View unanswered posts    View active topics

All times are UTC - 6 hours





Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 28 posts ] 
Go to page Previous  1, 2

Print view Previous topic   Next topic  
Author Message
Search for:
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Apr 18, 2009 2:51 pm 
Offline
Joined: Wed Feb 01, 2006 8:31 pm
Posts: 45
got it to work..

I patched load-modules-mythvantage.sh and it also loads on the wrong section of rc.sysinit.


jbolan or someone else..... can you post your /etc/rc.sysinit and your /usr/LH/bin/load-modules-mythvantage.sh ? i lost the originals and my changes are hardcoded on my files, so in order to create a good working patch for all i need the original files.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: irblaster
PostPosted: Sun Apr 19, 2009 7:54 am 
Offline
Joined: Sat Apr 01, 2006 2:12 pm
Posts: 15
rc.sysinit:

Quote:

#!/bin/bash
#
# /etc/rc.sysinit
#

. /etc/rc.conf
. /etc/rc.d/functions

echo " "
printhl "LinHES"
printhl "The Linux Home Entertainment System"
printhl "${C_H2}http://www.linhes.org"
printhl "Distributed under the GNU General Public License (GPL)"
printsep

# mount /proc, /sys and our RAM /dev
/bin/mount -n -t ramfs none /dev
/bin/mount -n -t proc none /proc
/bin/mount -n -t sysfs none /sys

# Create our default nodes that minilogd may need
/bin/mknod /dev/null c 1 3
/bin/mknod /dev/zero c 1 5
/bin/mknod /dev/console c 5 1

# More initial /dev setup that udev doesn't do
/bin/ln -snf /proc/self/fd /dev/fd
/bin/ln -snf /proc/self/fd/0 /dev/stdin
/bin/ln -snf /proc/self/fd/1 /dev/stdout
/bin/ln -snf /proc/self/fd/2 /dev/stderr
/bin/ln -snf /proc/kcore /dev/core
/bin/mkdir /dev/pts
/bin/mkdir /dev/shm

# start up our mini logger until syslog takes over
/sbin/minilogd

# anything more serious than KERN_WARNING goes to the console
# 'verbose' cmdline parameter enables more messages
if /bin/grep -q " verbose" /proc/cmdline; then
/bin/dmesg -n 8
else
/bin/dmesg -n 3
fi

# enable rtc access
/sbin/modprobe rtc-cmos >/dev/null 2>&1
RTC_MAJOR=$(/bin/grep -w rtc /proc/devices 2>/dev/null); RTC_MAJOR="${RTC_MAJOR%% *}"
if [ -n "$RTC_MAJOR" ]; then
/bin/mkdir /dev/misc/
/bin/mknod /dev/misc/rtc0 c $RTC_MAJOR 0
/bin/ln -s /dev/misc/rtc0 /dev/rtc
fi

HWCLOCK_PARAMS="--hctosys"
if [ "$HARDWARECLOCK" = "UTC" ]; then
HWCLOCK_PARAMS="$HWCLOCK_PARAMS --utc"
else
HWCLOCK_PARAMS="$HWCLOCK_PARAMS --localtime"
fi
if [ "$USEDIRECTISA" = "yes" -o "$USEDIRECTISA" = "YES" ]; then
HWCLOCK_PARAMS="$HWCLOCK_PARAMS --directisa"
fi

# Set clock early to fix some bugs with filesystem checks
# Clock is set again later to match rc.conf
if [ -f /etc/localtime ]; then
/sbin/hwclock $HWCLOCK_PARAMS --noadjfile
fi

echo > /proc/sys/kernel/hotplug

if [ -x /sbin/udevadm -a -d /sys/block ]; then
# We have udev and /sys appears to be mounted, use UDev
stat_busy "Starting UDev Daemon"
/sbin/udevd --daemon
stat_done
else
# Static /dev, our last resort
status "Using static /dev filesystem" true
fi

