View unanswered posts    View active topics

All times are UTC - 6 hours





Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 
Print view Previous topic   Next topic  
Author Message
Search for:
PostPosted: Sun Apr 09, 2006 5:37 pm 
Offline
Joined: Sun Apr 09, 2006 5:31 pm
Posts: 3
First hard disk is a very fast WD Raptor (74.6G). The second one is PATA and much bigger (320GB). I would obviously like to put everything that's static (knoppmyth stuff) on the first one, and my recordings on the second. So, /cache/cache goes on the first, /myth goes entirely on the second.

I understand that I have to do a manual install for this, but will Knoppmyth work with this 2 HD setup? Of course, I could always fix this by booting a normal knoppix, mounting, and editing fstab... Or perhaps this is even possible at installation (since knoppmyth still retains some of the basic knoppix functionality).

TIA


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Apr 09, 2006 5:54 pm 
Offline
Joined: Fri Sep 19, 2003 7:05 pm
Posts: 5088
Location: Fontana, Ca
Yes, it would work. As of MythTV 0.19, there is no longer a need for the live ringbuffer. If you are using a release w/ 0.19, there is no /cache.

_________________
cesman

When the source is open, the possibilities are endless!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Apr 09, 2006 6:04 pm 
Offline
Joined: Thu Mar 25, 2004 11:00 am
Posts: 9551
Location: Arlington, MA
Sure KnoppMyth works fine with multiple disks. Since the basic install only takes about 5Gb plus ~1.5 x RAM for swap, you're going to have a bunch of otherwised unused space on that first drive you can put recordings on. I would highly recommend using the latest public release (R5B7) and setting up LVM.

The easiest thing to do is an automatic install to /dev/hda, then after the reboot and before entering the pasword for the second phase setup, switch to an alternate console and run (assuming you're using R5B7 and that /dev/hdb is a single big partition):
Code:
create_lvm.sh /dev/hda3 /dev/hdb1


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Apr 10, 2006 2:54 am 
Offline
Joined: Sun Apr 09, 2006 5:31 pm
Posts: 3
tjc wrote:
Sure KnoppMyth works fine with multiple disks. Since the basic install only takes about 5Gb plus ~1.5 x RAM for swap, you're going to have a bunch of otherwised unused space on that first drive you can put recordings on. I would highly recommend using the latest public release (R5B7) and setting up LVM.

The easiest thing to do is an automatic install to /dev/hda, then after the reboot and before entering the pasword for the second phase setup, switch to an alternate console and run (assuming you're using R5B7 and that /dev/hdb is a single big partition):
Code:
create_lvm.sh /dev/hda3 /dev/hdb1


That primary raptor disk is sata, so automagic installation isnt an option.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Apr 10, 2006 6:18 pm 
Offline
Joined: Thu Mar 25, 2004 11:00 am
Posts: 9551
Location: Arlington, MA
Even so I'd still look into LVM, 74Gb is ridiculous overkill for the root partition. ;-)


Top
 Profile  
 

Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 


All times are UTC - 6 hours




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

Theme Created By ceyhansuyu