View unanswered posts    View active topics

All times are UTC - 6 hours





Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 105 posts ] 
Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5 ... 7  Next

Print view Previous topic   Next topic  
Author Message
Search for:
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Sep 19, 2005 4:58 am 
Yeah, I noticed the newer version of mplayer did not accept at first as well but I didn't remove the default mplayer package on my system. I just temporarily disabled the mplayer and mencoder binaries in /usr/bin by making symbolic links to the updated versions. Its a kludge but provides a retreat in case the new compiles did not work properly. Since they are working nicely I think I will remove the default knoppmyth mplayer packages.

Andrew Lynch


Top
  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Sep 19, 2005 5:02 pm 
Offline
Joined: Wed Dec 10, 2003 8:31 pm
Posts: 1996
Location: /dev/null
cesman wrote:
For those that have followed your directions, just dpkg -r mplayer...


Had to remove the fonts first but it worked fine after that... updating the guide to reflect your suggestion, cesman.

Code:
mythtv@mythtv:~$ mplayer -version
MPlayer 1.0pre7-3.3.5 (C) 2000-2005 MPlayer Team
CPU: Advanced Micro Devices Athlon 4 /Athlon MP/XP Palomino (Family: 6, Stepping: 2)
Detected cache-line size is 64 bytes
CPUflags:  MMX: 1 MMX2: 1 3DNow: 1 3DNow2: 1 SSE: 1 SSE2: 0
Compiled for x86 CPU with extensions: MMX MMX2 3DNow 3DNowEx SSE

_________________
Retired KM user (R4 - R6.04); friend to LH users.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Sep 22, 2005 10:27 am 
Offline
Joined: Mon Sep 12, 2005 1:28 pm
Posts: 14
Location: Mason, OH
I followed the directions earlier in this thread but the output from
Code:
 mplayer -version

results in exactly what graysky reported a couple of notes back. When I use this
Code:
/usr/local/bin/mplayer -version
I get:
Code:
MPlayer 1.0pre7try2-3.3.5 (C) 2000-2005 MPlayer Team
CPU: Advanced Micro Devices Athlon 4 /Athlon MP/XP Palomino (Family: 6, Stepping: 2)
Detected cache-line size is 64 bytes
CPUflags:  MMX: 1 MMX2: 1 3DNow: 1 3DNow2: 1 SSE: 1 SSE2: 0
Compiled for x86 CPU with extensions: MMX MMX2 3DNow 3DNowEx SSE

The comand: "which mplayer" shows that it is coming from /usr/bin/mplayer
Since I'm a bit new to the wonders of the way command line instructions interact, am I correct is assuming that:
Code:
dpkg-r mplayer
will remove the mplayer software from /usr/bin/mplayer?
If so, do I need to modify a parameter in MythTV to tell it where to start player from?

Now for my problem, since following the original instructions, I can play all my mpg2 and divx files on the mythtv box (very cool) but as soon as they start, the video lags behind the audio in ever increasing amounts. After a few moments, the audio is 7-12 seconds ahead of the video. I should mention that I have a pvr350 card and the videos being played were originally captured on a windows box with the same card. Will this solution fix that or is there some other tweak I need to perform.

Thanks so much for the wealth of information provided in the forum, I would never be able to do this on my own.





cesman wrote:
Code:
/usr/local/bin/mplayer -version

Code:
dpkg-r mplayer
Then install per your directions. For those that have followed your directions, just dpkg -r mplayer...


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Sep 22, 2005 11:20 am 
Offline
Joined: Fri Sep 19, 2003 7:05 pm
Posts: 5088
Location: Fontana, Ca
Yes, if you change the location of MPlayer you have to tell MythTV the location. Or you can create a symlink. I'd suggest reading the MPlayer docs to see what it states about a/v sync. I don't think simply upgrading MPlayer will fix sync issues.

_________________
cesman

When the source is open, the possibilities are endless!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: default path
PostPosted: Thu Oct 20, 2005 8:34 am 
Offline
Joined: Sun Jul 24, 2005 4:15 pm
Posts: 170
Slightly confused...

Can anyone confirm Luthairs comments about changing the installation path?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: cheers
PostPosted: Sun Oct 23, 2005 6:59 am 
Offline
Joined: Sun Jul 24, 2005 4:15 pm
Posts: 170
May I suggest that you add the following as the last step:

Change the path in Utilities/Setup, Setup, Media Settings, Video Settings, Player Settings from:

usr/bin.... to
usr/local/bin

...Otherwise nothing will play

Having upgraded Mplayer I now have a/v sync problems which only occurs when seeking. The upgrade might have also messed up my remote control configuration.