# Load modules from the MODULES array defined in rc.conf
if ! [ "$load_modules" = "off" ]; then
if [ -f /proc/modules ]; then
stat_busy "Loading Modules"
/usr/LH/bin/load-modules-mythvantage.sh
for mod in "${MODULES[@]}"; do
if [ "$mod" = "${mod#!}" ]; then
/sbin/modprobe $mod
fi
done
stat_done
fi
if [ -d /proc/acpi ]; then
stat_busy "Loading standard ACPI modules"
ACPI_MODULES="ac battery button fan processor thermal"
k="$(echo $BLACKLIST ${MOD_BLACKLIST[@]} | /bin/sed 's|-|_|g')"
j="$(echo ${MODULES[@]} | /bin/sed 's|-|_|g')"
#add disabled MODULES (!) to blacklist - much requested feature
for m in ${j}; do
[ "$m" != "${m#!}" ] && k="${k} ${m#!}"
done
# add disablemodules= from commandline to blacklist
k="${k} $(echo ${disablemodules} | /bin/sed 's|-|_|g' | /bin/sed 's|,| |g')"
for n in ${ACPI_MODULES}; do
if ! echo ${k} | /bin/grep "\<$n\>" 2>&1 >/dev/null; then
/sbin/modprobe $n > /dev/null 2>&1
fi
done
stat_done
fi
fi

# run udev uevents
if /bin/pidof -o %PPID /sbin/udevd >/dev/null; then
stat_busy "Loading UDev uevents"
udevstart="$(/bin/date +%s%0N)"
/sbin/udevadm trigger
/sbin/udevadm settle
stat_done
udevend="$(/bin/date +%s%0N)"
printhl " UDev uevent processing time: $((($udevend-$udevstart)/1000000))ms"
fi

# bring up the loopback interface
if [ -d /sys/class/net/lo ]; then
stat_busy "Bringing up loopback interface"
/sbin/ifconfig lo 127.0.0.1 up
if [ $? -ne 0 ]; then
stat_fail
else
stat_done
fi
fi

# If necessary, find md devices and manually assemble RAID arrays
if [ -f /etc/mdadm.conf -a "$(/bin/grep ^ARRAY /etc/mdadm.conf 2>/dev/null)" ]; then
# udev won't create these md nodes, so we do it ourselves
for dev in $(/bin/grep ^ARRAY /etc/mdadm.conf | /bin/awk '{print $2}'); do
path=$(echo $dev | /bin/sed 's|/[^/]*$||')
node=$(echo $dev | /bin/sed "s|^$path/||")
minor=$(echo $node | /bin/sed 's|^[^0-9]*||')
[ ! -e $path/$node ] && /bin/mknod $path/$node b 9 $minor
done
status "Activating RAID arrays" /sbin/mdadm --assemble --scan
fi

if [ "$USELVM" = "yes" -o "$USELVM" = "YES" ]; then
if [ -x /sbin/lvm -a -d /sys/block ]; then
# Kernel 2.6.x, LVM2 groups
/sbin/modprobe -q dm-mod 2>/dev/null
stat_busy "Activating LVM2 groups"
/sbin/lvm vgscan --ignorelockingfailure --mknodes >/dev/null
/sbin/lvm vgchange --ignorelockingfailure -a y >/dev/null
if [ $? -ne 0 ]; then
stat_fail
else
stat_done
fi
fi
fi

# Set up non-root encrypted partition mappings
if [ -f /etc/crypttab -a -n "$(/bin/grep -v ^# /etc/crypttab | /bin/grep -v ^$)" ]; then
/sbin/modprobe -q dm-mod 2>/dev/null
stat_busy "Unlocking encrypted volumes:"
csfailed=0
CS=/sbin/cryptsetup.static
do_crypt() {
if [ $# -ge 3 ]; then
cname="$1"
csrc="$2"
cpass="$3"
shift 3
copts="$*"
stat_append "${cname}.."
# For some fun reason, the parameter ordering varies for
# LUKS and non-LUKS devices. Joy.
if [ "${cpass}" = "SWAP" ]; then
# This is DANGEROUS! The only possible safety check
# is to not proceed in case we find a LUKS device
# This may cause dataloss if it is not used carefully
if $CS isLuks $csrc 2>/dev/null; then
false
else
$CS -d /dev/urandom $copts create $cname $csrc >/dev/null
if [ $? -eq 0 ]; then
stat_append "creating swapspace.."
/sbin/mkswap -L $cname /dev/mapper/$cname >/dev/null
fi
fi
elif [ "${cpass}" = "ASK" ]; then
printf "\nOpening '${cname}' volume:\n"

