View unanswered posts    View active topics

All times are UTC - 6 hours

Print view Previous topic   Next topic  
Search for:
PostPosted: Wed Oct 31, 2007 11:10 pm 
I'm still pretty new to MythTV and Knoppmyth, but I have been checking out some of the optioins and was looking for some more insight. The current topic of interest for me is one of the default jobs on Knoppmyth called "Transcode to Xvid". It runs
Code:
myt2xvid3 -cut "%DIR" "%FILE%"
if I remember correctly. First of all, it outputs some pretty nasty filenames (based on time & date recorded). I have found out how to fix that here:
http://www.mysettopbox.tv/phpBB2/viewto ... =myt2xvid3

Now I am curious as to what the
Code:
-cut
option does. From the code, it appears that if you set it, then it will remove your cutlist and create a new one from mythcommflag. Does that mean that if you want to setup your own cutlist (or not cut out commercials) that you would not use the -cut option? I ask because, obviously, commflagging isn't always perfect. I have setup a job that will import my commflagging into the cutlist. Then I edit that to my liking.

I just thought since there is so little documentation on this particular script that I would check if anyone knows the answer. If not, I will find out over the next several days and let you know.

Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Nov 01, 2007 7:06 am 
The -cut option seems to be telling the script to use your cut list.

ime, if you run the script automatically after a commflagging it ignores your comflags as that is not a cut list.

If you edit the capture commflags, you generate the cut list. That would then be used with the script to remove the commercials or identified portions from the capture while it is creating the xvid.

I usually clean up the Commflag/Cutlist by editing it and setting it on the key frames of the capture. Then when I run the script it automatically removes the unwanted portions as it generates the xvid.