---R5A22

(smiley face)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: cheers
PostPosted: Fri Nov 11, 2005 1:27 pm 
Offline
Joined: Fri Nov 11, 2005 1:16 pm
Posts: 1
parkinpants wrote:
May I suggest that you add the following as the last step:

Change the path in Utilities/Setup, Setup, Media Settings, Video Settings, Player Settings from:

usr/bin.... to
usr/local/bin

Using
Code:
./configure --prefix=/usr
rectified this issue for me without making any changes in myth.

parkinpants wrote:
The upgrade might have also messed up my remote control configuration.


Broke mine as well. It seems mplayer isn't compling with lirc support. I recieve this error when making;
Code:
_SOURCE -D_FILE_OFFSET_BITS=64  -I. -I..  -o lirc.o lirc.c
lirc.c:6:30: lirc/lirc_client.h: No such file or directory
make[1]: *** [lirc.o] Error 1

mplayer_build/lirc/ in fact doesn't exist.
Anyone have any ideas?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Nov 11, 2005 3:02 pm 
Offline
Joined: Fri Sep 09, 2005 8:07 pm
Posts: 61
./configure returns permission denied. I'm logged in as Root.... What's up with that?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Nov 11, 2005 10:38 pm 
Offline
Joined: Thu Mar 25, 2004 11:00 am
Posts: 9551
Location: Arlington, MA
oxalic wrote:
./configure returns permission denied. I'm logged in as Root.... What's up with that?

Even root can't execute something if it's not marked executable...


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Nov 13, 2005 10:22 am 
Offline
Joined: Fri Sep 09, 2005 8:07 pm
Posts: 61
how do i mark it an executable? All i remember is something with chmod and some number. Havent used linux for awhile :(.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Nov 13, 2005 10:45 am 
Offline
Joined: Mon Oct 06, 2003 10:38 am
Posts: 4978
Location: Nashville, TN
chmod +x will mark it executalble by everyone.

_________________
Have a question search the forum and have a look at the KnoppMythWiki.

Xsecrets


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Nov 13, 2005 10:50 am 
Offline
Joined: Thu Mar 25, 2004 11:00 am
Posts: 9551
Location: Arlington, MA
First make sure it's supposed to be an executable script. You really don't want to be executing a data file! That could get UGLY. If it really is a bash script you can either explicitly invoke bash with the name of the script like this:
Code:
bash MY_SCRIPT_NAME

Or you can mark it executableand run it like this:
Code:
chmod +x MY_SCRIPT_NAME
MY_SCRIPT_NAME

These days it is STRONGLY recommended that you use the mnemonic logical categories (ugo) and permissions (rwx) with chmod rather than the raw numerics. This makes it easier to get the permissions you really want and avoids the urge to do something stupid like setting ALL the permissions bits because you can't be bothered to remember what the octal codes stand for. For more information on a command like chmod you can always refer to the online manual pages.
Code:
man chmod


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Nov 17, 2005 8:16 pm 
Offline
Joined: Fri Nov 04, 2005 7:11 am
Posts: 61
When installing mplayer, instead of

Code:
make install


you could do

Code:
checkinstall


Which will make a .deb file and install with dpkg. The advantage is that you can just as easily remove the package with

Code:
dpkg -r  mplayer-1.0pre7try2

_________________
BE: R8.4, HVR2250, MCE media center remote, GigaByte GA-EP43-UD3L, 2gb ram

FE: Linhes 8.4, Mythbuntu, Linux Mint DE


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Mar 01, 2006 4:24 pm 
Offline
Joined: Sat Jan 28, 2006 11:29 am
Posts: 83
I've just read through this 'tutorial' a few times and was a bit confused by the diff paths to knoppmyth's current ones that are used and follow up posts with new info. I have colated WHAT I've interpreted from all the posts and set the paths & configure lines in a way so it should maintain the current knoppmyth config. I did wonder if there would be any issues doing all the steps as root, though noticed prev version of mplayer/fonts etc were set as root so figured it must be OK? - Anyway it all installed OK and appears to work fine.

