View unanswered posts    View active topics

All times are UTC - 6 hours





Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ] 
Print view Previous topic   Next topic  
Author Message
Search for:
PostPosted: Tue Mar 09, 2010 7:46 pm 
Offline
Joined: Tue Mar 22, 2005 9:18 pm
Posts: 1393
Location: Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Two pronged question:

1. Is a StreamZap still the best kit for a LinHES box or should I look at something like a Logitech Harmony?

2. If StreamZap is the way to go, where in Australia can I get it and does it come with a receiver?

Thanks

_________________
Girkers


Last edited by Girkers on Wed Mar 10, 2010 5:56 am, edited 1 time in total.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Mar 09, 2010 9:50 pm 
Offline
Joined: Sun Sep 04, 2005 7:48 pm
Posts: 264
Location: Perth, Australia
I convinced myself that a streamzap was the right choice, but then couldnt really find a reseller in Oz.

I ended up going with the Logitech Harmony 525 (i think)... universal, and can learn.. It's great... I told it to emulate my avermedia-a777, and away it went...

I dont know if that helps, but i was in your position, and I went the harmony road.

Cheers,

Nathan

_________________
LinHES: R6 | MB: Asus M3N-H/HDMI | CPU: AMD ??Mhz
Capture: 2xHDHR DVB-T
Graphics: Onboard 8300|PSU: Corsair vx450w
Cooling: Zalman cu?,
Display: Benq xx projector


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Mar 10, 2010 1:16 am 
Offline
Joined: Fri Feb 03, 2006 11:36 pm
Posts: 63
Location: Melbourne
I bought mine from http://www.pccasegear.com. They don't have them on their site anymore.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Mar 10, 2010 4:52 am 
Offline
Joined: Sun Aug 28, 2005 7:07 pm
Posts: 821
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Girkers wrote:
2. If StreamZap is the way to go, where in Australia can I get it and does it come with a receiver?


Hi Girkers,

I have sold them continuously for years (since 2005) as they are part of the dragon spec and have advertised them as available as a separate item. Yes, they come with the receiver.

For those of you who can't find one, I use this ``Google'' thingy the young folk talk about. Search for "streamzap australia" and there you have it: Second from the top. Technology today really is amazing!

_________________
*********************
LinHES 7.4
Australian Dragon
*********************


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Mar 10, 2010 5:58 am 
Offline
Joined: Tue Mar 22, 2005 9:18 pm
Posts: 1393
Location: Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Thanks Mike if I go down the path of a Streamzap I will definitely let you know.

However I am now considering the Logitech Harmony 525, it is only $75 from Umart and can emulate a Streamzap. I already have a USB IR receiver and it would help to control my TV as well as my stereo.

_________________
Girkers


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Mar 10, 2010 10:20 pm 
Offline
Joined: Mon May 10, 2004 8:08 pm
Posts: 1891
Location: Adelaide, Australia
I got a new mce+receiver+blaster for $19 on ebay. It is a great remote. Works well at range and the blaster part is good too. works out of the box with LinHES. I have mapped a button to turn on my tv and amp and one to turn them off. Couldnt be happier. You should stock those too mike.

http://cgi.ebay.com.au/OEM-Microsoft-MC ... 4a9f003765

My receiver looks like this one: Im not sure of the performance of the white ones.
http://cgi.ebay.com.au/OEM-Microsoft-Re ... 4a9f458777

http://cgi.ebay.com.au/OEM-Microsoft-Re ... 4a9f45fa11


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Mar 11, 2010 4:44 am 
Offline
Joined: Tue Mar 22, 2005 9:18 pm
Posts: 1393
Location: Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
I don't know Greg, I would feel a bit dirty using some MS kit on my mythbox. It just doesn't seem right. :wink:

_________________
Girkers


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Remote choice
PostPosted: Thu Mar 11, 2010 2:33 pm 
Offline
Joined: Wed Jun 10, 2009 8:39 pm
Posts: 118
I have both the streamzap and the Logitech Harmony. I got the Streamzap working without any trouble, but you are limited in the number of commands.

I now use the Harmony with the streamzap receiver. Very good WAF. Effortlessly switch between Gamecube, Wii, DVD, R6.

There is a huge difference in price for the Harmony in Aus. Can be as low as $190. I bought my streamzap from the U.S. by mail order.

_________________
* Asus M3N78-EM, AMD 5050e, Nvidia 8300 IGP, QNAP TS-439 Pro II, Linhes 7.4


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Mar 11, 2010 4:10 pm 
Offline
Joined: Thu Sep 07, 2006 11:20 am
Posts: 389
Just wanted to chime in to say that I have both StreamZap and MCE receivers. My experience is that the MCE receivers are much better (range, number of buttons, etc..). So, I eventually replaced everything with the MCE ones.

EDIT: My Harmony remote also seems to do a better job with the MCE receiver vs. the StreamZap... even after tweaking delays and such.


Last edited by nharris on Fri Mar 12, 2010 7:11 am, edited 1 time in total.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Mar 11, 2010 5:23 pm 
Offline
Joined: Sun Sep 04, 2005 7:48 pm
Posts: 264
Location: Perth, Australia
I got a harmony 525 for $79... and that was in Perth, I'm sure its cheaper on the eastern seaboard?

_________________
LinHES: R6 | MB: Asus M3N-H/HDMI | CPU: AMD ??Mhz
Capture: 2xHDHR DVB-T
Graphics: Onboard 8300|PSU: Corsair vx450w
Cooling: Zalman cu?,
Display: Benq xx projector


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Mar 12, 2010 2:40 am 
Online
Joined: Mon Jun 21, 2004 5:28 am
Posts: 700
Location: Germany
I have had a harmony 525 for about a year now. While the programming of it is great, there are a few things that would make me think again before getting one:

- The volume and cursor buttons in the middle have a very odd feel. Almost like those old "membrane" buttons (remember Sinclair?)

- The display is hard to read, not like the "picture" on the box (or stuck to the display when you buy it). This might be fixed in newer versions.

- When emulating my hauppauge grey remote, the response is very slow for some reason. I keep hitting a button twice thinking nothing happened. I have gone back to using my hauppauge remote for myth.

These are personal opinions and they may have fixed some of them. I suggest you at least check out the feel of one in a store before you buy.

_________________
ASUS AT3N7A-I (Atom 330)
TBS 8922 PCI (DVB-S2)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Mar 13, 2010 1:59 am 
Offline
Joined: Tue Mar 22, 2005 9:18 pm
Posts: 1393
Location: Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Thank you all for your comments, the varied opinions are awesome and give a good cross section of the sort of information I was after.

Thanks again to this wonderful community.

_________________
Girkers


Top
 Profile  
 

Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ] 


All times are UTC - 6 hours




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

Theme Created By ceyhansuyu