View unanswered posts    View active topics

All times are UTC - 6 hours





Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 3 posts ] 
Print view Previous topic   Next topic  
Author Message
Search for:
PostPosted: Sun Mar 08, 2009 3:15 am 
Offline
Joined: Tue Nov 22, 2005 7:57 pm
Posts: 295
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Just had a MBR failure on my KM5.5 installation, which led to an error message on startup that looked like this "L 99 99 99 99 ..." from LILO. A bit of googling led me to the correct diagnosis and some hints as how to fix it, but nothing quite applied. I did not have a recovery diskette http://www.knoppmythwiki.org/index.php?page=RecoveryDiskette but was able to fix it using the installation CD:

1. Boot from Installation CD
2. Choose 'Quit' from the main menu to drop into the command prompt
3. Mount your hard drive so you can read from it. Mine was a standard KM install, so this was done by
Code:
mount /dev/hda1 /mnt/hda1

4. Copy your LILO configuration file to the current /etc directory
Code:
cp /mnt/hda1/etc/lilo.conf /etc

5. Remove the link to the current /boot directory (linked to /UNIONFS/boot)
Code:
rm boot

6. Link to the boot directory on your hard drive
Code:
ln -s /mnt/hda1/boot boot

7. Restore your hard drive's master boot record (MBR)
Code:
lilo -v

8. Reboot your PC (it will prompt you to remove the CD)
Code:
reboot


And that should be it. I've written this from memory so hopefully nothing is missing. I did mess around editing the lilo.conf file before I realised I just needed to point it to the correct /boot directory, but I don't think any of the changes I made were relevant. Hope this helps someone!

_________________
HP VL400 (PIII 866), Skystar2 2.6D, PVR350, Nvidia FX5200, 384MB, 200GB, KnoppMyth R5.5


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Mar 15, 2009 12:08 am 
Offline
Joined: Fri Sep 15, 2006 12:16 pm
Posts: 292
Here;s how I did it a couple times (on R5.5):

Quote:
boot from KM 5.5 CD
choose to go to the command prompt
mount /media/hda1
edit /media/hda1/etc/lilo.conf (I used vi, but nano is probably there too)
--and tweak all of the file paths (that don't start with /dev) from /whatever to /media/hda1/whatever,
run "lilo -C /media/hda1/etc/lilo.conf"

Note that you should put lilo.conf
back the way it was once you get it booting.

http://knoppmyth.net/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=18672

Cliff


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Mar 15, 2009 5:09 am 
Offline
Joined: Tue Nov 22, 2005 7:57 pm
Posts: 295
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Yes I was trying for that originally then realised all that editing wasn't needed (before and after) :-)

_________________
HP VL400 (PIII 866), Skystar2 2.6D, PVR350, Nvidia FX5200, 384MB, 200GB, KnoppMyth R5.5


Top
 Profile  
 

Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 3 posts ] 


All times are UTC - 6 hours




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 18 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

Theme Created By ceyhansuyu