View unanswered posts    View active topics

All times are UTC - 6 hours





Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 54 posts ] 
Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4  Next

Print view Previous topic   Next topic  
Author Message
Search for:
PostPosted: Wed Jul 20, 2005 1:21 pm 
Offline
Joined: Wed Dec 10, 2003 8:31 pm
Posts: 1996
Location: /dev/null
DISCLAIMER:
This guide will show you how to get your mythfrontend to display on a Windows machine via an xsession using only freeware. Please note you cannot watch shows with this; it's only useful to change settings, troubleshoot custom menus, etc. on your mythbox without actually sitting in front of it.

It's like using the built-in VNC to control your box, but it's more direct and launchable via a single double click.

REQUIRED SOFTWARE:
XMing (freeware) - http://sourceforge.net/projects/xming
The main xming package is required, the fonts package is optional

SETUP STEP 1: INSTALL XMING ON WINDOWS BOX
Run the setup.exe you downloaded from the xming link provided above using the default options.

SETUP STEP 2: SETUP ON MYTHBOX
Verify that you're forwarding X11 on your mythbox by editing this file /etc/ssh/sshd_config and look for the "X11Forwarding" section, it should be set to yes like so (I used nano but use whatever you like emacs, vi, etc.):
Code:
# nano /etc/ssh/sshd_config

then look for this line, and if it's currently set to "no" change it to "yes":
Code:
X11Forwarding yes


restart ssh by doing
Code:
 # /etc/init.d/ssh restart


SETUP STEP 3: SETUP A SHORTCUT VIA XLAUNCH
You have two options, you can go through xlaunch (start menu>xming>xlaunch) to make a shortcut that will launch mythfronend, or you can simply make a new text file (right-click your desktop and select New>Text Document)

Now simply paste the following into it and save it as "mythfrontend.xlaunch"

Code:
<?xml version="1.0"?>
<XLaunch xmlns="http://www.straightrunning.com/XmingNotes" xmlns:xsi="http://www.w3.org/2001/XMLSchema-instance" xsi:schemaLocation="http://www.straightrunning.com/XmingNotes XLaunch.xsd" WindowMode="MultiWindow" ClientMode="StartProgram" Program="mythfrontend --geometry 800x600" ClientStart="PuTTY" PW="mythtv" RemoteHost="mythtv" RemoteUser="mythtv" Display="0" Clipboard="true"/>


You will have to substitute the IP address of your mythtv box where "192.168.1.22" appears or else you won't connect!

You can also specify the size you want the frontend to run in on your windows box. I have chosen 800x600 in the example above. Use whatever you want.

If for some reason you changed the mythtv user's password, make that same change in the PW="mythtv" above.

That's it!

To connect, simply double-click the "mythtv.xlaunch" icon you just made and xming will take over.

_________________
Retired KM user (R4 - R6.04); friend to LH users.


Last edited by graysky on Fri Feb 08, 2008 6:09 pm, edited 21 times in total.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jul 20, 2005 2:03 pm 
Offline
Joined: Fri Jan 30, 2004 10:48 pm
Posts: 31
Much appreciated.. i assume this was posted in response to the poll thread, but i'll give it a shot tonight assuming the boss doesn't have me doing other things :)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jul 20, 2005 3:39 pm 
Offline
Joined: Wed Dec 10, 2003 8:31 pm
Posts: 1996
Location: /dev/null
Cool, let me know how it works out for you.

_________________
Retired KM user (R4 - R6.04); friend to LH users.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jul 20, 2005 5:24 pm 
Offline
Joined: Thu Mar 25, 2004 11:00 am
Posts: 9551
Location: Arlington, MA
I think I'm going to give you today's gold star for community service... Good work dude! :D


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jul 20, 2005 6:26 pm 
Offline
Joined: Wed Dec 10, 2003 8:31 pm
Posts: 1996
Location: /dev/null
Thanks man, it's a good feeling to give back in some small way. God knows you guys gave me a whole lot of help in the past :) Hopefully, this thread will help out some people.

_________________
Retired KM user (R4 - R6.04); friend to LH users.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jul 21, 2005 6:27 am 
Offline
Joined: Fri Apr 02, 2004 10:08 am
Posts: 1637
Location: Virginia, USA
I posted this howto over at the wiki with a few formatting and editing/typo changes. Thanks, graysky.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jul 21, 2005 1:34 pm 
Offline
Joined: Wed Dec 10, 2003 8:31 pm
Posts: 1996
Location: /dev/null
Cool man ...what typos?

