WinTV401 dbx
Soundblaster Live

The problem:
I boot from the CD.
Choose Auto Install
Enter Name, User name, password, root password, etc...hit OK

Get the following
modprobe: modprobe: Can't locate module block-major-3
/usr/local/bin/KnoppMyth-auto: line 608: / 1000000: syntax error: operand expected (error token is "/ 1000000")
root@tty1[/]#

Now what? I typed mythtv-setup after the # and got "cannot connect to X server"

I'm a complete Linux newbie, if you haven't already guessed that.

Post subject: Similiar problem..
PostPosted: Wed Nov 05, 2003 6:51 pm 
Except I have a DELL P3-500
RIVA TNT 2 [NV04]

I pop in the cd.. hit enter.

Get the cute little penguin.. some colored text..

then it appears to try to start X.. tries XFree86(vesa) then XFree86(fbdev) then stops.. and gives me a root prompt because "No suitable X-server found for your card." - What can I do?

Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Nov 05, 2003 7:31 pm 
Nice thread highjack... :)

PostPosted: Wed Nov 05, 2003 8:44 pm 
ArtVandelay wrote:
The machine:
Gateway6400 dual 933MHz P3
9GB SCSI hard drive
WinTV401 dbx
Soundblaster Live

The problem:
I boot from the CD.
Choose Auto Install

Get the following
/usr/local/bin/KnoppMyth-auto: line 608: / 1000000: syntax error: operand expected (error token is "/ 1000000")
root@tty1[/]#

I have the same exact problem here is my specs:
dual xeon 400
512 ram
hauppauge pvr-250
nvidia w/tv out
20 gb ide
soundblaster live!

i wonder if r4 works on dual cpu's?

PostPosted: Wed Nov 05, 2003 9:03 pm 
ArtVandelay wrote:
The machine: 9GB SCSI hard drive
Get the following

That was easy to spot. The script (/usr/local/bin/KnoppMyth-auto) is assuming /dev/hda1 as root (IDE) and you are using SCSI.
Fix: edit the Configuration file by hand and change /dev/hda1 to /dev/sda1 or your SCSI equivelent. The configuration file is ~/.knofig while booting from the CD.

Post subject: Re: Similiar problem..
PostPosted: Wed Nov 05, 2003 9:50 pm 
shelter108 wrote:
Except I have a DELL P3-500