View unanswered posts    View active topics

All times are UTC - 6 hours





Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
Print view Previous topic   Next topic  
Author Message
Search for:
PostPosted: Sat Jun 28, 2008 4:09 am 
Offline
Joined: Wed Dec 10, 2003 8:31 pm
Posts: 1996
Location: /dev/null
First off, credit for this procedure goes entirely to both lynchaj and tjc. Read the full thread here for the evolution of this technique if you want. I have distilled out all the non-relevant info and included what you need to know to accomplish this.

You'll need a PVR-250 or the like to do this. Also, this short guide assumes you have a functional R5F27 build.

1) Connect your VCR or Handycam's audio and video out to the input of your PVR-250 card (not your KM box's inputs).*

2) Either open up a shell on the KM box or connect via ssh and do this:

Code:
$ v4l2-ctl --list-inputs
which should return a list of the available inputs on your card(s). Here is my PVR-250 as an example:
Code:
$ v4l2-ctl --list-inputs
ioctl: VIDIOC_ENUMINPUT
        Input   : 0
        Name    : Tuner 1
        Type    : 0x00000001
        Audioset: 0x00000007
        Tuner   : 0x00000000
        Standard: 0x0000000000001000 ( NTSC )
        Status  : 0

        Input   : 1
        Name    : S-Video 1
        Type    : 0x00000002
        Audioset: 0x00000007
        Tuner   : 0x00000000
        Standard: 0x0000000000FFFFFF ( PAL NTSC SECAM )
        Status  : 0

        Input   : 2
        Name    : Composite 1
        Type    : 0x00000002
        Audioset: 0x00000007
        Tuner   : 0x00000000
        Standard: 0x0000000000FFFFFF ( PAL NTSC SECAM )
        Status  : 0

        Input   : 3
        Name    : S-Video 2
        Type    : 0x00000002
        Audioset: 0x00000007
        Tuner   : 0x00000000
        Standard: 0x0000000000FFFFFF ( PAL NTSC SECAM )
        Status  : 0

        Input   : 4
        Name    : Composite 2
        Type    : 0x00000002
        Audioset: 0x00000007
        Tuner   : 0x00000000
        Standard: 0x0000000000FFFFFF ( PAL NTSC SECAM )
        Status  : 0

        Input   : 5
        Name    : Composite 3
        Type    : 0x00000002
        Audioset: 0x00000007
        Tuner   : 0x00000000
        Standard: 0x0000000000FFFFFF ( PAL NTSC SECAM )
        Status  : 0


3) You'll need to figure out which of the composite inputs your card is using. In my example, I have composite 1 through 3. For some reason, mine is on Composite 3 which as you can see from the list above, is Input 5.

Anyway, test them sequentially by doing the following:

Code:
$ cd /myth/video
$ v4l2-ctl --set-input=5
$ cat /dev/video0 > test.mpg


Use a different filename (test.mpg) to describe the clip you're going to capture. Also, don't actually hit <enter> after that line until you're ready to start the capture since it'll happen immediately assuming KM isn't capturing something else when you try it.

4) Press play on the Handycam or VCR and you should be capturing with the default profile recording profile. If you want a higher quality capture, you'll need to edit your default profile to your liking prior to doing this (720x480, 9k bits, etc.).

5) When you're finished, simply hit ctrl+c to stop the capture. You may now edit the resulting MPEG-2 in your fav. editor, author to DVD, transcode, etc.

6) If you didn't capture anything but black, you're using the wrong input. Try substituting another in the cat /dev/video line above.

*If using a Sony handy cam, you'll need that special cable that came with the thing. I believe it's called a "Sony VMC20FR AV Cable." One end of the cord has your standard RCA jacks (red, white, and yellow) and the other end has the microjack.

Image

_________________
Retired KM user (R4 - R6.04); friend to LH users.


Last edited by graysky on Sat Jun 28, 2008 9:28 am, edited 1 time in total.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jun 28, 2008 8:10 am 
Offline
Joined: Thu Mar 25, 2004 11:00 am
Posts: 9551
Location: Arlington, MA
Do not blindly assume that 5 is the correct input. For example my PVR-150 doesn't even have an input #5, only 0 through 4. Use the --list-inputs option first to find out which input to use.
Code:
root@black2:/usr/local/bin# v4l2-ctl --list-inputs --device=/dev/video1
ioctl: VIDIOC_ENUMINPUT
        Input   : 0
        Name    : Tuner 1
        Type    : 0x00000001
        Audioset: 0x00000007
        Tuner   : 0x00000000
        Standard: 0x0000000000001000 ( NTSC )
        Status  : 0

        Input   : 1
        Name    : S-Video 1
        Type    : 0x00000002
        Audioset: 0x00000007
        Tuner   : 0x00000000
        Standard: 0x0000000000FFFFFF ( PAL NTSC SECAM )
        Status  : 0