if $CS isLuks $csrc 2>/dev/null; then
$CS $copts luksOpen $csrc $cname < /dev/console
else
$CS $copts create $cname $csrc < /dev/console
fi
elif [ "${cpass:0:1}" != "/" ]; then
if $CS isLuks $csrc 2>/dev/null; then
echo "$cpass" | $CS $copts luksOpen $csrc $cname >/dev/null
else
echo "$cpass" | $CS $copts create $cname $csrc >/dev/null
fi
else
if $CS isLuks $csrc 2>/dev/null; then
$CS -d $cpass $copts luksOpen $csrc $cname >/dev/null
else
$CS -d $cpass $copts create $cname $csrc >/dev/null
fi
fi
if [ $? -ne 0 ]; then
csfailed=1
stat_append "failed "
else
stat_append "ok "
fi
fi
}
while read line; do
eval do_crypt "$line"
done </etc/crypttab
if [ $csfailed -eq 0 ]; then
stat_done
else
stat_fail
fi
# Maybe someone has LVM on an encrypted block device
if [ "$USELVM" = "yes" -o "$USELVM" = "YES" ]; then
if [ -x /sbin/lvm -a -d /sys/block ]; then
/sbin/lvm vgscan --ignorelockingfailure --mknodes >/dev/null
/sbin/lvm vgchange --ignorelockingfailure -a y >/dev/null
fi
fi
fi

status "Mounting Root Read-only" /bin/mount -n -o remount,ro /

FORCEFSCK=
[ -f /forcefsck ] && FORCEFSCK="-- -f"
NETFS="nonfs,nonfs4,nosmbfs,nocifs,nocodafs,noncpfs,nosysfs,noshfs,nofuse,nofuseblk"

if [ -x /sbin/fsck ]; then
stat_busy "Checking Filesystems"
if /bin/grep -qw quiet /proc/cmdline; then
/sbin/fsck -A -T -C -a -t $NETFS $FORCEFSCK >/dev/null 2>&1
else
/sbin/fsck -A -T -C -a -t $NETFS $FORCEFSCK 2>/dev/null
fi
fsckret=$?
if [ ${fsckret} -gt 1 ]; then
stat_fail
if [ $((${fsckret}&2)) -eq 2 ]; then
echo
echo "********************** REBOOT REQUIRED *********************"
echo "* *"
echo "* The system will be rebooted automatically in 15 seconds. *"
echo "* *"
echo "************************************************************"
echo
/bin/sleep 15
else
echo
echo "***************** FILESYSTEM CHECK FAILED ****************"
echo "* *"
echo "* Please repair manually and reboot. Note that the root *"
echo "* file system is currently mounted read-only. To remount *"
echo "* it read-write type: mount -n -o remount,rw / *"
echo "* When you exit the maintenance shell the system will *"
echo "* reboot automatically. *"
echo "* *"
echo "************************************************************"
echo
/sbin/sulogin -p
fi
echo "Automatic reboot in progress..."
/bin/umount -a
/bin/mount -n -o remount,ro /
/sbin/reboot -f
exit 0
fi
stat_done
fi

stat_busy "Mounting Local Filesystems"
/bin/mount -n -o remount,rw /
/bin/rm -f /etc/mtab*
# make sure / gets written to /etc/mtab
/bin/mount -o remount,rw /
# Write /proc, /sys and /dev to /etc/mtab
if [ -e /proc/mounts ]; then
/bin/grep -e "/proc " -e "/sys " -e "/dev " /proc/mounts >> /etc/mtab
fi
# now mount all the local filesystems
/bin/mount -a -t $NETFS
stat_done

status "Activating Swap" /sbin/swapon -a

stat_busy "Configuring System Clock"
if [ ! -f /var/lib/hwclock/adjtime ]; then
echo "0.0 0 0.0" > /var/lib/hwclock/adjtime
fi
if [ "$TIMEZONE" != "" -a -e "/usr/share/zoneinfo/$TIMEZONE" ]; then
/bin/rm -f /etc/localtime
/bin/cp "/usr/share/zoneinfo/$TIMEZONE" /etc/localtime
fi

