View unanswered posts    View active topics

All times are UTC - 6 hours





Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 167 posts ] 
Go to page Previous  1 ... 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12  Next

Print view Previous topic   Next topic  

Would you donate your spare CPU cycles to fold for a KnoppMyth Team?
Yes 79%  79%  [ 46 ]
No 21%  21%  [ 12 ]
Total votes : 58

Author Message
Search for:
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jun 30, 2007 7:25 pm 
Offline
Joined: Tue Aug 08, 2006 7:08 pm
Posts: 554
Location: UK
It might be worthwhile for those who are registered as "Dead to them", to keep an eye on their local "folding@home" page, to see if the application is updating the progress page.

Bruce S.

_________________
Updated 2011/11/19: Athlon64 3700+ Asus A8N4-SLI Deluxe
1Gb PC 3200, 200Gb+250Gb+500Gb SATA HDD,
SATA DVD-RW Optiarc , Gigabyte GV-NX66128DP
Hauppauage Nova-T 500,+ 2x Nova HD S2 LinHes R6.02


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jul 02, 2007 7:12 am 
Offline
Joined: Tue Jun 14, 2005 6:34 am
Posts: 116
Location: Indiana
Quote:
I haven't seen this happen but I'm not sure what I should be looking for to spot this issue.

Are you having it on your myth boxes or else-where. I'm folding on linux and windows. let me know if there is anthing I should be looking for. I would hate to be wasting cycles. ;)


I read this on the folding forums. If the computer gets shutdown without sending the FAH client a shutdown message, you get the dreaded "Previous termination of core was improper" message the next time you start the client and it doesn't enable the SSE optimizations. The fix is to just restart the client or use the -forceasm flag. I think this is a gromacs issue so it applies to linux and windoze clients. It doesn't' affect the SMP clients because they have the SSE optimizations set to run every time.

_________________
Backend R5E50
P4 1.3 - 384MB, 250GB HD, HD5000AV, PVR150 non MCE
Frontend R5E50
EPIA M1000 - 512MB, 40GB HD, Streamzap
KnoppMyth Folding Team Stats


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jul 02, 2007 7:41 am 
Offline
Joined: Wed Jan 25, 2006 1:03 pm
Posts: 240
Location: Shakopee, MN USA
I force the flags on both the M$ clients and Linux ones I have

Here is an example:

Code:
./FAH504-Linux.exe -forceasm -verbosity 9 -advmethods


-forceasm --> will force the use of SSE and 3DNow optimizing
-verbosity 9 --> set to 9 will put more messages to the log file (checkpoints)
-advmethods --> will get some beta cores that cary a higher point value
-oneunit --> If you have a machine you want to retire, this will work the last work unit in the queue and shut downt the client elsewhere.
-send all --> Useful if you had work units to return and had issues connecting to the work server


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jul 02, 2007 10:19 am 
Offline
Joined: Wed Jan 25, 2006 1:03 pm
Posts: 240
Location: Shakopee, MN USA
I also sneakernet two non networked computers at work (One is a test box and the second is used to play music). I use a USB drive to transport work units from home to work.

On my networked computer at home (PCLinuxOS 2007), I mount the USB drive and run the client right from the USB device download the work unit. I then do a CNTL + C to stop the client after the download is finished. I then copy the USB drive to the non-networked machine hard drives and run the client on each (Puppy 2.15CE and Mepis 6.5). After the work units are complete, I copy the whole folder back to the USB drive. I then take it home and do the following command from the USB device after mounting:

Code:
./FAH504-Linux.exe -send all


This send the work units back and client does not run any further. Then the cycle starts over again. :wink:


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Sep 20, 2007 6:27 am 
Offline
Joined: Tue Jun 14, 2005 6:34 am
Posts: 116
Location: Indiana
Congrats to Gnarl for hitting 500,000 points. I'll be there in a few days.

On a side note, it looks like the F@H forums have been hijacked today. :(
Quote:
By Alemin_Krali
Special Thanks: Zorrokin

Swan | Sinaritx | Ax3L |Matthles | Sessiz | SlayeRl| Patron | Lance | Metlak |


Alemin_Krali New Season (2008)

_________________
Backend R5E50
P4 1.3 - 384MB, 250GB HD, HD5000AV, PVR150 non MCE
Frontend R5E50
EPIA M1000 - 512MB, 40GB HD, Streamzap
KnoppMyth Folding Team Stats


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Sep 20, 2007 9:25 am 
Offline
Joined: Mon Feb 16, 2004 7:06 pm
Posts: 309
Location: Toronto
cameraready wrote:
Congrats to Gnarl for hitting 500,000 points. I'll be there in a few days.


Thank you! Thank you!

I'd like to thank AMD and NVidia. I'd also like to thank KnoppMyth for having such wonderful uptime and stability.... ummmmm geeze, I'd like to thank root and most of all, all the other team members for moving us up the ranks.

_________________
KnoppMyth Folding@home
How to setup F@H
F@H Stats Page


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Sep 21, 2007 8:41 am 
Offline
Joined: Tue Apr 13, 2004 6:51 pm
Posts: 890
Location: Groton, MA
Looks like on Sept 27th we will make a move to ranking 150.

