View unanswered posts    View active topics

All times are UTC - 6 hours

Print view Previous topic   Next topic  
Search for:
 Post subject: authentication failure
PostPosted: Mon Jun 27, 2005 6:27 am 
ok, first of all im new to knoppmyth. i read about mythTV in a computer mag where i live (australia) and was very impressed. but i always have issues with debian never doing what i tell it to...but luckily i found knoppmyth :) it install easily enough, did a manual install cause of disk space. but when it reboots to post-install it asks for the root password...i enter the password (its password cause its a test system) and it gives me authentication error, and exits Xterm. ok....and the user/pass i created during the install also doesnt exist/work. so yeah, im confused.

i downloaded the latest iso from one of the mirros, followed the manual instructions in the documentation section, as i said its a test system while i save some money up for a tv tuner card and a gfx card that has vid-out. currently the system is:

P3-1ghz
256mb RAM
on-board vid/sound

so yeah. any help would be greaty appreciated. also, im no pro at linux on a whole. i use common sense and read through guides and whatnot so dont be to harsh :P thanks

Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jun 27, 2005 2:13 pm 
only thing I can think of is maybe you had your caps lock on one time and not the other. the password is case sensitive.

Xsecrets

Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jun 27, 2005 7:27 pm 
i was hoping that was the reason, but it wasn't...so yeah im stumped :/

Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jun 27, 2005 9:53 pm 
You may be able to boot from the CD in rescue mode, get a console, chroot to the directory where the HD is mounted, and run passwd as root to fix it... I'm a bit too tired to attempt detailed instructions tonight...

Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jun 27, 2005 11:23 pm 
I'm sure if he does a search for chroot mount lilo, that will get him 98% there...