View unanswered posts    View active topics

All times are UTC - 6 hours





Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 15 posts ] 
Print view Previous topic   Next topic  
Author Message
Search for:
PostPosted: Tue Sep 14, 2010 7:10 pm 
Offline
Joined: Mon Nov 26, 2007 9:35 am
Posts: 22
I've got basically a fresh install of 6.03, and I copied my videos over, they show and play, but I can't generate thumbnails.

At first it would buzz through generating thumbnails in a matter of seconds, but nothing was actually generated. (I've got several hundred videos, so I knew something was wrong)

I then found the following code in another post:

Code:
sed -i "s/No Cover//g" /usr/LH/bin/shootscreens.sh


I ran that, and now if I go and try to generate thumbnails through the gui, it hangs with no progress.

I am ssh'd into the machine now, and if I run the /usr/LH/bin/shootscreens.sh I get the error: "No image could be captured from Filename.avi for every file in the video directory.

Any ideas?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Oct 19, 2010 8:57 pm 
Offline
Joined: Tue Aug 15, 2006 11:14 am
Posts: 1198
Location: Orlando FL
I have never been able to figure out why I can't generate any thumbnails. I have tried many times and was searching for some options when I found your plea for help. I too need some help with this one.

_________________
My System


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Oct 20, 2010 9:34 am 
Offline
Joined: Wed Jan 04, 2006 10:20 am
Posts: 364
Location: South New Jersey, USA
Are you trying to get your own thumbnails or download cover art.

I have never got coverart to work in batch mode but I can get it updated one by one.
Pick a video. Make sure the metadata is correct and then with that video highlighted hit "W". This should download the cover art etc.

_________________
LINHES 8.3 BE/FE - MSI K9N6SGM-V with AMD A64 X2 4600+, 1GB Ram. 1.5TB WD. HDHR Prime & PVR150. Nvidia GT210. Silver remote.
FrontEnd - Dell Vostro 400 3.0GHz Core2Duo NVidia GeForce210. MCE Remote


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Oct 20, 2010 10:37 pm 
Offline
Joined: Tue Aug 15, 2006 11:14 am
Posts: 1198
Location: Orlando FL
I'm trying to do the "generate thumbnails" button. I would assume that someone has it working since it's in the distro.

_________________
My System


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Thumbnails no more
PostPosted: Sat Nov 27, 2010 2:40 pm 
Offline
Joined: Wed Jun 10, 2009 8:39 pm
Posts: 118
I have been able to generate thumbnails for a ages. Sometimes I had to run the command above, but thumbnails always appeared.

No more. Nothing I do will generate them. Methinks something has changed in R6 so that the thumbnail generator is kaput.

_________________
* Asus M3N78-EM, AMD 5050e, Nvidia 8300 IGP, QNAP TS-439 Pro II, Linhes 7.4


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: @mtotsch
PostPosted: Tue Feb 01, 2011 12:35 pm 
Offline
Joined: Tue Feb 28, 2006 12:54 pm
Posts: 124
Location: Konstanz, Germany
Hi ... long time you have written that ...

I wonder a long time ago why the scriopt does noch generate thumbs ... now I recognised that the coverfile field does NOT include anything if there is no cover / thumbs ... the code you write is that script now searches for that "no cover" entry in coverfile ... resulting in nothing to do ...

I remove that no cover leaving the \" signs at beginning and ending for searching an empty string ... NOW working great again :-)

EDIT: it only works, but thumbs are not displayed in mythweb

_________________
-------------------------------------------------
KnoppMyth R6 (release)
* ELITEGROUP 915P-A w P4 3,2 GHz 512MB
* ATI x300PCIe
* HD 200 GB SATA / DVD DL(RW)
- DVB-C / Hauppage PVR-500 (2x analog)
- ATI RemoteWonder, CHERRY /wl keyboard/mouse


Last edited by Martin1802 on Tue Feb 01, 2011 1:29 pm, edited 1 time in total.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: No covers
PostPosted: Tue Feb 01, 2011 12:52 pm 
Offline
Joined: Wed Jun 10, 2009 8:39 pm
Posts: 118
Martin1802 wrote:
I remove that no cover leaving the " signs at beginning and ending for searching an empty string ... NOW working great again :-)


Martin, thanks for your message. Could you please post the correct command?