_________________
R5F1 - Dell P4 2.4Ghz 500MB - PVR250 x 2 - GeForce FX 5200 - Onboard sound/NIC 80GB ATA/250GB ATA/400GB SATA


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Oct 22, 2007 3:33 pm 
Offline
Joined: Fri Jul 29, 2005 1:22 am
Posts: 232
Location: SF East Bay, CA
BluesBrian wrote:
Gnarl wrote:
The client will ask you some questions
Code:
2) Team - 50975



hmmm.. "johnny-come-latelies" .. my Team # is 11. :lol:


OK, so I'm the "johnny-come-lately" on the KnoppMyth team.. It didn't take too long to get in the "top 100" (five active cpus) .. It will probably take some effort to get in the top 20.. hahahaha.

hmmm ... my old team has moved up.. 818 of 84333 .. and so has KM.. 151 of 84333.

Does anyone "data scrap" these pages and chart progress?

_________________
// Brian - Hardware:
ASUS P5P800 - P4 3Ghz, 500 GB PATA HD
ASUS P5K-V - P4 Core2 Duo, 500 GB SATA HD
Hauppauge PVR-350, IR Blaster, Comcast Digital Cable
http://tech.groups.yahoo.com/group/KnoppMyth/
KnoppMyth R5F27 >> R5.5


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Oct 23, 2007 7:41 am 
Offline
Joined: Tue Jun 14, 2005 6:34 am
Posts: 116
Location: Indiana
Check out Extreme overclocking and Hard Folding for lots of statistics.

_________________
Backend R5E50
P4 1.3 - 384MB, 250GB HD, HD5000AV, PVR150 non MCE
Frontend R5E50
EPIA M1000 - 512MB, 40GB HD, Streamzap
KnoppMyth Folding Team Stats


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Oct 23, 2007 8:17 am 
Offline
Joined: Fri Jul 29, 2005 1:22 am
Posts: 232
Location: SF East Bay, CA
cameraready wrote:
Check out Extreme overclocking and Hard Folding for lots of statistics.

Thanks! I'm all gigglie! :lol: I'm on the "top 20 producers list"
http://folding.extremeoverclocking.com/ ... s=&t=50975


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Nov 13, 2007 3:48 pm 
Offline
Joined: Mon Feb 16, 2004 7:06 pm
Posts: 309
Location: Toronto
for all those who use non-KM boxes for folding also http://www.hardocp.com/news.html?news=MjkxNjQsLCwsLCwx

_________________
KnoppMyth Folding@home
How to setup F@H
F@H Stats Page


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Nov 14, 2007 6:55 am 
Offline
Joined: Tue Jun 14, 2005 6:34 am
Posts: 116
Location: Indiana
That new GUI looks pretty cool. I'll have to update the Mac I have running the screen saver when it's available.

_________________
Backend R5E50
P4 1.3 - 384MB, 250GB HD, HD5000AV, PVR150 non MCE
Frontend R5E50
EPIA M1000 - 512MB, 40GB HD, Streamzap
KnoppMyth Folding Team Stats


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Dual-core folding setup
PostPosted: Tue Jan 15, 2008 1:46 pm 
Offline
Joined: Wed Mar 07, 2007 9:34 am
Posts: 28
So, the KM auto-setup script nicely asked me whether I want to donate my cycles - I said yes. But, it didn't ask me how many cores I have - I have two. How can I make my folding client take advantage of the second core - or start a second client? And will my settings transfer over during my next upgrade?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jan 15, 2008 2:47 pm 
Offline
Joined: Sun Sep 25, 2005 3:50 pm
Posts: 1013
Location: Los Angeles
john.lofgren wrote:
So, the KM auto-setup script nicely asked me whether I want to donate my cycles - I said yes. But, it didn't ask me how many cores I have - I have two. How can I make my folding client take advantage of the second core - or start a second client? And will my settings transfer over during my next upgrade?


See here for info on the SMP client: http://www.stanford.edu/group/pandegroup/folding/FAQ-SMP.html

and as long as your folding directory in /myth it wil be preserved upon upgrade.

_________________
Mike
My Hardware Profile


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jan 15, 2008 4:29 pm 
Offline
Joined: Wed Mar 07, 2007 9:34 am
Posts: 28
mihanson wrote:
john.lofgren wrote:
So, the KM auto-setup script nicely asked me whether I want to donate my cycles - I said yes. But, it didn't ask me how many cores I have - I have two. How can I make my folding client take advantage of the second core - or start a second client? And will my settings transfer over during my next upgrade?


See here for info on the SMP client: http://www.stanford.edu/group/pandegroup/folding/FAQ-SMP.html

and as long as your folding directory in /myth it wil be preserved upon upgrade.


It looks to me like the SMP client does not exist yet for 32-bit linux. Am I missing something?

However, another page (http://fahwiki.net/index.php/Running_the_FAH_client_on_Linux) says this:
"Note: To get a FAH client to run on multi cpu machine, You must install as many FAH clients to separate directories as there are processors in Your machine and You may need to configure Your clients to use different Machine IDs (look to "Configuring the client")."

I'm going to investigate that method a little further.


Top
 Profile  
 

Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 167 posts ] 
Go to page Previous  1 ... 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12  Next



All times are UTC - 6 hours




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

Theme Created By ceyhansuyu