/sbin/hwclock $HWCLOCK_PARAMS
stat_done

if [ -f /var/run/random-seed ]; then
stat_busy "Initializing Random Seed"
/bin/cat /var/run/random-seed >/dev/urandom
stat_done
fi

stat_busy "Removing Leftover Files"
/bin/rm -f /etc/nologin &>/dev/null
/bin/rm -f /etc/shutdownpid &>/dev/null
/bin/rm -f /var/lock/* &>/dev/null
/bin/rm -rf /tmp/* /tmp/.* &>/dev/null
/bin/rm -f /forcefsck &>/dev/null
(cd /var/run && /usr/bin/find . ! -type d -exec /bin/rm -f -- {} \; )
: > /var/run/utmp
/bin/chmod 0664 /var/run/utmp
# Keep {x,k,g}dm happy with xorg
/bin/mkdir /tmp/.ICE-unix && /bin/chmod 1777 /tmp/.ICE-unix
/bin/mkdir /tmp/.X11-unix && /bin/chmod 1777 /tmp/.X11-unix
stat_done

#status "Updating Shared Library Links" /sbin/ldconfig

if [ "$HOSTNAME" != "" ]; then
status "Setting Hostname: $HOSTNAME" /bin/hostname $HOSTNAME
fi

# Set the NIS domain name, if necessary
[ -f /etc/conf.d/nisdomainname ] && . /etc/conf.d/nisdomainname
if [ "$NISDOMAINNAME" != "" ]; then
status "Setting NIS Domain Name: $NISDOMAINNAME" /bin/nisdomainname $NISDOMAINNAME
fi

status "Updating Module Dependencies" /sbin/depmod -A

# Flush old locale settings
: >/etc/profile.d/locale.sh
/bin/chmod 755 /etc/profile.d/locale.sh
# Set user defined locale
[ -z "$LOCALE" ] && LOCALE="en_US"
stat_busy "Setting Locale: $LOCALE"
echo "export LANG=$LOCALE" >>/etc/profile.d/locale.sh
stat_done

if echo "$LOCALE" | /bin/grep -qi utf ; then
stat_busy "Setting Consoles to UTF-8 mode"
# UTF-8 consoles are default since 2.6.24 kernel
# this code is needed not only for older kernels,
# but also when user has set vt.default_utf8=0 but LOCALE is *.UTF-8.
for i in $(/usr/bin/seq 0 63); do
/usr/bin/kbd_mode -u < /dev/vc/${i}
printf "\e%%G" > /dev/vc/${i}
done
# the $CONSOLE check helps us avoid this when running scripts from cron
echo 'if [ "$CONSOLE" = "" -a "$TERM" = "linux" -a -t 1 ]; then printf "\e%%G"; fi' >>/etc/p$
stat_done
[ -n "$KEYMAP" ] && status "Loading Keyboard Map: $KEYMAP" /bin/loadkeys -q -u $KEYMAP
else
stat_busy "Setting Consoles to legacy mode"
# make non-UTF-8 consoles work on 2.6.24 and newer kernels
for i in $(/usr/bin/seq 0 63); do
/usr/bin/kbd_mode -a < /dev/vc/${i}
printf "\e%%@" > /dev/vc/${i}
done
# the $CONSOLE check helps us avoid this when running scripts from cron
echo 'if [ "$CONSOLE" = "" -a "$TERM" = "linux" -a -t 1 ]; then printf "\e%%@"; fi' >>/etc/p$
stat_done
[ -n "$KEYMAP" ] && status "Loading Keyboard Map: $KEYMAP" /bin/loadkeys -q $KEYMAP
fi

