View unanswered posts    View active topics

All times are UTC - 6 hours





Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 
Print view Previous topic   Next topic  
Author Message
Search for:
PostPosted: Sun May 07, 2006 2:25 am 
Offline
Joined: Sat Feb 18, 2006 3:16 am
Posts: 6
Hi!

I have been installing KnoppMyth with a manual install since I am using a SATA drive. I previously hade FC4 and Win XP Pro installed with a dual boot controlled by GRUB.

The install of KnoppMyth claims it was successful even though a filesystem-error shines through the progress-bar during install and a number of error messages is displayed at the end of the install procedure.

Finally, when I boot the system after the successful installation I am beeing prompted with some kind of GRUB command-line tool that I have not seen before. I don't know what to do from here.

It feels like the installation might not have been successful after all, does anyone know how I can verify this? Or is there anything else I can try?

Some info about my setup so fra

I have partitioned my drive inte five partitions. 4 according to the recommendations ( /, swap, /cache and /myth) and a fifth which contains all my media files from my previous setup with FC4.

I don't know how to format these partitions, but I thought this was done automatically during setup. Could that be a reason for my system not booting properly.

As you might see from my post I am a noob. So please be gentle ;-)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun May 07, 2006 10:35 am 
Offline
Joined: Tue May 02, 2006 6:54 am
Posts: 14
Location: Pineville, NC
I am in the same boat. I tried three times to do a manual install. Each time, the system just threw a bunch of errors in the end and once I reboot, all I get is a screen with the grub prompt.

The errors comprised of file not found, couldn't copy file etc.

First two times, I had the partitions as:

/dev/hda1 - Dell Diagnostics
/dev/hda2 - 1024MB Swap
/dev/hda3 - rest of the 40GB

Second time, I followed the WiKi instructions more closely and did the following:

/dev/hda1 - Dell Diagnostics
/dev/hda2 - 10GB Bootable Root Partition
/dev/hda3 - 1024MB Swap
/dev/hda4 - Rest of the 40GB drive

No dice. Each time, the install throws errors in the GUI and gives me the # prompt. Once I restart (use shutdown -r now or reboot commands) I only get the grub> prompt.


:(


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun May 07, 2006 11:58 am 
Offline
Joined: Fri Sep 19, 2003 7:05 pm
Posts: 5088
Location: Fontana, Ca
Search for 'mount chroot lilo', ensure you check all.

_________________
cesman

When the source is open, the possibilities are endless!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun May 07, 2006 3:49 pm 
Offline
Joined: Sat Feb 18, 2006 3:16 am
Posts: 6
cheers mate!

I found my answer right here

http://mysettopbox.tv/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?p=37834&highlight=#37834


Top
 Profile  
 

Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 


All times are UTC - 6 hours




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

Theme Created By ceyhansuyu