        Input   : 2
        Name    : Composite 1
        Type    : 0x00000002
        Audioset: 0x00000007
        Tuner   : 0x00000000
        Standard: 0x0000000000FFFFFF ( PAL NTSC SECAM )
        Status  : 0

        Input   : 3
        Name    : S-Video 2
        Type    : 0x00000002
        Audioset: 0x00000007
        Tuner   : 0x00000000
        Standard: 0x0000000000FFFFFF ( PAL NTSC SECAM )
        Status  : 0

        Input   : 4
        Name    : Composite 2
        Type    : 0x00000002
        Audioset: 0x00000007
        Tuner   : 0x00000000
        Standard: 0x0000000000FFFFFF ( PAL NTSC SECAM )
        Status  : 0

If you've got more than one capture card you may need to specify a different device as shown in the example above. The input you select should generally be the lowest numbered one for the type of cable you're using (Yellow RCA Composite or S-Video). The cable in the picture is a composite cable, with R & L audio on the red and white plugs, and composite video on the yellow plug. So with the example shown above I'd try input #2 first and if that didn't work input #4.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jun 28, 2008 9:29 am 
Offline
Joined: Wed Dec 10, 2003 8:31 pm
Posts: 1996
Location: /dev/null
Thanks for the clarification, tjc. I edited the first post incorporating your suggestion.

_________________
Retired KM user (R4 - R6.04); friend to LH users.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jun 28, 2008 8:04 pm 
Offline
Joined: Fri Sep 15, 2006 12:16 pm
Posts: 292
Edit: For readers of this post that do not have a PVR-250. The
following way works with any type of capture card. The other methods
really only apply to the PVR-250's etc. which have mpg out.

To do this on my system I added an input for my unused composite input
on my HD-5500 and I added a channel with a strange number for that
input. Whenever I need to record from composite now I set the A/V
inputs up and just select that channel in live tv.

If you only have one input, say composite that is already used for video
capture, you could just add a channel number that is unused and tune
to it after switching input leads to your other video source. The reason
you still need an unused channel even with this setup is that if you use a
used channel to record from and if that channel changes from one show
to the next, say at the top of the hour, you may have multiple recording
files that you will need to piece together.

If you don't like your live TV recording profile, you can set up a manual
recording (but I remember there was a bug with manual recording...)
a few minutes in advance and select a different recording profile.

Not exactly high tech, but it works.

Cliff


Last edited by cliffsjunk on Sun Jun 29, 2008 10:43 am, edited 1 time in total.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jun 28, 2008 8:54 pm 
Offline
Joined: Sat Dec 24, 2005 11:33 am
Posts: 400
Location: Kitsap Peninsula, Wa., United States
I followed a similar approach to Cliffs junk for the setup. I use an unused rca composite video source id'd as channel 001. Saw that in one of the wiki's around here.

Then i use Manual record for channel 1 and set it for when to start and the time it needs to run and select the appropriate profile. I like my High Quality profile way more bits than video tapes can do but it is directly compatible to making a DVD.

The plus to this method when I setup the manual recording I get to name it.
Say Home movie video 1 2005-2006 or kids birthday or whatever.

works every time.

Thanks Graysky for all the hardwaor putting it together as I remember when I did mine it took a bunch of dogging and trial and error.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jun 29, 2008 4:53 am 
Offline
Joined: Wed Dec 10, 2003 8:31 pm
Posts: 1996
Location: /dev/null
bigbro wrote:
I followed a similar approach to Cliffs junk for the setup. I use an unused rca composite video source id'd as channel 001. Saw that in one of the wiki's around here.

Then i use Manual record for channel 1 and set it for when to start and the time it needs to run and select the appropriate profile. I like my High Quality profile way more bits than video tapes can do but it is directly compatible to making a DVD.

The plus to this method when I setup the manual recording I get to name it.
Say Home movie video 1 2005-2006 or kids birthday or whatever.

works every time.

Thanks Graysky for all the hardwaor putting it together as I remember when I did mine it took a bunch of dogging and trial and error.


I too used this method in the past, but didn't like the fact that I had to start/stop it via a manual recording entry. For our handycam clips, the times seem to be random (i.e. not 15 or 30 min) etc. Plus, she has all these little clips she like to rev and ff to queue up which makes the editing after the capture really tedious.

Just for your knowledge, you can very easily name the files using the method described above. Just replace "test.mpg" with whatever you want. For example "Beach_trip_Jun-08.mpg" or whatever.

Anyway, thanks for the post. Giving options to people is never a bad thing :)

_________________
Retired KM user (R4 - R6.04); friend to LH users.


Top
 Profile  
 

Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 


All times are UTC - 6 hours




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 21 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

Theme Created By ceyhansuyu