View unanswered posts    View active topics

All times are UTC - 6 hours

Print view Previous topic   Next topic  
Search for:
PostPosted: Tue Mar 01, 2005 9:31 pm 
Since the summer I've toyed with the idea of making some sort of PVR rig. I've been doing a lot of reading up, and after pulling together some estimates I've found it'll cost me a heluva lot more than I expected. I'm a high-school student working part-time for minimum wage.... money is an issue. My parents wouldn't put money into one of my geeky projects that are extremely wasteful.... I don't particularly NEED a pvr... I just want it really really really really bad.

So I've only just experimented with linux before (things like installing mandrake to dual boot on my computer and never using it.... ever...). I would however like to learn some more about it, just for the sake of of it. I decided a linux rig, specifically a myth-tv box would kind of throw me into the fray, and seeing as how knoppmyth has done all the compiling and most of the ugly work for me, I decided to try it. I haven't invested any money into this yet, just lots and lots of time.

I've figured I have a few options:
1- Buy a tuner card and put it into my windows rig and buy snapstream. Cheapest way to get some TV-recordings, but not quite living up to my ideals.
2- Buy the cheapest computer I can manage and use a tuner card with hardware encoding (Hauppauge PVR-150 maybe) and get a video card with TV-Out to get it to a TV.
3- Buy a nice rig and tuner card (Hauppauge PVR-350 probably), and set up a fully capable PVR, with a possible 2nd tuner (PVR-150).

I've been leaning towards a mix of 2 and 3. I priced it out using newegg and tigerdirect for stuff and ended up around 800+. Quite pricey... and probably superfluous...
Case- Desktop ATX case with 380W PS, 2x5.5in external slots, 1x3.25in external, 3x3.25in internal (definitely looks like a PVR, and has plenty of space for expanding and adding extra hard-drives.