View unanswered posts    View active topics

All times are UTC - 6 hours





Post new topic This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 26 posts ] 
Go to page 1, 2  Next

Print view Previous topic   Next topic  
Author Message
Search for:
PostPosted: Tue Jan 13, 2004 1:31 am 
Offline
Joined: Fri Sep 19, 2003 7:05 pm
Posts: 5088
Location: Fontana, Ca
BEFORE you begin backup.
Get the source(s) from mythtv.org. Don't forget the patch for 0.13.
$cd /path/to/source
$cp /usr/share/mythtv/mysql.txt programs/mythfrontend/
su
#/etc/init.d/mythtv-backend stop
#dpkg -r mythtv<tab> mythd<tab> mythgall<tab> mythgam<tab>....(you get the idea remove all the 0.12 packages).
#exit
$export QTDIR=/usr/share/qt3
$export PATH=$PATH:$QTDIR/bin
$tar xvjf mytht<tab>
$mv /path/to/sourcer/tv<tab> .
$patch -p0 < tv<tab>
$vi settings.pro
change /usr/local to /usr
change pentiumpro to i586 if you have an i586 class CPU, if not you can let it be. If you want native LIRC, XvMC, etc. this is the place to uncomment...
write and quit
$./configure
$qmake mythtv.pro
$make
Open another tty <ctrl><alt><f2>, I'll assume you are working in the first tty. Log in as root.
#export QTDIR=/usr/share/qt3
#export PATH=$PATH:$QTDIR/bin
#cd /path/to/source/mytht<tab>
#make install
#cp setup/setup /usr/local/bin/mythtv-setup
<ctrl><alt><f1>
cd ..
tar xvjf mythd<tab>
cd mythd<tab>
vi settings.pro in the same manner as above
./configure --enable-all
qmake mythdvd.pro
make
<ctrl><alt><f2>
cd ../mythd<tab>
make install
<ctrl><alt><f1>
cd ..
The only other package that you have to ./configure is mythvideo. You can install all packages in the same manner. The only package you cannot install is MythBrowser. All package but MythNews have a flag for CPU type. Don't forget to change /usr/local to /usr in all settings.pro. If you use Motion, you'll need to modify mainmenu.xml in /usr/share/mythtv to place it back in the menu. You can see the original that was used in R4, it is mainmenu.xml.kmr4. The same goes if you use "MPEG4 Disc".

For mythweb:
$cd /var/www
$tar xvjf /path/to/source/mythweb<tab>
$cd ~/.mythtv
$ls -al
Ensure all files are owned by mythtv.mythtv. Once you've installed all you want to...
<ctrl><alt><f7>
Open an xterm
$mythtv-setup
Ensure all you settings are correct...
<ctrl><alt><f2>
#/etc/init.d/mythtv-backend start
Check the log for errors
#more /var/log/mythtv/mythtv-backend.log
<ctrl><alt><f7>
Start the frontend.


[/i]

_________________
cesman

When the source is open, the possibilities are endless!


Last edited by cesman on Thu Jan 15, 2004 12:29 pm, edited 1 time in total.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jan 13, 2004 6:34 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
Joined: Fri Oct 31, 2003 11:40 pm
Posts: 357
Location: Irvine, Ca
Wouldn't it have been just as easy to create a script to do this so anyone could just run your script? I know that would have been _much_ more work as it would have been required to test it a few times, but it would have been 'more user friendly' after all.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jan 13, 2004 11:38 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
Joined: Fri Sep 19, 2003 6:37 pm
Posts: 2659
Location: Whittier, Ca
:D


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Jan 15, 2004 11:21 am 
Offline
Joined: Tue Nov 25, 2003 9:19 am
Posts: 104
Location: Rapid City, SD
cesman wrote:
BEFORE you bring backup.


