pm
Posts: 17
I think it's pretty hosed up now. I did an upgrade back to 5.5 and it won't start the xserver. I get the c7 respawning too fast error. Trying to figure that out.

Now, it also seems that my 2nd and 3rd drive (was using storage groups) are not seen...(see below)

I shoulda listened to my mother, don't mess with what works.



Here's the output of fdisk -l

Code:
root@mythtv:/myth/backup# fdisk -l

Disk /dev/hda: 300.0 GB, 300090728448 bytes
255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 36483 cylinders
Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes

   Device Boot      Start         End      Blocks   Id  System
/dev/hda1   *           1         609     4891761   83  Linux
/dev/hda2             610         657      385560   82  Linux swap / Solaris
/dev/hda3             658       36483   287772345   83  Linux

Disk /dev/hdb: 250.0 GB, 250059350016 bytes
255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 30401 cylinders
Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes

Disk /dev/hdb doesn't contain a valid partition table

Disk /dev/hdc: 160.0 GB, 160041885696 bytes
255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 19457 cylinders
Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes

Disk /dev/hdc doesn't contain a valid partition table
root@mythtv:/myth/backup#

This machine is a Pentium 2 450MHz with 512 MB RAM. 3 drives using storage groups.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Nov 10, 2009 7:44 pm 
Offline
Joined: Wed Dec 10, 2003 8:31 pm
Posts: 1995
Location: /dev/null
rogerhan wrote:
I think it's pretty hosed up now. I did an upgrade back to 5.5 and it won't start the xserver. I get the c7 respawning too fast error. Trying to figure that out.


You gotta install the nvidia driver to fix that. See tjc's hints and tips thread.

_________________
Retired KM user (R4 - R6.04); friend to LH users.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Nov 10, 2009 9:58 pm 
Offline
Joined: Mon Jul 16, 2007 4:18 pm
Posts: 17
root@mythtv:/home/roger# dmesg | grep "tuner model is"
Code:
tveeprom 1-0050: tuner model is LG TAPE H001F MK3 (idx 68, type 47)



dmesg | egrep 'tv|i2c|tuner|msp|saa|cx25|cx88|lirc'
Code:
Linux version 2.6.23-chw-4 (root@mbe.mysettopbox.tv) (gcc version 4.2.3 20071123 (prerelease) (Debian 4.2.2-4)) #1 SMP PREEMPT Mon May 26 14:44:56 PDT 2008
ivtv:  Start initialization, version 1.2.0
ivtv0: Initializing card #0
ivtv0: Autodetected Hauppauge card (cx23415 based)
tveeprom 1-0050: Hauppauge model 48132, rev K268, serial# 7875278
tveeprom 1-0050: tuner model is LG TAPE H001F MK3 (idx 68, type 47)
tveeprom 1-0050: TV standards NTSC(M) (eeprom 0x08)
tveeprom 1-0050: audio processor is MSP4448 (idx 27)
tveeprom 1-0050: decoder processor is SAA7115 (idx 19)
tveeprom 1-0050: has radio, has IR receiver, has no IR transmitter
ivtv0: Autodetected Hauppauge WinTV PVR-350
saa7115 1-0021: saa7115 found (1f7115d0e100000) @ 0x42 (ivtv i2c driver #0)
saa7127 1-0044: saa7129 found @ 0x88 (ivtv i2c driver #0)
msp3400 1-0040: MSP4448G-A2 found @ 0x80 (ivtv i2c driver #0)
msp3400 1-0040: MSP4448G-A2 supports radio, mode is autodetect and autoselect
tuner 1-0043: chip found @ 0x86 (ivtv i2c driver #0)
tda9887 1-0043: tda988[5/6/7] found @ 0x43 (tuner)
tuner 1-0061: chip found @ 0xc2 (ivtv i2c driver #0)
tuner-simple 1-0061: type set to 47 (LG NTSC (TAPE series))
ivtv0: Registered device video0 for encoder MPG (4096 kB)
ivtv0: Registered device video32 for encoder YUV (2048 kB)
ivtv0: Registered device vbi0 for encoder VBI (1024 kB)
ivtv0: Registered device video24 for encoder PCM (320 kB)
ivtv0: Registered device radio0 for encoder radio
ivtv0: Registered device video16 for decoder MPG (1024 kB)
ivtv0: Registered device vbi8 for decoder VBI (64 kB)
ivtv0: Registered device vbi16 for decoder VOUT
ivtv0: Registered device video48 for decoder YUV (1024 kB)
ivtv0: Initialized card #0: Hauppauge WinTV PVR-350
ivtv:  End initialization
ivtv0: Loaded v4l-cx2341x-enc.fw firmware (376836 bytes)
ivtv0: Loaded v4l-cx2341x-dec.fw firmware (262144 bytes)
ivtv0: Encoder revision: 0x02060039
ivtv0: Decoder revision: 0x02020023
ivtv0: Loaded v4l-cx2341x-init.mpg firmware (155648 bytes)
ivtvfb0: Framebuffer at 0x49510000, mapped to 0xd1d90000, size 1665k
ivtvfb0: Framebuffer registered on ivtv card id 0
lirc_dev: IR Remote Control driver registered, major 61
bttv: driver version 0.9.17 loaded
bttv: using 8 buffers with 2080k (520 pages) each for capture
bttv: Host bridge needs ETBF enabled.
cx88/0: cx2388x v4l2 driver version 0.0.6 loaded
lirc_i2c: chip 0x10020 found @ 0x18 (Hauppauge IR)
lirc_dev: lirc_register_plugin: sample_rate: 10