first I download the following files to /usr/src/ (current as of today)
Code:
# cd /usr/src
# wget http://ftp5.mplayerhq.hu/mplayer/releases/MPlayer-1.0pre7try2.tar.bz2
# wget http://ftp5.mplayerhq.hu/mplayer/releases/codecs/essential-20050412.tar.bz2
# wget http://ftp5.mplayerhq.hu/mplayer/releases/fonts/font-arial-iso-8859-1.tar.bz2
# wget http://downloads.xvid.org/downloads/xvidcore-1.1.0.tar.bz2

tar them
Code:
# cd /usr/src
# tar -xjf MPlayer-1.0pre7try2.tar.bz2
# tar -xjf essential-20050412.tar.bz2
# tar -xjf font-arial-iso-8859-1.tar.bz2
# tar -xjf xvidcore-1.1.0.tar.bz2

remove current mplayer
Code:
# dpkg -r mplayer-fonts
# dpkg -r mplayer

copy fonts & codecs in
Code:
# mkdir /usr/lib/codecs
# cp -r /usr/src/essential-20050412/* /usr/lib/codecs/
# cp -r /usr/src/font-arial-iso-8859-1/* /usr/share/mplayer/font/

install latest xvid
Code:
# cd /usr/src/xvidcore-1.1.0/build/generic
# ./configure --prefix=/usr
# make
# make install

install latest mplayer
Code:
# cd /usr/src/MPlayer-1.0pre7try2
# ./configure --prefix=/usr
# make
# make install

check new version installed ok (MPlayer 1.0pre7try2-3.3.5)
Code:
# mplayer -version

check if codecs installed properly
Code:
mplayer -vc help

DONE...


I also tried (checkinstall), created a package but it wouldnt install so was abandoned
Code:
# cd /usr/src/xvidcore-1.1.0/build/generic
# ./configure --prefix=/usr
# make
# checkinstall


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Mar 23, 2006 3:06 pm 
Offline
Joined: Tue Oct 25, 2005 1:22 pm
Posts: 108
Location: USA, New Hampshire
Code:
Linux RTC init error in ioctl (rtc_irqp_set 1024): Permission denied
Try adding "echo 1024 > /proc/sys/dev/rtc/max-user-freq" to your system startup scripts.
Setting up LIRC support...
Playing /myth/video/short/Racing Videos/867s_165.wmv.
ASF file format detected.
VIDEO:  [WMV1]  320x240  24bpp  1000.000 fps    0.0 kbps ( 0.0 kbyte/s)
Clip info:
 name: Steve's LX
 author: www.turbomustangs.com
 copyright: Trentk
 comments:
==========================================================================
Opening audio decoder: [ffmpeg] FFmpeg/libavcodec audio decoders
AUDIO: 44100 Hz, 2 ch, s16le, 64.0 kbit/4.54% (ratio: 8005->176400)
Selected audio codec: [ffwmav2] afm:ffmpeg (DivX audio v2 (FFmpeg))
==========================================================================
vo: couldn't open the X11 display ()!
vo: couldn't open the X11 display ()!
VO XOverlay need a subdriver
Opening video decoder: [ffmpeg] FFmpeg's libavcodec codec family
Selected video codec: [ffwmv1] vfm:ffmpeg (FFmpeg M$ WMV1/WMV7)
==========================================================================
Checking audio filter chain for 44100Hz/2ch/s16le -> 44100Hz/2ch/s16le...
AF_pre: 44100Hz/2ch/s16le
AO: [oss] 44100Hz 2ch s16le (2 bps)
Building audio filter chain for 44100Hz/2ch/s16le -> 44100Hz/2ch/s16le...
Starting playback...
VDec: vo config request - 320 x 240 (preferred csp: Planar YV12)
Could not find matching colorspace - retrying with -vf scale...
Opening video filter: [scale]
VDec: using Planar YV12 as output csp (no 0)
Movie-Aspect is undefined - no prescaling applied.
SwScaler: using unscaled Planar YV12 -> BGR 16-bit special converter
VO: [fbdev] 320x240 => 320x240 BGR 16-bit
New_Face failed. Maybe the font path is wrong.
Please supply the text font file (~/.mplayer/subfont.ttf).
subtitle font: load_sub_face failed.


anyone knowhow to fix this? I used the directions in the first post but they would not install correctly. So I then used the post right above mine, now I am where I am now. Any suggestions?

SOLVED::
you have to specify the -vo -x11 in myth to play the files correctly with x11 drivers. Default I believe is xv driver support.

Thanks

_________________
Once you go HDTV, you'll never come back!


Top
 Profile  
 

Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 105 posts ] 
Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5 ... 7  Next



All times are UTC - 6 hours




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 66 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

Theme Created By ceyhansuyu