Do you mean before you reboot the machine after installing? I was thinking about trying to upgrade to 0.13 using your guide. For the most part my MythTV machine works well, when left alone it is very stable recording program after program. The problem I am having is when I go to watch certain recordings mythfrontend crashes and I have to restart it. Trying to watch the same recording again ends in the same result. King of Queens seems to always work and MacGyver seems to always crash. So I pull it over to the windows machine and it plays well, I am really impressed with the quality I am getting from the 350. I do have the recording settings cranked up because I tend to favor quality or quantity. I have a PVR-350 in the machine but I am using the TV Out on my GeForce card because I never did get the TV Out of the 350 working completely right. I was hoping an upgrade might fix the crashing when trying to watch a recording and then maybe I would give the 350 TV out another shot.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jan 15, 2004 11:53 am 
Offline
Joined: Mon Oct 06, 2003 10:38 am
Posts: 4978
Location: Nashville, TN
If you are using xvmc ie. the install-i686-lx script then upgrading will fix the crashing well you would have to modify your settings.pro file to include xvmc support. The problem is that xvmc support in 0.12 if very buggy. If you just use the install-i686-l script without the xvmc support your frontend crashes should go away too.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jan 15, 2004 12:09 pm 
Offline
Joined: Tue Nov 25, 2003 9:19 am
Posts: 104
Location: Rapid City, SD
Yeah I have read that the xvmc support was pretty buggy in this version. I may just try the install-i686-l script and see if it helps the crashing. I have friends coming over to check my MythTV machine out this weekend and I am worried that I will try to upgrade and everything will be hosed up. Then Sunday I will try to upgrade and see what happens, I need to learn more about compiling/upgrading using Linux. I have been spoiled by the FreeBSD ports.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jan 15, 2004 8:46 pm 
Offline
Joined: Tue Nov 25, 2003 9:19 am
Posts: 104
Location: Rapid City, SD
Where is this patch he is talking about located?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jan 15, 2004 9:13 pm 
Offline
Joined: Fri Sep 19, 2003 7:05 pm
Posts: 5088
Location: Fontana, Ca
http://www.mythtv.org/mc/tvformat.fix.0.13.diff

_________________
cesman

When the source is open, the possibilities are endless!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jan 15, 2004 10:26 pm 
Offline
Joined: Mon Oct 06, 2003 10:38 am
Posts: 4978
Location: Nashville, TN
ok what does the patch do? I haven't heard of a patch to 0.13.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jan 15, 2004 11:27 pm 
Offline
Joined: Fri Sep 19, 2003 7:05 pm
Posts: 5088
Location: Fontana, Ca
Quote:
Looks like one minor bug in the 0.13 release so far: On some machines (not all), the automatic database upgrade failed to insert the defaults for one of the new columns that was added. This causes recordings to be in PAL format for analog bttv cards -- bad colors, large portions of the screen green, etc.
The patch fixes this problem...

_________________
cesman

When the source is open, the possibilities are endless!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jan 16, 2004 12:07 pm 
Offline
Joined: Tue Nov 25, 2003 9:19 am
Posts: 104
Location: Rapid City, SD
Well I just wanted to say thanks to everyone for their help, I upgraded to 0.13 using this guide last night and everything went well. The frontend does not crash anymore when trying to watch certain recordings. Overall I am happy with the upgrade. I do notice on some MythTV screens I can see the screen "pulse", kind of a shake. Not sure exactly how to describe it but I can live with it. I put some divx files in the video folder and the front end reports their length as 0 and the IMDB lookup isn't working but this may be due to MythTV thinking the files are of length 0.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jan 16, 2004 3:12 pm 
Offline
Joined: Mon Dec 08, 2003 12:28 pm
Posts: 5
Location: Las Vegas, NV
after all that i get this error when i try to run mythtv-setup

Unable to open database:
Driver error was:
QMYSQL3: Unable to connect:
Database error was:
Access denied for user: 'mythtv@localhost' (Using password: YES)

I got this after a clean auto install followed by the upgrade instructions word for word

any ideas

_________________
Hello Mr. Dell, meet Frankenputer.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jan 16, 2004 3:27 pm 
Offline
Joined: Tue Nov 25, 2003 9:19 am
Posts: 104
Location: Rapid City, SD
vi /etc/mythtv/mysql.txt (I think that's the right path)

Change the password there, I had the same problem after the upgrade last night.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jan 16, 2004 3:42 pm 
Offline
Joined: Fri Sep 19, 2003 7:05 pm
Posts: 5088
Location: Fontana, Ca
/usr/share/mythtv is the path.

_________________
cesman

When the source is open, the possibilities are endless!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jan 18, 2004 11:46 am 
Offline
Joined: Tue Nov 18, 2003 10:33 pm
Posts: 3
I am getting the same error as described above about incorrect password.

I updated my /usr/share/mythtv/mysql.txt to have the line
DBPassword=mythtv

It appears the original line was encyrpted and the new one I added obviously is not, and it doesn't work as mythtv either. What should I have in this file for the password.


Top
 Profile  
 

Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 26 posts ] 
Go to page 1, 2  Next



All times are UTC - 6 hours




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 69 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

Theme Created By ceyhansuyu