root@mythtv:/home/roger# cat /proc/fb
Code:
0 VESA VGA
1 cx23415 TV out


root@mythtv:/home/roger# cat /etc/X11/xorg.conf
Code:
# /etc/X11/xorg.conf (xorg X Window System server configuration file)
#
# This file was generated by dexconf, the Debian X Configuration tool, using
# values from the debconf database.
#
# Edit this file with caution, and see the /etc/X11/xorg.conf manual page.
# (Type "man /etc/X11/xorg.conf" at the shell prompt.)
#
# This file is automatically updated on xserver-xorg package upgrades *only*
# if it has not been modified since the last upgrade of the xserver-xorg
# package.
#
# If you have edited this file but would like it to be automatically updated
# again, run the following command:
#   sudo dpkg-reconfigure -phigh xserver-xorg

Section "Files"
        FontPath        "/usr/share/fonts/X11/misc"
        FontPath        "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/misc"
        FontPath        "/usr/share/fonts/X11/cyrillic"
        FontPath        "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/cyrillic"
        FontPath        "/usr/share/fonts/X11/100dpi/:unscaled"
        FontPath        "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/100dpi/:unscaled"
        FontPath        "/usr/share/fonts/X11/75dpi/:unscaled"
        FontPath        "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/75dpi/:unscaled"
        FontPath        "/usr/share/fonts/X11/Type1"
        FontPath        "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/Type1"
        FontPath        "/usr/share/fonts/X11/100dpi"
        FontPath        "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/100dpi"
        FontPath        "/usr/share/fonts/X11/75dpi"
        FontPath        "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/75dpi"
        # path to defoma fonts
        FontPath        "/var/lib/defoma/x-ttcidfont-conf.d/dirs/TrueType"
EndSection

Section "Module"
        Load    "bitmap"
        Load    "dbe"
        Load    "ddc"
        Load    "dri"
        Load    "extmod"
        Load    "freetype"
        Load    "glx"
        Load    "int10"
        Load    "record"
        Load    "type1"
        Load    "v4l"
        Load    "vbe"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
        Identifier      "Generic Keyboard"
        Driver          "kbd"
        Option          "CoreKeyboard"
        Option          "XkbRules"      "xorg"
        Option          "XkbModel"      "pc104"
        Option          "XkbLayout"     "us"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
        Identifier      "Configured Mouse"
        Driver          "mouse"
        Option          "CorePointer"
        Option          "Device"                "/dev/input/mice"
        Option          "Protocol"              "ImPS/2"
        Option          "Emulate3Buttons"       "true"
EndSection

