View unanswered posts    View active topics

All times are UTC - 6 hours





Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 
Print view Previous topic   Next topic  
Author Message
Search for:
PostPosted: Tue Oct 27, 2009 10:21 pm 
Offline
Joined: Wed Jun 10, 2009 8:39 pm
Posts: 118
I have my htpc connected to an lcd tv thru hdmi. If I turn on the tv first, select source hdmi and then switch on the computer all is well. However if I forget to do it in that order, or I need to reboot, then the htpc fails to output a hdmi signal and so nothing appears on the tv.

Is there a way to force my htpc to output hdmi so that it does not matter if I (or more likely my spouse) forget to turn the tv on first?

Tks.

_________________
* Asus M3N78-EM, AMD 5050e, Nvidia 8300 IGP, QNAP TS-439 Pro II, Linhes 7.4


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Oct 29, 2009 8:00 am 
Offline
Joined: Thu Mar 02, 2006 5:42 pm
Posts: 410
Location: middleton wi usa atsc
What you need to do is customize your xorg.conf to specify your connection explicitly with something like this in the Monitor or Device Section
Code:
    Option "ConnectedMonitor" "DFP"
This example will use the DVI output.

You will also need to specify a mode line for your TV in the Monitor Section, and then reference that mode line by name in the Display Subsection of the Screen Section.

And because your TV is not connected when you start X, you need to disable Validation by adding a ModeValidation line to the end of the device section
Code:
     Option "ModeValidation" "NoHorizSyncCheck, NoVertRefreshCheck, NoDFPNativeResolutionCheck"


I'll include my xorg.conf for reference, but I have a custom mode line for my TV and a much longer ModeValidation line because I am overclocking my Nvidia FX5200 so it can do 1080p.
Code:
# nvidia-xconfig: X configuration file generated by nvidia-xconfig
# nvidia-xconfig:  version 1.0  (buildmeister@builder3)  Tue Aug  1 21:11:12 PDT 2006
Section "ServerFlags"
        Option "AutoAddDevices" "False"
EndSection

Section "ServerLayout"
    Identifier     "Layout0"
    Screen      0  "Screen0"
    InputDevice    "Keyboard0" "CoreKeyboard"
    InputDevice    "Mouse0" "CorePointer"
EndSection

Section "Files"
#    RgbPath         "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/rgb"
EndSection

Section "Module"
    Load           "dbe"
    Load           "extmod"
#    Load           "type1"
    Load           "freetype"
    Load           "glx"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
    # generated from default
    Identifier     "Mouse0"
    Driver         "mouse"
    Option         "Protocol" "auto"
    Option         "Device" "/dev/psaux"
    Option         "Emulate3Buttons" "no"
    Option         "ZAxisMapping" "4 5"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
    # generated from default
    Identifier     "Keyboard0"
    Driver         "keyboard"
EndSection



Section "Monitor"
   Identifier   "Monitor0"
   Option   "DPMS"   "true"
   Option "UseEdidDpi" "FALSE"
   Option "DPI" "100 x 100"
       Option  "ConnectedMonitor" "DFP"
   HorizSync 30 - 81 # DDC-probed
   VertRefresh 56 - 76 # DDC-probed
   ModeLine "ATSC_1080_59.94p2" 148.352 1920 2000 2056 2200 1080 1084 1088 1125
EndSection

Section "Device"
   ### Available Driver options are:-
# sw_cursor is needed for some ati and radeon cards
        #Option     "sw_cursor"
        #Option     "hw_cursor"
        #Option     "NoAccel"
        #Option     "ShowCache"
        #Option     "ShadowFB"
        #Option     "UseFBDev"
        #Option     "Rotate"
   Identifier  "Card0"
# The following line is auto-generated by KNOPPIX mkxf86config
   Driver      "nvidia"
   Option "XvmcUsesTextures" "false"
   Option "UseEvents" "true"
   VendorName  "All"
   BoardName   "All"
#   Option "NVAGP" "1"
#   BusID       "PCI:1:0:0"
   Option "ExactModeTimingsDVI" "true"
   Option "ModeValidation" "AllowNon60HzDFPModes, NoMaxPClkCheck, NoEdidMaxPClkCheck, NoMaxSizeCheck, NoHorizSyncCheck, NoVertRefreshCheck, NoWidthAlignmentCheck, NoDFPNativeResolutionCheck, NoVirtualSizeCheck"   

EndSection

Section "Screen"
   Identifier "Screen0"
   Device     "Card0"
   Monitor    "Monitor0"
   DefaultColorDepth 24
   SubSection "Display"
      Depth     24
      Modes "ATSC_1080_59.94p2"

   EndSubSection
EndSection

#Section "DRI"
#   Mode 0666
#EndSection

#Section "Extensions"
#   Options "Composite" "Disabled"
#EndSection




Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Oct 29, 2009 9:29 am 
Offline
Joined: Thu Mar 02, 2006 5:42 pm
Posts: 410
Location: middleton wi usa atsc
Warning:
Before you start changing your xorg.conf file, make a copy of it and make sure you can ssh in to your machine remotely and or have webmin setup and working from another computer. It's very easy to mess up xorg.conf so that you will have no working monitor on your mythbox!

It is easiest to be able to get in remotely from another computer to fix it.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: hdmi blues
PostPosted: Sat Oct 31, 2009 2:49 pm 
Offline
Joined: Wed Jun 10, 2009 8:39 pm
Posts: 118
Thanks very much for your replies, but it looks way too tricky for me to do, I never would have guessed that
Quote:
Option "ConnectedMonitor" "DFP"
would output DVI, let alone what the correct code would be for hdmi.

I think I will have to put up with remembering the correct switch on order and just tell my spouse that there is no other way. :oops:

_________________
* Asus M3N78-EM, AMD 5050e, Nvidia 8300 IGP, QNAP TS-439 Pro II, Linhes 7.4


Top
 Profile  
 

Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 


All times are UTC - 6 hours




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 22 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

Theme Created By ceyhansuyu