_________________
Retired KM user (R4 - R6.04); friend to LH users.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jul 21, 2005 1:42 pm 
Offline
Joined: Fri Apr 02, 2004 10:08 am
Posts: 1637
Location: Virginia, USA
graysky wrote:
Cool man ...what typos?


One I found was "# nano (or your fav. editor) /etc/ssh.sshd_config"... that should be /etc/ssh/sshd_config not ssh.sshd_config . Obvious but when people are new to Linux they tend to be very literal and get hung up on stuff like that.

Also some capitalizations of Windows, etc.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jul 21, 2005 2:22 pm 
Offline
Joined: Wed Dec 10, 2003 8:31 pm
Posts: 1996
Location: /dev/null
Thanks for catching that... I didn't see it (fixed now).

_________________
Retired KM user (R4 - R6.04); friend to LH users.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Live TV
PostPosted: Thu Aug 04, 2005 8:22 am 
Offline
Joined: Thu Aug 04, 2005 8:04 am
Posts: 2
This works great for setup and configuration.
Has anybody got the live TV or Video to playback. When I hit the "Watch TV" button I get dumped from my MythTV frontend with the following message:

Quote:
Xlib: extension "XVideo" missing on display "localhost:10.0".
XvQueryExtension failed.
Xlib: extension "XVideo" missing on display "localhost:10.0".
XvQueryAdaptors failed.
***
* Couldn't find Xv support, falling back to non-Xv mode.
* MythTV performance will be much slower since color
* conversion and scaling will be done in software.
* Consider upgrading your video card or X server if
* you would like better performance.
***
* No XShm support found, MythTV may be very slow and consume lots of cpu.
Xlib: extension "XVideo" missing on display "localhost:10.0".
Xlib: extension "XVideo" missing on display "localhost:10.0".
2005-08-04 10:52:26.120 Couldn't get the color key color, and we need it.
You likely won't get any video.
2005-08-04 10:52:26.364 Changing from None to WatchingPreRecorded
2005-08-04 10:52:26.366 Realtime priority would require SUID as root.
Xlib: extension "XFree86-VidModeExtension" missing on display "localhost:10.0".
Xlib: extension "XFree86-VidModeExtension" missing on display "localhost:10.0".
2005-08-04 10:52:26.567 Video timing method: USleep with busy wait
Segmentation fault


Did I miss a step in the configuration?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Live TV
PostPosted: Thu Aug 04, 2005 9:19 am 
Offline
Joined: Fri Apr 02, 2004 10:08 am
Posts: 1637
Location: Virginia, USA
inquisitor wrote:
Has anybody got the live TV or Video to playback. ...
Did I miss a step in the configuration?


You might have missed the second sentence of the original howto, which states "Please note you cannot watch shows with this."


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Sorry
PostPosted: Thu Aug 04, 2005 1:49 pm 
Offline
Joined: Thu Aug 04, 2005 8:04 am
Posts: 2
You are right.
I was so exited that you could do this, I guess I must have skipped that part.
Thanks


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Aug 04, 2005 3:41 pm 
Offline
Joined: Sun May 15, 2005 8:47 am
Posts: 54
vnc is also an option. I run vncserver on the mythbox and vncclient on my PC.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Aug 04, 2005 5:57 pm 
Offline
Joined: Fri Dec 26, 2003 2:25 pm
Posts: 244
mwahal wrote:
vnc is also an option. I run vncserver on the mythbox and vncclient on my PC.


But you still can't watch video with VNC right? I know when I try with VNC I get a blue screen (not TBSOD) instead of the video. Just curious...


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Aug 04, 2005 5:59 pm 
Offline
Joined: Sun May 15, 2005 8:47 am
Posts: 54
Dinki wrote:
mwahal wrote:
vnc is also an option. I run vncserver on the mythbox and vncclient on my PC.


But you still can't watch video with VNC right? I know when I try with VNC I get a blue screen (not TBSOD) instead of the video. Just curious...


Not quite right. I was able to get *some* video using realvnc. But the frames were getting updated very slowly. But I was trying to do that from the office and my upload from home sucks anyway.

Will try to watch video at home tonight via vnc and will let you know.


Top
 Profile  
 

Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 54 posts ] 
Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4  Next



All times are UTC - 6 hours




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 18 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

Theme Created By ceyhansuyu