Section "Device"
        Identifier      "Generic Video Card"
        Driver          "vesa"
        BusID           "PCI:1:0:0"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
        Identifier      "Generic Monitor"
        Option          "DPMS"
        HorizSync       30-100
        VertRefresh     50-160
EndSection

Section "Screen"
        Identifier      "Default Screen"
        Device          "Generic Video Card"
        Monitor         "Generic Monitor"
        DefaultDepth    24
        SubSection "Display"
                Depth           1
                Modes           "1920x1440" "1920x1200" "1856x1392" "1792x1344" "1680x1050" "1600x1200" "1440x900" "1400x1050" "1280x1024" "1280x960" "1280x854" "1280x800" "1280x768" "1200x800" "1152x864" "1152x768" "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
        EndSubSection
        SubSection "Display"
                Depth           4
                Modes           "1920x1440" "1920x1200" "1856x1392" "1792x1344" "1680x1050" "1600x1200" "1440x900" "1400x1050" "1280x1024" "1280x960" "1280x854" "1280x800" "1280x768" "1200x800" "1152x864" "1152x768" "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
        EndSubSection
        SubSection "Display"
                Depth           8
                Modes           "1920x1440" "1920x1200" "1856x1392" "1792x1344" "1680x1050" "1600x1200" "1440x900" "1400x1050" "1280x1024" "1280x960" "1280x854" "1280x800" "1280x768" "1200x800" "1152x864" "1152x768" "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
        EndSubSection
        SubSection "Display"
                Depth           15
                Modes           "1920x1440" "1920x1200" "1856x1392" "1792x1344" "1680x1050" "1600x1200" "1440x900" "1400x1050" "1280x1024" "1280x960" "1280x854" "1280x800" "1280x768" "1200x800" "1152x864" "1152x768" "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
        EndSubSection
        SubSection "Display"
                Depth           16
                Modes           "1920x1440" "1920x1200" "1856x1392" "1792x1344" "1680x1050" "1600x1200" "1440x900" "1400x1050" "1280x1024" "1280x960" "1280x854" "1280x800" "1280x768" "1200x800" "1152x864" "1152x768" "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
        EndSubSection
        SubSection "Display"
                Depth           24
                Modes           "1920x1440" "1920x1200" "1856x1392" "1792x1344" "1680x1050" "1600x1200" "1440x900" "1400x1050" "1280x1024" "1280x960" "1280x854" "1280x800" "1280x768" "1200x800" "1152x864" "1152x768" "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
        EndSubSection
EndSection

Section "ServerLayout"
        Identifier      "Default Layout"
        Screen          "Default Screen"
        InputDevice     "Generic Keyboard"
        InputDevice     "Configured Mouse"
EndSection

Section "DRI"
        Mode    0666
EndSection


I thought I was using an ATI video card for the monitor (but never used it under normal operation -just the TV and the PVR-350's output) - not sure why an NVIDIA driver would be an issue.

Is there a way to confirm the model video card with a command?

_________________
Pentium 2, 450MHz
512 MB RAM
PVR-350
3-drives, using storage groups.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Nov 11, 2009 7:05 am 
Offline
Joined: Mon Jul 16, 2007 4:18 pm
Posts: 17
When I try to install an Nvidia driver, I get this:
Code:
root@mythtv:/home/roger# install-nvidia-debian.sh 173.14.09 -force
/usr/local/bin/install-nvidia-debian.sh: BEGIN
Error: No nVidia VGA adapter found.
/usr/local/bin/install-nvidia-debian.sh: END

_________________
Pentium 2, 450MHz
512 MB RAM
PVR-350
3-drives, using storage groups.


Top
 Profile  
 

Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 34 posts ] 
Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next



All times are UTC - 6 hours




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

Theme Created By ceyhansuyu