LinHES Forums
http://forums.linhes.org/

How To Install KnoppMyth With Dual Boot on Sda using Grub
http://forums.linhes.org/viewtopic.php?f=1&t=9595
Page 1 of 1

Author:  sleepycat [ Wed Apr 12, 2006 10:39 pm ]
Post subject:  How To Install KnoppMyth With Dual Boot on Sda using Grub

I'm just sharing how I installed KnoppMyth using a dual boot.

I already had my XP Pro installed and had my partitions made.

Code:
Device                   Mount Point
--------------------------------------------
/dev/sda5               /
/dev/sda6               swap


I loaded up the cd and selected Manual install. I select which partition to install on which was /dev/sda5. After install you will chroot into the installed partition like so.

Code:
chroot /mnt/hdinstall/ /bin/sh


I installed grub like so.

Code:
mkdir /boot/GRUB
cp /lib/GRUB/i386-pc/* /boot/GRUB


Then, I made a grub configuration file like so.

Code:
touch /boot/grub/grub.conf
vi /boot/grub/grub.conf



This is how my grub file look's

Code:
default=1
timeout=5
splashimage=(hd0,4)/boot/grub/splash.xpm.gz

title KnoppMyth
        root (hd0,4)
        kernel /boot/vmlinuz-2.6.15-chw-2 real_root=/dev/sda4
       

title Windows XP
        rootnoverify (hd0,0)
        chainloader +1



Then the final touches to install grub.

Code:
grub
root (hd0,4)
setup (hd0)


This will install grub then you can exit grub and exit the chroot and reboot into your knoppmyth install.

cheers

Author:  alexvd [ Sat Apr 22, 2006 10:57 am ]
Post subject: 

In regards to setting this up.

What partitions did you setup for .19

I thought I read that .19 doesn't require cache

Author:  mjl [ Sat Apr 22, 2006 12:06 pm ]
Post subject: 

Hi,

Is this XP Pro home version? I have not had any success with the corp flavor. I found lilo is ok but not grub.

Mike

Author:  sleepycat [ Sat Apr 22, 2006 5:46 pm ]
Post subject: 

yea, it's for xp pro.

Author:  mjl [ Sat Apr 22, 2006 10:29 pm ]
Post subject: 

hi alexvd,

I have setup on my work Dell.. to "officially" use the linux for testing, so what if it just happens to have KnoppMyth also. More testing tools :)

Swap is not needed for me as the machine has a gig of memory
all primary partitions, used lilo with no problems and the usb ir receiver from a 150mce

1 the reserved dos partition
2 XP Pro
3 /
4 /myth

Hope that helps you
Mike

Author:  alexvd [ Sun Apr 23, 2006 11:02 am ]
Post subject: 

yes that helps

I have a machine with a seagate 160 sata drive with xp pro installed. It also has 1 gig of memory.

So it looks like we have a similar configuration.

Author:  alexvd [ Sun Apr 23, 2006 11:04 am ]
Post subject: 

You have sda5 and sda6 does that mean you have two drives?

Author:  mjl [ Sun Apr 23, 2006 12:56 pm ]
Post subject: 

Hi alexvd,

Having sda 5 & 6 & 7 & etc simply means it is set for logical drives. When you do the partition it will ask primary / logical. You may only have 4 primary, but I am not sure as to the limit for logical..

I do have a machine that has 3 primary and 4 logical that I use for testing and evaluatation.

Some tap dancing is required to pull that trick (5 different system boots) Will not work with XP Pro.

Anything further please do pm.
Mike

Author:  sleepycat [ Mon Apr 24, 2006 3:24 pm ]
Post subject: 

any linux install needs

/ << root partition
swap << swap partition

when you load your system up.
Code:
cat /proc/partitions


you will see the partition table and know what sda number each partition is.[/code]

Author:  mjl [ Mon Apr 24, 2006 6:51 pm ]
Post subject: 

Hi,

I don't "swap << swap partition" , with 1 gig of mem it is a waste of drive space and slows the machine waiting for the drive to seek, not that it would likely even be used. (referring to the KnoppMyth needs)

swap is required if one has low mem size and most likely if one is doing some graphics, building a new iso or things of that nature and could excede 1 gig of space..

Please correct me if wrong. but I really don't want to rebuild my KnoppMyth box....

Mike

Author:  BadAndy [ Sun May 07, 2006 8:15 am ]
Post subject: 

Props go out to sleepycat! I got my dual boot XP system running with GRUB without destroying the special Dell partitions on my Dimension 5150.

A couple differences in my install:

1) System didn't recognize grub.conf, so I had to rename it to menu.lst.

2) To get past the Kernel panic error on boot up, I had to add the root= option to the kernel command in menu.lst:
Code:
kernel /boot/vmlinuz-2.6.15-chw-2 real_root=/dev/sda5 root=/dev/sda5


3) splash.xpm.gz didn't exist so I commented it out of menu.lst.

Thanks for all your help.

Page 1 of 1 All times are UTC - 6 hours
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
http://www.phpbb.com/