if [ -n "$CONSOLEFONT" ]; then
stat_busy "Loading Console Font: $CONSOLEFONT"
#CONSOLEMAP in UTF-8 shouldn't be used
if [ -n "$CONSOLEMAP" ] && echo "$LOCALE" | /bin/grep -qi utf ; then
CONSOLEMAP=""
fi
for i in $(/usr/bin/seq 0 63); do
if [ -n "$CONSOLEMAP" ]; then
/usr/bin/setfont -m $CONSOLEMAP $CONSOLEFONT -C /dev/vc/${i} >/dev/null 2>&1
else
/usr/bin/setfont $CONSOLEFONT -C /dev/vc/${i} >/dev/null 2>&1
fi
done
if [ $? -ne 0 ]; then
stat_fail
else
for i in $(/usr/bin/seq 0 63); do
printf "\e(K" > /dev/vc/${i}
done
# the $CONSOLE check helps us avoid this when running scripts from cron
echo 'if [ "$CONSOLE" = "" -a "$TERM" = "linux" -a -t 1 ]; then printf "\e(K"; fi' >$
stat_done
fi
fi

# Adding persistent network/cdrom generated rules
if [ -f "/dev/.udev/tmp-rules--70-persistent-cd.rules" ]; then
stat_busy "Adding persistent cdrom udev rules"
/bin/cat /dev/.udev/tmp-rules--70-persistent-cd.rules >> /etc/udev/rules.d/70-persistent-cd.$
stat_done
fi
if [ -f "/dev/.udev/tmp-rules--70-persistent-net.rules" ]; then
stat_busy "Adding persistent network udev rules"
/bin/cat /dev/.udev/tmp-rules--70-persistent-net.rules >> /etc/udev/rules.d/70-persistent-ne$
stat_done
fi

# Save our dmesg output from this boot
if [ -f /var/log/dmesg.log ]; then
/bin/rm /var/log/dmesg.log
fi
/bin/dmesg > /var/log/dmesg.log

# End of file
# vim: set ts=2 noet:



/usr/LH/bin/load-modules-mythvantage.sh

Quote:
#!/bin/bash
#/usr/bin/load-modules-mythvantage.sh UNLOAD LCD
export TERM=linux
. /etc/rc.conf
. /etc/rc.d/functions
. /etc/systemconfig
case $1 in
UNLOAD|unload )
MODULELIST=`grep /etc/modules.mythvantage $2`
for i in $MODULELIST
do
/sbin/rmmod $i
done

;;

*) printhl " Loading MythVantage-modules"
#try to load the cx88 modules
if [ ! x$SystemType = xFrontend_only ]
#try to load the cx88 modules
if [ ! x$SystemType = xFrontend_only ]
then
/sbin/modprobe cx88-dvb 2>/dev/null
fi

if [ -f /etc/modules.mythvantage ]
then
while read line
do
module=`echo $line |cut -d# -f1`
#this doesn't do anything on boot cause ttySX does not yet exis$
if [ x$module = xlirc_serial ]
then
if [ x$ReceiverType = xSerial ]
then
case $ReceiverSerialport in
ttyS0) FLAGS="io=0x3f8 irq=4";;
ttyS1) FLAGS="io=0x2f8 irq=3" ;;
ttyS2) FLAGS="io=0x3e8 irq=4" ;;
ttyS3) FLAGS="io=0x2f8 irq=3" ;;
esac
/usr/bin/setserial /dev/$ReceiverSerialport uart none 2$
/sbin/modprobe lirc_serial $FLAGS 2>/dev/null
fi
fi
/sbin/modprobe $module 2> /dev/null
done < /etc/modules.mythvantage
fi
esac



Pls advise on how it goes..... thanks...


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Apr 19, 2009 9:23 am 
Offline
Joined: Sun Sep 25, 2005 3:50 pm
Posts: 1013
Location: Los Angeles
bzImage,

Please flyspray your findings.

_________________
Mike
My Hardware Profile


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Apr 19, 2009 8:56 pm 
Offline
Joined: Wed Feb 01, 2006 8:31 pm
Posts: 45
Done..

Here it is

http://linhes.org/flyspray/index.php?do ... ask_id=328

Hope it solves someone else problems.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun May 03, 2009 4:39 pm 
Offline
Joined: Mon Mar 21, 2005 1:43 pm
Posts: 388
Location: Nanaimo BC
I am using the latest R6.0.7 updated today.

Ir blaster will only work if I go into the services menu set the com port for ttys1 let it reconfigure then go back in and put it back to ttys0.

I looked @ the flyspray ticket but not sure what changes I still need to make.

