View unanswered posts    View active topics

All times are UTC - 6 hours





Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 75 posts ] 
Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next

Print view Previous topic   Next topic  
Author Message
Search for:
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue May 03, 2005 5:28 pm 
Offline
Joined: Tue Mar 22, 2005 9:18 pm
Posts: 1422
Location: Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
That would be great jbman. Once I get the info and confirm your details I will create a page on the wiki, unless you would like to do this yourself.

It would be good if I could get the details today as I am at home with my sick daughter and have a little time today.

Waiting with baited breathe :mrgreen:


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue May 03, 2005 6:46 pm 
ok here goes. remeber this was for version r5a15.1. all this needs to be done before you have the twinhan cards fitted.

1. su
2. cd /usr/src
3. apt-get update
4. apt-get install kernel-package libncurses5-dev (needed for kernel compile)
5. wget http://www.kernel.org/pub/linux/kernel/ ... .8.tar.bz2
6. tar xjvf linux-2.6.11.8.tar.bz2
7. cd linux-2.6.11.8
8. cp /boot/config-2.6.11.7-chw-4 .config (copies old config from previous kernel over)
9. make oldconfig
10. make-kpkg kernel-image
11.cd..
12.now you will find your new deb that you created in step 10.
kernel-image-2.6.11.8_10.00.Custom_i386.deb
now type: dpkg -i kernel-image-2.4.20-mh9_10.00.Custom_i386.deb
it will install and as the following options:
Would you like to create a boot floppy now? [No] No
You already have a LILO configuration in /etc/lilo.conf
Install a boot block using the existing /etc/lilo.conf? [Yes] Yes
13.cd /etc
14.vi lilo.conf and change the line to say
image=/boot/vmlinux-2.6.11.8
15.reboot (system to see it loads ok)
16.shutdown and install twinhan cards
17.start machine up again
18.cd /etc
19.vi modules
20. add dvb-bt8xx and dst to the list
21. reboot
22. now your cards should be working
23. recompiling mythtv
killall mythbackend
cd /usr/src/mythtv/source
tar xjvf mythtv-0.18.tar.bz2
cd mythtv-0.18
./configure --prefix=/usr --enable-dvb --dvb-path=/usr/include
export QTDIR=/usr/share/qt3
qmake mythtv.pro
make
make install

24. now if you have installed your nvidia drivers you need to install them again and edit them to point to your new kernel
cd /usr/local/bin
vi install-nvidia-7174-debian.sh
edit the lines so it points to your new kernel (/usr/src/linux-2.6.11.8)
now run install-nvidia-7174-debian.sh
25. reboot and all should be working fine.

i am pretty sure I didn't leave any stages out.
any questions feel free


Top
  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue May 03, 2005 11:15 pm 
Offline
Joined: Mon May 10, 2004 8:08 pm
Posts: 1891
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Im not sure why you needed to re-compile mythtv. Sounds a little strange to me that it would be required given the nature of the problem you are fixing. Care to elaborate?
(nice step by step instructions though)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed May 04, 2005 12:37 am 
Offline
Joined: Tue Mar 22, 2005 9:18 pm
Posts: 1422
Location: Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
I found that it worked quite well, but as Greg said I don't think you need to recompile MythTV as I didn't and it is working fine.

I have also created a script to do the first part of the update process.

Code:
#! /bin/sh

# Set variables
site=http://www.kernel.org/pub/linux/kernel/
kver=v2.6/
tarball=linux-2.6.11.8.tar.bz2
extract=linux-2.6.11.8
current=config-2.6.11.7-chw-4

# check to see that wget is installed so we can download the source
if ! type wget > /dev/null ; then
    echo "Install wget and run this script again"
    exit 1
fi

# Now to do the work
cd /usr/src

# to ensure all the packages in the source tree are up to date
apt-get update

# Needed for compiling the kernel
apt-get install kernel-package libncurses5-dev

# Download the kernel as specified above
wget ${site}${kver}${tarball}

# Expand the kernel source
tar xjvf ${tarball}

# Copy the current KnoppMyth kernel configuration
cd ${extract}
cp /boot/${current} .config

# Do the magical making stuff
make oldconfig
make-kpkg kernel-image

# Install the package
cd ..
dkpkg -i kernel-image-2.6.11.8_10.00.Custom_i386.deb

# add drivers into the modules
echo dvb-bt8xx >> /etc/modules
echo dst >> /etc/modules
update-modules

echo "Now you have to edit /etc/lilo.conf to change the image the boot uses"
echo "Change the line to 'image=/boot/vmlinuz=2.6.11.8'"
echo "Then do lilo -v and reboot your computer"
echo "After rebooting don't forget to reinstall the nVidia driver if applicable"


I have tested it except for the last bit with the echos.

BIG WARNING I have never, ever, ever written a script before so this is my very first attempt. Whilst I did test the main part of the script I can not account for all eventuallities, so PLEASE BE CAREFUL.

If there is a way to enhance this script to do more of the stuff required, please elaborate, by all means.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed May 04, 2005 2:20 am 
for me mythtv wouldn't lock onto a channel as it. so i recompiled and it worked a treat.

one thing to note is that it seems the original kernel for knoppmyth is compiled for i386 so next time i might change it to compile for my athalon.

either way i hope it works out for you guys like it did for me


Top
  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed May 04, 2005 2:21 am 
also it seems for me anyway the signal levels are broken. i always get 0 for them with this kernel. I have read of others having the same problem with this version.


