View unanswered posts    View active topics

All times are UTC - 6 hours

Print view Previous topic   Next topic  
Search for:
PostPosted: Wed Feb 07, 2007 5:13 pm 
so yeah, like the title says- I'm sick of QA. BURNT OUT on it. It's black box testing for the most part, I get to use soapscope to test backend authentication occasionally.

I've got no coding experience to speak of- and to be honest coding doesn't interest me. I like using linux, I like configuring machines to run 'stuff' (email, web, LAMP stuff) I like troubleshooting boxen and installing/tweaking software.

So where does that put me? I think configuration management sounds kind of close but I don't know that much about it or where I would start to get into it. anyone have any ideas? Would CM absolutely necessitate my learning java or some other coding language?
TIA

Last edited by finger51 on Tue Feb 27, 2007 12:31 am, edited 1 time in total.

Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Feb 07, 2007 7:28 pm 
In no particular order you can look at:

Systems administration/operations - Getting a 1-2 week class and maybe certification would be helpful. Good/sharp ones are always in demand. If you like laying hands on the hardware this could be for you.

Help Desk/User Support - Pretty painful business, it might even be worse than QA. On the other hand it might be just the ticket for someone really sociable who enjoys helping people fix problems. You definitely spend a huge amount of time with people all across the organization this way.

Applications configuration/administration - SQL, XML, ... who knows what all else but Java may be optional. Not a bad gig if you like setting things up but don't want to be a hardcore BOHF or a programmer. The QA experience would probably even be looked on as a plus.

Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Feb 08, 2007 12:41 am 
Thanks for the input TJC.
'funny you mention sysadmin, that's what I did before I got into QA. The QA jobs were offering higher pay and better hours (no pager).