View unanswered posts    View active topics

All times are UTC - 6 hours





Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 
Print view Previous topic   Next topic  
Author Message
Search for:
 Post subject: Autoload nvtv ?
PostPosted: Sat Sep 16, 2006 9:40 am 
Offline
Joined: Fri Apr 01, 2005 6:24 pm
Posts: 8
Hi
I've recently set up a mythtv box and it works great.
Just one problem is left.
I use nvtv to get rid of the black boarders.
But I haven't found a way to automate this small command

I've tried to add a line to "/home/mythtv/.fluxbox/apps"

its
[startup] {nvtv -r 800,600 -s HUGE -S PAL -t}

but this doesn't help.

So I tried it like I found it in an script which works for so else.
I created a file /home/mythtv/do_nvtv.sh
It contains a single line "nvtv -r 800,600 -s HUGE -S PAL -t"
then I did chmod 777 and chown mythtv:mythtv for this file and
added another line to .fluxbx/apps
[startup] {~mythtv/do_nvtv.sh}

and added /usr/local/bin/nvtvd to /etc/init.d/bootmisc.sh

("This daemon must be running if a non-root user needs to execute an nvtv command")

but: nothing happend

I still have to ssh in my box and do it by hand.

Could anybody please tell me the secret how to automate it

Thanks a lot


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Autoload nvtv ?
PostPosted: Sat Sep 16, 2006 10:17 am 
Offline
Joined: Thu Mar 25, 2004 11:00 am
Posts: 9551
Location: Arlington, MA
Kudos on doing your research and finding a fix, but I'm afraid you either found some bad advice or garbled it a bit.
zitroneneis wrote:
I created a file /home/mythtv/do_nvtv.sh
It contains a single line "nvtv -r 800,600 -s HUGE -S PAL -t"
then I did chmod 777 and chown mythtv:mythtv for this file and

OK, first of all NEVER do this with chmod, as a matter of fact tell me who taught you to do this so I can hunt them down. This is "cleaning" the windows of your car by smashing them out with a sledgehammer, and it drives me nuts to see this evil meme propogating.

Step 1, create a script called /home/mythtv/do_nvtv.sh to run the command, make it look like this:
Code:
#!/bin/bash

nvtv -r 800,600 -s HUGE -S PAL -t

The "pound bang magic" tells the system what type of script this is. Then give it the proper permissions, and if you created it as root, the proper ownership:
Code:
chmod u=rwx,go=rx do_nvtv.sh
chown mythtv:mythtv do_nvtv.sh

zitroneneis wrote:
added another line to .fluxbx/apps
[startup] {~mythtv/do_nvtv.sh}

Step 2, remove any nonworking versions of this from /home/mythtv/.fluxbox/apps and add it back with the full path
Code:
[startup] {/home/mythtv/do_nvtv.sh}

zitroneneis wrote:
and added /usr/local/bin/nvtvd to /etc/init.d/bootmisc.sh

("This daemon must be running if a non-root user needs to execute an nvtv command")

Step 3, make sure that /usr/local/bin/nvtvd exists and that it's actually running.
Code:
ls -l /usr/local/bin/nvtvd
pgrep -fl nvtvd


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Sep 28, 2006 1:45 am 
Offline
Joined: Mon Aug 21, 2006 7:12 am
Posts: 10
Location: Italia
Perfect for me, thank you...i've insert in do_nvtv the line for the problem with blue line with xvattr.

One little problem: when i play with tux race and i come back to mythtv i lose the setting.

sorry for my bad english
:oops:


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Sep 28, 2006 1:58 am 
Offline
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2006 7:24 am
Posts: 396
Location: Dushanbe, Tajikistan
I would rename the tux race binary with a name ending in .real or something
then create a script that calls the real binary on the first line and second line
it calls the script /home/mythtv/do_nvtv.sh

you might want to keep track of all little fixes so that they can added again after an
upgrade or reinstall.. remembering all of the small changes I made to my box is always
a bit of headache..


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Dec 15, 2008 3:12 am 
Offline
Joined: Mon Aug 21, 2006 7:12 am
Posts: 10
Location: Italia
mamo74 wrote:
Perfect for me, thank you...i've insert in do_nvtv the line for the problem with blue line with xvattr.

One little problem: when i play with tux race and i come back to mythtv i lose the setting.

sorry for my bad english
:oops:


quoting my old post beacouse i've change my hardware and re-install KnoppMyth 5.5, i'm able to use the old script (do_nvtv.sh) but i can't have correct video when i exit from xmame game...

when i exit from the game i've the "black border" so i run do_nvtv.sh and everythink is right. (using mythtv users) so nvtvd is running

i've try "update-rc do_nvtv.sh defaults", reboot and try but nothing exiting game black border

what i forget?
THX

_________________
Now
JetWay j7f2we2g
1 Gb ram
Compro Videomate T300

Till 3-2009
Acer Veriton 2GHz 750MB Ram
Ge Force Mx 100-200 TV out
Compro Videomate T300

Till 10-2008
Epia-M 9000
1 GB Ram PC2100
Terratec TV video Device


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Autoload nvtv ?
PostPosted: Tue Dec 16, 2008 6:09 pm 
Offline
Joined: Sat Sep 02, 2006 9:17 am
Posts: 359
tjc wrote:
OK, first of all NEVER do this with chmod, as a matter of fact tell me who taught you to do this so I can hunt them down. This is "cleaning" the windows of your car by smashing them out with a sledgehammer, and it drives me nuts to see this evil meme propogating.

I'm not sure I'm sensing the evil here. Is it the octal mode chmod arg? I "grew up" in *Nix so I'd personally rather see 'chmod 755' versus 'chmod u=rwx,go=rx' but I see that one as preference rather than light side versus dark side. Is it opening write access to the world? (I agree that's evil.) Or is it thinking execute permission is sufficient and you don't need the shebang in the script? again not evil; a bad instruction, but not evil. That's more like cleaning your windows by spraying them with windex, but then not wiping. you think you're doing good, but actually making it no better at all.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Dec 16, 2008 10:55 pm 
Offline
Joined: Thu Mar 25, 2004 11:00 am
Posts: 9551
Location: Arlington, MA
The blind use of 777 is the evil that I was referring to. Using octal mode strings seems to encourage it since the average yahoo can't be bothered to learn or figure out the bit encodings to get it right and thus falls back on 777.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Dec 17, 2008 10:24 am 
Offline
Joined: Mon Aug 21, 2006 7:12 am
Posts: 10
Location: Italia
ok thank you :shock: but anything for me? :roll:

_________________
Now
JetWay j7f2we2g
1 Gb ram
Compro Videomate T300

Till 3-2009
Acer Veriton 2GHz 750MB Ram
Ge Force Mx 100-200 TV out
Compro Videomate T300

Till 10-2008
Epia-M 9000
1 GB Ram PC2100
Terratec TV video Device


Top
 Profile  
 

Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 


All times are UTC - 6 hours




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 23 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

Theme Created By ceyhansuyu