View unanswered posts    View active topics

All times are UTC - 6 hours





Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ] 
Print view Previous topic   Next topic  
Author Message
Search for:
PostPosted: Tue Feb 20, 2007 9:35 am 
Offline
Joined: Fri Oct 13, 2006 3:50 pm
Posts: 26
Location: New Jersey, USA
I just ordered a WinTV PVR-150 from provantage.com, a generally good
vendor. Opened the box, which says PVR-150 all over it, and inside
is an HVR-1600, with a note from Hauppauge saying as how they ran
out of PVR 150's. Pity, MythTV (R5D1 and also R5E50) know nothing
about it. Totally unrecognized as a video card.

The good news is that even though Provantage won't take back goods
when the shrink wrap is open, Hauppauge says they are happy to swap
me even for a real PVR 150.

Just call them and explain your plight, should you get one of these dogs.
(probably will be a nice card someday, has ATSC input as well as NTSC.)

For the record, before I pack it up and get rid of it, here's how it's marked
and what the chips are:

WinTV-HVR-1600 ATSC/NTSC 74021 LF Rev C1B2 Assembled in Malaysia
on the sticker on the tuner.
chips: Conexant CX24227-11Z N05G7AF 0642 CH
Conexant MPEGII A/V Encoder System CX23418-22Z Z 0546Y1F6 0547 Taiwan
ESMT M13S128324A AZR1P60XE19 5B 631 (and the leads are hidden)

Bill


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Feb 20, 2007 3:51 pm 
Offline
Joined: Wed Dec 28, 2005 8:35 am
Posts: 18
That happened to me at Fry's in Atlanta. I was not happy because it was an hours drive to return it.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Mar 17, 2007 10:44 pm 
Offline
Joined: Sat Jan 06, 2007 11:03 am
Posts: 11
Just got one here at Circuit City in Fairfax Va.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Got one from NewEgg
PostPosted: Tue Mar 20, 2007 4:55 pm 
Offline
Joined: Mon Feb 19, 2007 10:18 am
Posts: 2
RMA'd - Hauppauge replaced no problem. It just took 2 weeks.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Mar 09, 2008 10:30 am 
Offline
Joined: Thu Dec 01, 2005 12:46 am
Posts: 135
If you grab v4l/dvb repository from linuxtv.org, it does have a working driver for the hvr-1600. They need some people testing out the driver with the hardware.

Apparently the driver is working well.

Dwaine


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Mar 19, 2008 2:32 pm 
Offline
Joined: Fri Jan 19, 2007 3:09 pm
Posts: 3
dwaine wrote:
If you grab v4l/dvb repository from linuxtv.org, it does have a working driver for the hvr-1600. They need some people testing out the driver with the hardware.

Apparently the driver is working well.

Dwaine



How about the 1800? Seems to be a dual-tuner version... would love to go that route if possible.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Mar 19, 2008 3:49 pm 
Offline
Joined: Sun Mar 19, 2006 5:53 pm
Posts: 41
The 150 is analog and going to to be useless in less then a year. I would rather take the 1600 and find some software that I could get by with until someone comes up with a good Linux driver. I would certainly try like hell to get those beta drivers working, but if you have to temporarily go with a windows solution then so be it.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Mar 19, 2008 4:11 pm 
Offline
Joined: Sun Sep 25, 2005 3:50 pm
Posts: 1013
Location: Los Angeles
Pain wrote:
The 150 is analog and going to to be useless in less then a year.


Not if you get a D > A converter. It could also be useful for it's S-Video input from a cable/satellite box.

_________________
Mike
My Hardware Profile


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Mar 20, 2008 10:39 pm 
Offline
Joined: Sun Mar 19, 2006 5:53 pm
Posts: 41
I got a free converter from Comcast. Does no good because you can not use MythTV to control what channel it outputs to the computer. I guess if you only watch one channel then it is perfect :P


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Mar 21, 2008 6:57 am 
Offline
Joined: Fri Apr 02, 2004 10:08 am
Posts: 1637
Location: Virginia, USA
Pain wrote:
Does no good because you can not use MythTV to control what channel it outputs to the computer.


It doesn't have a remote control?

If it has a remote, it can be controlled via IR blasting. Not ideal but it does work.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Mar 22, 2008 1:37 am 
Offline
Joined: Sun Mar 19, 2006 5:53 pm
Posts: 41
Yes there is a remote on the converter. Guess I will have to look into IR blasting when it gets closer to analog doomsday if I want to keep my PVR-150 going. Hoping the HVR-1600 I have sitting in the corner will be supported by then though.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu May 22, 2008 10:53 am 
Offline
Joined: Fri Jan 06, 2006 9:35 pm
Posts: 64
Location: Northern Kentucky
There has been some good movement in device drivers for the HD portion of the card. Supposedly the SD tuner has been up and running for a while.

http://mysettopbox.tv/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=18292

My linux skills aren't quite to this level yet but if someone were to help me I'm sure I could learn. I've got a test box ready for my HVR-1600 once i feel confident in getting it going.

Hauppauge's site says they plan to have kernel support by 2.6.26. So this is good news.


Top
 Profile  
 

Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ] 


All times are UTC - 6 hours




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

Theme Created By ceyhansuyu