View unanswered posts    View active topics

All times are UTC - 6 hours

Go to page 1, 2  Next

Print view Previous topic   Next topic  
Search for:
PostPosted: Fri Apr 20, 2007 3:09 pm 
Hi all,

I have been looking for a new case to put a KM frontend into. I am planning to wall-mount our new Samsung LCD and wanted something small enough to fit into an opening in the wall just below the TV. Unfortunately nothing I have seen is as small as I would like (something about 12" wide or less, 12" deep or less, and 3 - 4" tall)

I have a lot of woodworking experience, so I was looking into building a case and laminating the front so the exposed portion is <whatever laminate/color we choose> but was concerned with the electronics portion, thus my question: Does a PC case contribute to the grounding of the PSU/components, or is that covered by the PSU itself? I have searched the 'net and found people building cases with plexiglass and other non-metallic substances, so I'm thinking wood (probably a 1/4" veneered plywood, if that matters) should be fine, but I thought I would post the query here to see what you folks thought about this.

If anyone knows of a reasonably priced case that fits the measurements noted above please do let me know. And if anyone can pass along some insight or links to the grounding/electronics issues of a non-metallic case it would be very much appreciated. The idea of building my case(s) to my specs very much interests me, but not if it would somehow decrease the longevity of the system, or end up burning the house down! :shock:

Thanks!

Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Apr 20, 2007 5:20 pm