View unanswered posts    View active topics

All times are UTC - 6 hours





Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 19 posts ] 
Go to page Previous  1, 2

Print view Previous topic   Next topic  
Author Message
Search for:
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Mar 12, 2007 5:27 pm 
Offline
Joined: Tue Aug 29, 2006 1:47 pm
Posts: 3
Okay, so I solved my problem. It was the ol' "I setup two cards and after first boot the two cards were recognized in the opposite order" bug. It's funny because I've had that problem in previous installations and the frontend still connected to the backend (only failed on recordings). I suppose that this version of the backend will silently fail on initialization and not open network ports.

:oops: Anyway, I hope this helps the others...


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Mar 12, 2007 6:39 pm 
Offline
Joined: Sun Jun 12, 2005 10:55 pm
Posts: 3161
Location: Warwick, RI
Hi,

Thanks for the sharing. Only having one tuner card, that problem has never come my way :)

Mike


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Try this
PostPosted: Thu Mar 22, 2007 5:13 pm 
Offline
Joined: Wed Feb 08, 2006 3:54 am
Posts: 3
I had the same symptoms, but had yet to connect any cards to my machine! I tried the code fixes suggested with no luck - the backend process would not start. So I ran /usr/bin/mythbackend directly in a shell to see if there was any error messages. It seemed to suggest that a value for the BackendServerIP was missing, so I ran mysql and did the following:

Code:
mysql>use mythconverg;
mysql>insert into settings (value,data,hostname) values('BackendServerIP','127.0.0.1','mythtv');
mysql> exit

After a restart it has worked OK so far...[/code]

_________________
Regards.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Apr 10, 2007 7:25 am 
Offline
Joined: Wed Dec 14, 2005 8:26 pm
Posts: 84
Location: Northeast, USA
tjc wrote:
It's a known bug. Restart the server as described. To cure it permanently edit /etc/init.d/mythtv-backend (you must become root to do this) and make the section under the start) case look like this:
Code:
  start)
        echo -n "Starting $DESC: $NAME"
        start-stop-daemon --start --pidfile $RUNDIR/$NAME.pid \
                --chuid $USER --nicelevel $NICE --exec $DAEMON -- $ARGS
        echo "."
        ;;

This should mostly involve deleting the extraneous and buggy if wrapped around the call to start-stop-daemon. Remember that Linux is case sensitive and make sure that there's no whitespace following the \ on the third line.


I just want to say that I recently upgraded from R5B7 to R5E50 and I had the problem that the frontend could not connect to the backend after a restart. Note that the frontend and backend are running on the same machine.

TJC's suggested fix (i.e., editing the mythtv-backend file) solved the problem for me.

DrH

_________________
KnoppMyth: R5B7
Video Output: 27 inch TV (4:3)
Motherboard: Biostar K8NHA Grand mobo w/nForce3 250Gb
CPU: AMD Sempron 3000+ (1.8 Ghz)
RAM: 1024 Mb
Videocard: Radeon 9500 (64 Mb)
TV Tuner Card: PVR-350
Harddisk: WD160 Gb + Max 300 Gb


Top
 Profile  
 

Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 19 posts ] 
Go to page Previous  1, 2



All times are UTC - 6 hours




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 45 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

Theme Created By ceyhansuyu