Is it
Code:
sed -i "s/g" /usr/LH/bin/shootscreens.sh

_________________
* Asus M3N78-EM, AMD 5050e, Nvidia 8300 IGP, QNAP TS-439 Pro II, Linhes 7.4


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Feb 01, 2011 8:14 pm 
Offline
Joined: Thu Mar 25, 2004 11:00 am
Posts: 9551
Location: Arlington, MA
Edit line 30 and 32 of the file and change the SQL statements to match empty an string rather than "No Cover". I can see a lot of other things in there that could stand a haircut and a shave, but that fix should get you running.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Going undercover
PostPosted: Wed Feb 02, 2011 2:42 am 
Offline
Joined: Wed Jun 10, 2009 8:39 pm
Posts: 118
tjc wrote:
Edit line 30 and 32 of the file and change the SQL statements to match empty an string rather than "No Cover". I can see a lot of other things in there that could stand a haircut and a shave, but that fix should get you running.


Thanks for your reply. I have looked at the script. Unfortunately, I still can't work out exactly what is required. I would be very grateful if you could either change Cecil's command (as required) or set out the changes needed to the .sh.

:)

_________________
* Asus M3N78-EM, AMD 5050e, Nvidia 8300 IGP, QNAP TS-439 Pro II, Linhes 7.4


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Feb 02, 2011 12:08 pm 
Offline
Joined: Thu Mar 25, 2004 11:00 am
Posts: 9551
Location: Arlington, MA
Edit /usr/LH/bin/shootscreens.sh make lines 30-32 look like this:
Code:
    vidcount=$(mysql -u root mythconverg -sBe "select count(*) from videometadata where coverfile=''")
    increment=$(expr 100 / $vidcount)
    for vid in $(mysql -u root mythconverg -sBe "select filename from videometadata where coverfile=''")

Note that I've replaced `` (back quote expansion) with the more readable Posix form $(), made mysql generate the desired lines directly and eliminated the sed and grep post processing, and replaced the \"\" (escaped double quotes) quoting with the cleaner and more standard SQL '' (single quotes).

This will fix the out script so that it tries to process all your videos which don't already have thumbnails, but there seems to be another issue with /usr/LH/bin/screenshooter.sh which I'm looking into now.

Aha... Looks like that script is expecting a full pathname in the DB and it only has a filename. That should be easy enough to fix...

Hmm... With that problem fixed /usr/LH/bin/screenshooter.sh doesn't seem to be updating the DB. WTH...

Ah... It's trying to look the entries in the DB table by the full pathname rather than just the filename. It also looks like it should be looking for either '' or 'No Cover'. Sweet mother of vinegar... :-/


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Feb 02, 2011 2:46 pm 
Offline
Joined: Thu Mar 25, 2004 11:00 am
Posts: 9551
Location: Arlington, MA
I've got a working version of the two scripts now, but separating out a trivial patch is another matter. They still don't support storage groups (which I had to turn off because it doesn't play well with external players) and I suspect that there are a few other issues... When they get cleaned up to my satisfaction I'll post them here for folks to test.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Cover me
PostPosted: Wed Feb 02, 2011 3:54 pm 
Offline
Joined: Wed Jun 10, 2009 8:39 pm
Posts: 118
tjc wrote:
I've got a working version of the two scripts now, but separating out a trivial patch is another matter. They still don't support storage groups (which I had to turn off because it doesn't play well with external players) and I suspect that there are a few other issues... When they get cleaned up to my satisfaction I'll post them here for folks to test.


Many thanks for your efforts tjc. It is some relief to know that it wasn't just my blundering that prevented the thumbnails from being generated. I look forward to your results. :)

_________________
* Asus M3N78-EM, AMD 5050e, Nvidia 8300 IGP, QNAP TS-439 Pro II, Linhes 7.4


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Feb 02, 2011 10:22 pm 
Offline
Joined: Tue Aug 15, 2006 11:14 am
Posts: 1198
Location: Orlando FL
Thank you TJC your hard work is appreciated. (BTW you are talking on a much higher level than I can bearly understand! =-)

_________________
My System


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Thumbnail drama
PostPosted: Sat Mar 12, 2011 9:43 pm 
Offline
Joined: Wed Jun 10, 2009 8:39 pm
Posts: 118
tjc wrote:
I've got a working version of the two scripts now, but separating out a trivial patch is another matter. They still don't support storage groups (which I had to turn off because it doesn't play well with external players) and I suspect that there are a few other issues... When they get cleaned up to my satisfaction I'll post them here for folks to test.


tjc, did you manage to solve the problem of no thumbnails?

_________________
* Asus M3N78-EM, AMD 5050e, Nvidia 8300 IGP, QNAP TS-439 Pro II, Linhes 7.4


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Mar 13, 2011 12:34 am 
Offline
Joined: Thu Mar 25, 2004 11:00 am
Posts: 9551
Location: Arlington, MA
Locally, but not to publishable state, and then my usual "10 pounds in a 5 pound sack" schedule kicked back in. :-(


Top
 Profile  
 

Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 15 posts ] 


All times are UTC - 6 hours




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

Theme Created By ceyhansuyu