Top
  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed May 04, 2005 2:56 am 
Offline
Joined: Tue Mar 22, 2005 9:18 pm
Posts: 1422
Location: Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
I didn't rebuild MythTV and I can scan and lock onto channels fine. I have a
Visionplus TER DVB-T card utilising the Connextant Fusion 878A chip.

You may still have another issue somewhere else, have you checked your DMESG?

As to changing from i383 to i686 I am in full agreeance on this point, but will you actually get any benefit?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed May 04, 2005 4:24 am 
Offline
Joined: Mon May 10, 2004 8:08 pm
Posts: 1891
Location: Adelaide, Australia
If you have to re-compile the kernel anyway, you might as well compile it for your architecture. cesman compiles the kernel for i386 so that it will work for a whole range of hardware. Not a problem if you are building a kernel exclusively for your box.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed May 04, 2005 8:42 am 
might have been something else. either way i did the recompile of mythtv and it works great now.

i think possibly for HDTV the i686 compile may make a difference. but i can't be sure.


Top
  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed May 04, 2005 9:21 am 
Offline
Joined: Fri Sep 19, 2003 7:05 pm
Posts: 5088
Location: Fontana, Ca
Actually, I compile for i586.

_________________
cesman

When the source is open, the possibilities are endless!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed May 04, 2005 7:20 pm 
Offline
Joined: Sat Mar 26, 2005 3:18 pm
Posts: 7
not to put a spanner in the works
but I have a pair twinhan dvb-t pci cards that installed straight from the box (i.e no hanging during boot-up) on R5r15.0 + R5r15.1
the only thing I had to do was play the swap-the-slot game with the 2 cards until I got a working config (1 would work then other until they both worked).
After installation add

dvb-bt8xx

to /etc/modules

for the cards to be seen

So maybe not all Twinhans are created equal!!

Or the hanging might be due to PCI IRQ conflicts in the bios mine are always set to auto but I always have swap cards around when using identical ones to get them both to be seen (i.e network,raid,tv,etc)-Obviously this doesn't apply if had a working setup

I know this info doesn't really help, however those with Twinhans don't neccessarily have to go thru the above update only those that are having installation issues.

Cheers


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu May 05, 2005 3:41 am 
Offline
Joined: Tue Mar 22, 2005 9:18 pm
Posts: 1422
Location: Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Hey tiny you might be right there about the IRQs it would make sense where the boot was freezing.

Could you provide some more details on hardware, in particular, MB, DVB Chipset, slots used just really interested.

Thanks

_________________
Girkers


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun May 08, 2005 6:17 am 
Offline
Joined: Tue Oct 21, 2003 11:30 am
Posts: 188
Location: UK
I've followed the instructions given in the post and it fixed my issues with a twinhan card hanging on boot up.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun May 08, 2005 1:37 pm 
Offline
Joined: Sat Mar 26, 2005 3:18 pm
Posts: 7
sorry Girkers for a slow reply - RealWorld issues..

Athlon 2.4g
El cheapo £37 Gigabyte Ga-7VM400AM (F) motherboard (all-in-one board - lan, audio, 3*firewire, 8*usb, midi, game (also on the board but disabled - vga, sata, raid,2*serial ports,parrallel port,floppy)
mobo chipset - Northbridge VIA KM400A - Southbridge VT8237
1gig ddr 333 memory
2*250 gig maxtor hd's
agp Nvidia mx 440 128m tv-out
2 *VisionPlus DVB-T Pci Cards (also written on the box as VisionDTV Mini Ter) these were bought in the UK.I don't know the chipset and the mythbox is sitting in the living room doing its stuff neatly tucked away...
Is there a log I can pull these details from?
Keyboard + mouse USB logitech office wireless
Sony Dvd-Rewritable dwd22ab 16speed

Only the Twinhans were bought with mythtv in mind the rest of the pc
was bought with economy in mind,cheapest mobo,memory,ramdvdr,etc-so nothing too fancy.

The cards are in slots 2 + 3 on the motherboard as written on motherboard
The Bios was set to optimized (not fail-safe).- however i would set yours to fail-safe.
The machine Booted(posted) fine auto allocating irqs
Initially I had the cards in slots 1 + 2 (slot 1 being next to the agp card).I loaded knoppymyth adjusted /etc/modules to boot the cards. Rebooted and tried to add the cards to setup only be told that the cards were in use (despite that the fact mythbackend had not even been setup) so this was a sign of conflict, even though machine had booted fine.So i powered down and swapped the cards around untill i got a working setup - there are only 3 pci slots on the board so it was'nt too many reboots. :lol:

had to do the usual tweaking but everything pretty much works except lirc + the twinhan remotes(don't understand it yet - probably gonna use my favorite learning remote and old ir keyboard reciever inserted into the case) it plays,rips,records,etc and hasn't crashed once (only when i was mucking around learning to install the thing)

Runs a bit hot 55c - 60c partly due to the fact its an athlon and where it is located (hifi,tv,etc) + it only has 2 fans - PSU + processsor. but at least its fairly quiet.

Anyway hope this helps and good luck
anymore Q's just ask :)

Tiny


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun May 08, 2005 6:26 pm 
Offline
Joined: Tue Mar 22, 2005 9:18 pm
Posts: 1422
Location: Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Thanks Tiny, a bit more detail than I expected, but thanks all the same.

I will have to reinstall my system anyway as my HDD is running out of space, but that is another issue. What I can see is that my VisionPlus card is sharing an IRQ with something else in the system.

Before I reboot, I will try and set the IRQ manually and see if it boots.

Thanks again.

_________________
Girkers


Top
 Profile  
 

Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 75 posts ] 
Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next



All times are UTC - 6 hours




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 57 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

Theme Created By ceyhansuyu