View unanswered posts    View active topics

All times are UTC - 6 hours





Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
Print view Previous topic   Next topic  
Author Message
Search for:
PostPosted: Sun Jun 12, 2005 3:06 am 
Offline
Joined: Thu Jun 09, 2005 11:51 am
Posts: 11
Hi,

i installed R5A16 on a new drive, no problems so far.

But no browser installed, i want to install via "apt-get install xxx"

but no connection possible.
i have a lan behind a router. with Knoppix 3.9 evrything is fine. what to check?

ping 127.0.0.1 works, but no other!

thx for help.

Schlaubi


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jun 12, 2005 6:49 am 
Offline
Joined: Fri Mar 26, 2004 9:00 am
Posts: 239
Hi There,

127.0.0.1 is what is known as the loopback interface. It is the local ip address of your ethernet card, so you're not pinging outside the box, you're just looping back. Thus it (should) always work.

the command using the command `
Code:
ifconfig
` at the prompt to show the configuration of your current interface. If you have a single ethernet interface it should display as "eth0" which is the first ethernet (interfaces in linux number from 0 up).

The command `
Code:
netcardconfig
` can be used to specify your IP address configuration. It is menu driven and can be run from a command prompt. If you are behind a router that uses DHCP, then you should select DHCP instead of a static address.

During the installation it should have asked you if you wanted to Broadcast for an IP or something to that effect. The normal answer, behind a home router, is Yes. THis will enabled DHCP, however you can also enable it from the netcardconfig program.

To check connectivity to the rest of the world, look at the output of ifconfig once you complete your netcardconfig and if you have a valid IP address try to ping a host in the outside world, for example "
Code:
ping www.news.com
"

Also try tracing the path to it to see where your packets go:

Code:
traceroute www.news.com 

(or better yet, us an IP in case your DNS isn't working)

Code:
traceroute 24.222.0.5


(CTRL-C will break you out of it)

Should show something like this (your path will be totally different but the point is that you see the routers from your house to their server):

Code:
[root@blackops ~]# traceroute 24.222.0.5
traceroute to 24.222.0.5 (24.222.0.5), 30 hops max, 38 byte packets
 1  10.200.0.1 (10.200.0.1)  59.590 ms  58.390 ms  64.249 ms
 2  fa1-0.aggr3.bwi1.network.coloco.com (144.202.255.13)  57.646 ms  54.036 ms  61.796 ms
 3  fa5-0.core2.bwi1.network.coloco.com (144.202.255.6)  61.764 ms  66.261 ms  63.896 ms
 4  fa5-0.core1.bwi1.network.coloco.com (144.202.255.5)  66.146 ms  55.519 ms  58.966 ms
 5  157.130.48.161 (157.130.48.161)  61.225 ms  52.960 ms  61.832 ms
 6  0.so-2-1-0.XL2.DCA5.ALTER.NET (152.63.39.74)  60.421 ms  54.655 ms  59.913 ms
 7  0.so-7-0-0.XL2.MTL1.ALTER.NET (152.63.133.57)  71.266 ms  69.521 ms  79.355 ms
 8  0.so-3-0-0.XR2.MTL1.ALTER.NET (152.63.133.42)  69.301 ms  68.837 ms  70.127 ms
 9  192.ATM6-0.GW2.HFX1.ALTER.NET (152.63.132.157)  85.129 ms  102.367 ms  84.652 ms
10  205.150.223.94 (205.150.223.94)  94.129 ms  93.408 ms  98.791 ms
11  hlfx-asr1.eastlink.ca (24.222.79.206)  98.086 ms  102.298 ms  97.416 ms
12  m5.eastlink.ca (24.222.0.5)  99.488 ms  94.786 ms  92.364 ms


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Jun 12, 2005 2:51 pm 
Offline
Joined: Tue May 17, 2005 3:34 pm
Posts: 43
Location: Switzerland
Schaubi666 wrote:
i have a lan behind a router.


Try this.

edit your /etc/network/interfaces like
Code:
auto lo eth0
iface lo inet loopback
iface eth0 inet dhcp

_________________
R5A26 / ASUS Pundit AB-P 2600 / Celeron 2.66 GHz / DVD-Rom Asus E616 / Hauppauge PVR350 / 512 MB, PC-2700 / HDD Samsung SpinPoint P120, 200GB, 7200RPM / WL-138G WLAN PCI-Card


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jun 14, 2005 2:18 pm 
Offline
Joined: Thu Jun 09, 2005 11:51 am
Posts: 11
Thx jac1d + kwyjibo,

i did netcardconfig and afterwards the eth0 was working.

My next step is to fix my sound problem!!!!

you may help ????

ALSA /usr/src/alsa/alsa-kernel/pci/cs46xx/cs46xx_lib.c:3138: ERROR:snd-cs46xx: never read ISV3 & ISV4 from AC'97
ALSA /usr/src/alsa/alsa-kernel/pci/cs46xx/cs46xx_lib.c:3139: Tryreloading the ALSA driver, if you find something
ALSA /usr/src/alsa/alsa-kernel/pci/cs46xx/cs46xx_lib.c:3140: brokenor not working on your soundcard upon
ALSA /usr/src/alsa/alsa-kernel/pci/cs46xx/cs46xx_lib.c:3141: thismessage please report to alsa-devel@lists.sourceforge.net
Sound Fusion CS46xx: probe of 0000:00:0d.0 failed with error -5


Schlaubi

P.S. i installed alsa

also the modprob snd-cs46xx, was fine( no Output)
but after reboot the errormessage appeared.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jun 14, 2005 4:17 pm 
Offline
Joined: Mon Oct 06, 2003 10:38 am
Posts: 4978
Location: Nashville, TN
you really should open another thread for the sound issue, but any reason why you installed alsa instead of using the one that is already installed?

_________________
Have a question search the forum and have a look at the KnoppMythWiki.

Xsecrets


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jun 15, 2005 1:23 am 
Offline
Joined: Thu Jun 09, 2005 11:51 am
Posts: 11
not realy, i visited the www.asla-procect.org site, and followed the instructions vor my cs46xx card.


Schlaubi


Top
 Profile  
 

Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 


All times are UTC - 6 hours




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 77 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

Theme Created By ceyhansuyu