I moved mythvantage in down in the sysinit

but my mythvantage file appears to be different than yours

Code:
 #this doesn't do anything on boot cause ttySX does not yet exis$
                if [ x$module = xlirc_serial ]
                then
                    if [ x$ReceiverType = xSerial ]
                    then
                        case $ReceiverSerialport in
                            ttyS0) FLAGS="io=0x3f8  irq=4";;
                            ttyS1) FLAGS="io=0x2f8  irq=3" ;;
                            ttyS2) FLAGS="io=0x3e8  irq=4" ;;
                            ttyS3) FLAGS="io=0x2f8  irq=3" ;;
                        esac
                        /usr/bin/setserial /dev/$ReceiverSerialport uart none 2$
                         if [ $? = 0 ]
                         then
                              /sbin/modprobe lirc_serial $FLAGS 2>/dev/nulla
                         fi
                    elif [ x$HostBlasterType = xSerial ]
                    then
                         case $HostSerialPort_blasterlirc in
                               ttyS0) FLAGS="io=0x3f8  irq=4";;
                               ttyS1) FLAGS="io=0x2f8  irq=3" ;;
                               ttyS2) FLAGS="io=0x3e8  irq=4" ;;
                               ttyS3) FLAGS="io=0x2f8  irq=3" ;;
                         esac
                         /usr/bin/setserial /dev/$HostSerialPort_blasterlirc ua$
                         if [ $? = 0 ]
                         then
                              /sbin/modprobe lirc_serial $FLAGS 2>/dev/nulla
                         fi


systemconfig

Code:
#IR settings
Remotetype="ATI_Remote_Wonder"
ReceiverType="Default"
HostLircWait="0"
ReceiverSerialport="ttyS0"
HostTransmitproto_1="motorola_dct2524"
HostTransmitproto_2="none"
HostTransmitproto_3="none"
HostTransmitproto_4="none"
HostBlasterType="Serial"
HostSerialPort_blasterlirc="ttyS0"
Hostnumblaster="1"
rootSSH="1"


The only oddity I see is the recieverserialport

I am using a usb all in wonder remote.

Any ideas for the fix?

I will add a comment to the flyspray ticket.

Craig


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Dec 21, 2009 10:24 pm 
Offline
Joined: Sun Nov 13, 2005 1:24 pm
Posts: 11
just letting folks know that i made the changes listed in the flyspray link -- http://linhes.org/flyspray/index.php?do ... sort2=desc -- and now my hauppauge silver remote and homebrew serial irblaster works with my DCT2524 STB

:D


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Nov 20, 2010 7:49 am 
Offline
Joined: Sun Jul 24, 2005 4:16 pm
Posts: 499
Location: Ft. Worth TX
Above link broken, go here:

http://www.linhes.org/bugs/issues/328

I tried implementing the above bugfix on a newly updated R6, and still get no action.

Quote:
[root@mythbox60 bin]# sh change_chan.sh 122
irsend: command failed: SEND_ONCE dish 1
irsend: hardware does not support sending
irsend: command failed: SEND_ONCE dish 2
irsend: hardware does not support sending
irsend: command failed: SEND_ONCE dish 2
irsend: hardware does not support sending


Any other work on fixing this going on ?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Nov 20, 2010 2:02 pm 
Offline
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2005 1:25 pm
Posts: 8
Location: Murfreesboro, TN
I had trouble with a serial irblaster and R6.03 as well. I managed to get it working, though, with help from this site:
http://www.eggshellskull.com/lirc/blaster/index.php

In my case, the only way to get it to work is to issue the modprobe and lircd commands for the lirc_serial device (see step number 6 in the website I linked to above).

Now if I could figure out a way to make it run those commands at every startup, instead of having to log in and type them into a teminal every time it starts up. At least I don't have to shut it down very often.

_________________
KnoppMyth R6.03 | AMD Athlon64 X2 2.0GHz | 2048 MB RAM | MSI nVidia 6200 TC | Hauppauge WinTV PVR-350 | HDHomeRun | HDA = 40 GB PATA | HDB = Lite-On DVD +/-RW/DL | HDC = 500GB SATA


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Nov 20, 2010 7:10 pm 
Offline
Joined: Sun Jul 24, 2005 4:16 pm
Posts: 499
Location: Ft. Worth TX
Thanks for the tip, STR003,

I'll take a shot at it...

