View unanswered posts    View active topics

All times are UTC - 6 hours





Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 
Print view Previous topic   Next topic  
Author Message
Search for:
PostPosted: Sun Dec 13, 2009 12:43 pm 
Offline
Joined: Sun Jul 18, 2004 6:24 pm
Posts: 84
Location: Medford, Massachusetts
I had a failing IDE 500GB drive that I used dd_rescue to copy to a new SATA 1TB drive. The copy worked fine with 488GB copied over with about 170KB not transferred because of errors. I have not expanded the partition size yet.

When I boot from the SATA drive, I get the loading linux.....
(the left side is off screen so cut off represented by [])

I see the following:
[]xrc: Out of file descriptors
[]init: Out of file descriptors
[]l panic - not syncing: Attempted to kill init!

I'm running R5.5. This is a combined frontend/backend.

What do I need to do to fix it so I can use the new drive?

Thanks!

_________________
AMD Athlon 64 3000+ on MSI K8T Neo
FX5200
pcHD3000
Firewire to Comcast cable box
PVR-250
R6


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Dec 13, 2009 1:22 pm 
Offline
Joined: Wed Dec 10, 2003 8:31 pm
Posts: 1995
Location: /dev/null
Did you use the search function before posting? You would have found my howto on just this topic: http://knoppmyth.net/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=20621

_________________
Retired KM user (R4 - R6.04); friend to LH users.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: no mkinitcpio
PostPosted: Sun Dec 13, 2009 9:48 pm 
Offline
Joined: Sun Jul 18, 2004 6:24 pm
Posts: 84
Location: Medford, Massachusetts
I had not found that article...that is close to what I am trying to do. For now, I am just trying to get to R5.5 working on the new drive...then I can worry about upgrading another time to 6.

I'm booted using Knoppix 6.2 and do not have the
Code:
mkinitcpio
command.

I've made the changes to /etc/fstab but am leary to start down the path that ends up needing to run a command not on the Knoppix CD.

What would be the equivalent steps for Knoppix?

_________________
AMD Athlon 64 3000+ on MSI K8T Neo
FX5200
pcHD3000
Firewire to Comcast cable box
PVR-250
R6


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Dec 13, 2009 10:35 pm 
Offline
Joined: Sun Jul 18, 2004 6:24 pm
Posts: 84
Location: Medford, Massachusetts
Booting with Knoppix 6.2 CD

grub> root (hd0,0)
Filesystem type is ext2fs, partition type 0x83

grub> setup (hd0)

Checking if "/boot/grub/stage1" exists... no
Checking if "/grub/stage1" exists... no

Error 15: File not found


Anyone do this with Knoppix?

_________________
AMD Athlon 64 3000+ on MSI K8T Neo
FX5200
pcHD3000
Firewire to Comcast cable box
PVR-250
R6


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Dec 14, 2009 10:12 am 
Offline
Joined: Wed Dec 10, 2003 8:31 pm
Posts: 1995
Location: /dev/null
Ah... R5.5 uses lilo not grub so it won't work. The rest of the howto rebuilds the kernel images and that'll only work for R6 since it's Arch based. I dunno how to do the equiv. thing w/ KP at all, sorry. You might wanna google how to reinstall lilo.

_________________
Retired KM user (R4 - R6.04); friend to LH users.


Top
 Profile  
 

Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 


All times are UTC - 6 hours




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

Theme Created By ceyhansuyu