Only other option is to put the (semi-retired) slower 5.5 Mythbox back in service for satellite downloading..

I'd hate to have to run two machines, the fast 6.03 machine is great for HD and I hoped to include SD satellite on a PVR250, with a blaster on it... but the blaster's been a no-go, despire a buncha hours put into trying to make a go of it.... :lol:


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Nov 21, 2010 5:07 pm 
Offline
Joined: Wed Jan 04, 2006 10:20 am
Posts: 365
Location: South New Jersey, USA
@Snap,
I had a bunch of hours into getting my serial IR blaster working but finally got there on R6. The eggshellskull site was very helpful.
What do the following commands reveal

dmesg | grep lirc

ls -l /dev/lirc*

and

ls -l /dev/irb*

_________________
LINHES 8.3 BE/FE - MSI K9N6SGM-V with AMD A64 X2 4600+, 1GB Ram. 1.5TB WD. HDHR Prime & PVR150. Nvidia GT210. Silver remote.
FrontEnd - Dell Vostro 400 3.0GHz Core2Duo NVidia GeForce210. MCE Remote


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Nov 21, 2010 8:26 pm 
Offline
Joined: Sun Jul 24, 2005 4:16 pm
Posts: 499
Location: Ft. Worth TX
Quote:
[root@mythbox60 greg]# dmesg | grep lirc
lirc_dev: IR Remote Control driver registered, major 61
lirc_streamzap[-1]: Streamzap, Inc. Streamzap Remote Control on usb2:2 attached
lirc_dev: lirc_register_plugin: sample_rate: 0
usbcore: registered new interface driver lirc_streamzap
lirc_streamzap $Revision: 1.29 $ registered

[root@mythbox60 greg]# ls -l /dev/lirc*
lrwxrwxrwx 1 root root 5 2010-11-21 11:02 /dev/lirc -> lirc0
crw-rw---- 1 root root 61, 0 2010-11-21 11:02 /dev/lirc0

[root@mythbox60 greg]# ls -l /dev/irb*
ls: cannot access /dev/irb*: No such file or directory
[root@mythbox60 greg]#


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Nov 22, 2010 9:21 pm 
Offline
Joined: Wed Jan 04, 2006 10:20 am
Posts: 365
Location: South New Jersey, USA
Hmm nothing at all in the dmesg.

What happens if you type
Code:
modprobe lirc_serial


BTW, do you have serial blaster selected in the linhes service menu?

_________________
LINHES 8.3 BE/FE - MSI K9N6SGM-V with AMD A64 X2 4600+, 1GB Ram. 1.5TB WD. HDHR Prime & PVR150. Nvidia GT210. Silver remote.
FrontEnd - Dell Vostro 400 3.0GHz Core2Duo NVidia GeForce210. MCE Remote


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Nov 23, 2010 8:49 am 
Offline
Joined: Sun Jul 24, 2005 4:16 pm
Posts: 499
Location: Ft. Worth TX
Big boy stan wrote:
Hmm nothing at all in the dmesg.

What happens if you type
Code:
modprobe lirc_serial


Code:
[root@mythbox60 greg]# modprobe lirc_serial
FATAL: Error inserting lirc_serial (/lib/modules/2.6.28-LinHES/kernel/drivers/misc/lirc_serial.ko): Device or resource busy


BTW, do you have serial blaster selected in the linhes service menu?

Yeah, & ttys0 (but tried 2,3 &4)
I made so many runs through 'remotes' setup that the remote (streamzap) quit working and changeover to Hauppauge silver didn't work either.

Tried a restore from last point working .. also no joy on remotes or blaster
I'm considering a reload 'upgrade' from the CD with a pacman upgrade after that... I think the current lirc code is fungoed somewhere & I'm gonna chase in circles without finding it.

Edit: story continues successfully here:

http://knoppmyth.net/phpBB2/viewtopic.p ... ht=blaster


Top
 Profile  
 

Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 28 posts ] 
Go to page Previous  1, 2



All times are UTC - 6 hours




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

Theme Created By ceyhansuyu