View unanswered posts    View active topics

All times are UTC - 6 hours





Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 16 posts ] 
Go to page 1, 2  Next

Print view Previous topic   Next topic  
Author Message
Search for:
PostPosted: Wed Jan 31, 2007 6:02 am 
Offline
Joined: Sat Jan 27, 2007 3:31 pm
Posts: 40
Location: Chattanooga TN
I'm new to linux and so far my understanding to adjust the resolution for your monitor is done via the xorg.conf. I have tried to edit this by inserting a modeline of 1366*768 but i get stopped on boot up and have to copy the backup file back to the xorg.conf to resume using the computer. I realize now it isn't just a matter of just changing the resolution so this is where I need some help. I have tried to find out the necessary info by google and irc but have only gotten a taste of what it takes to get this done.
I have a Westinghouse W4207 42" LCD HD monitor (they have nothing on their site for modeline info) and a NVidia 7300 le video card. This setup works great under windows and it has worked in linux too but I don't have that setup to reference.
If I could get some info on what the modeline variables are or find a setup that explains what the variables are, I would have a very good start at completing this.
Thanks


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Jan 31, 2007 7:54 am 
Offline
Joined: Fri Apr 02, 2004 10:08 am
Posts: 1637
Location: Virginia, USA
Do you still have the Westinghouse manual (or can you download a PDF from their website)? It may have info that will help you make a valid modeline.

Barring that, if you say you've gotten things to work via Windows, you could use Entech's PowerStrip to export a modeline that should give you the same video settings under X.org. (Entech's website also has a database of modelines that might help.)

I'll note that it's probably not possible to get exactly 1366x768: I think the Nvidia drivers only allow resolutions evenly divisible by 8, so you'd either have to use 1360 or 1368. If you just want to get things working, you might also try a 1280x720 modeline first, then fool around from there to try to get closer to the native resolution of the screen.

For further reading:

http://www.knoppmythwiki.org/index.php? ... SetupHowTo
http://en.tldp.org/HOWTO/XFree86-Video-Timings-HOWTO/
http://xtiming.sourceforge.net/cgi-bin/xtiming.pl


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jan 31, 2007 12:14 pm 
Offline
Joined: Sat Jan 27, 2007 3:31 pm
Posts: 40
Location: Chattanooga TN
Thanks for your reply!
I found something already that you also suggested in your reference material.
http://xtiming.sourceforge.net/cgi-bin/xtiming.pl
This is a modeline generator. I have my manual for the tv and came up with a modeline that I will try tonight. Hopefully that will work.
Thanks


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jan 31, 2007 2:39 pm 
Offline
Joined: Sun Aug 27, 2006 2:31 pm
Posts: 287
Not sure how Westinghouse handles it, but I know the Vizio displays wanted you to set your res to 1024x768 when using the VGA port. You should be able to set it to a normal resolution and let the tv convert it. It's doing that for all your other stuff, anyways.

_________________
KM R5E50; K8NGM2; A64-3800+; 1024MB PC3200; LG DVD-RW; Seagate 750GB; 6600 PCI-E; Onboard sound; Hauppauge PVR-150


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jan 31, 2007 3:43 pm 
Offline
Joined: Sun Sep 25, 2005 3:50 pm
Posts: 1013
Location: Los Angeles
If the 1366x768 is your monitor's native resolution, you can add
Code:
nvidia-auto-select

to your Screen section of xorg.conf. It will select the "best" (and in my experience) the highest resolution your monitor's EDID reports to the NVIDIA driver. For example:
Code:
SubSection "Display"
                Depth     24
                Modes "nvidia-auto-select" "ATSC-1080-59.94i" "ATSC-720-60p"

_________________
Mike
My Hardware Profile


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jan 31, 2007 9:12 pm 
Offline
Joined: Sat Jan 27, 2007 3:31 pm
Posts: 40
Location: Chattanooga TN
Thanks for all the replys.
I used this modeline generator and it worked great.

http://xtiming.sourceforge.net/cgi-bin/xtiming.pl

I made a couple entries in the xorg.conf file and it looks good. On to the next problem.
Thanks


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Feb 03, 2007 1:08 pm 
Offline
Joined: Sat Jan 27, 2007 3:31 pm
Posts: 40
Location: Chattanooga TN
mihanson
I tried your method and it worked better. I could only get 1360*768 using the modeline generator, with your method I got 1366*768.
Thanks


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Feb 03, 2007 4:46 pm 
Offline
Joined: Sun Sep 25, 2005 3:50 pm
Posts: 1013
Location: Los Angeles
You're welcome! :)

_________________
Mike
My Hardware Profile


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Apr 09, 2007 3:51 pm 
Offline
Joined: Sun Sep 03, 2006 2:50 pm
Posts: 4
I have the exact same Westinghouse TV (Black Friday special), and found your post at the Ubuntu Forums, http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=364252#8, which specifies how to set up EDID. It worked, and seemed a great deal easier than anything else I'd seen:

williammanda wrote:
Re: Help Fixing overscan on HDTV
FWIW
I have found to get the native resolution for my monitor is to have it probed by nvidia. This setup works best so far across many debian setups I have tried. I have a westinghouse 42" lcd native 1366 x 768 and the best I can get is 1360 x 765. I will use the prior posted xorg.conf file as an example

Code:
Section "Monitor"
Identifier "SONY TV"
#HorizSync 15.0 - 46.0
#VertRefresh 59.0 - 61.0
#Option "DPMS"
#Option "IgnoreEDID"
Option "UseEDID" "True"
#DisplaySize 720 405
#ModeLine "1280x720@60" 74.48 1280 1336 1472 1664 720 721 724 746 -hsync +vsync
#ModeLine "1216x648@60" 74.48 1216 1272 1400 1664 684 685 688 746 -hsync +vsync
EndSection

Section "Device"
Identifier "NVIDIA Corporation NV18 [GeForce4 MX 440 AGP 8x]"
Driver "nvidia"
EndSection

Section "Screen"
Identifier "Default Screen"
Device "NVIDIA Corporation NV18 [GeForce4 MX 440 AGP 8x]"
Monitor "SONY TV"
#Option "FlatPanelProperties" "scaling = centered"
DefaultDepth 24
SubSection "Display"
Depth 24
Modes "nvidia-auto-select"
EndSubSection
EndSection


Let me know how it works out.
Thanks


That is easily the first method I'd recommend to anyone trying to get 1366x768 to their TV.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed May 09, 2007 8:16 pm 
Offline
Joined: Tue Mar 22, 2005 11:56 am
Posts: 110
Location: San Francisco
well it's been ages since I've tweaked my mythBox! Recently got a M2NPV-VM and a 500G drive and I thought I'd start from scratch.

So I've been trying to get my old modeline (which worked great) working on the new xorg.conf file. No joy yet. I'm going on 3 days now.
Here's the modeline which used to work on my a8n:
Code:
Modeline "1368x768" 85.86 1368 1440 1584 1800 768 769 772 795 -hsync -vsync


Here is a portion of my xorg.conf:
Code:
Section "Monitor"
        Identifier      "Monitor0"
        Option  "DPMS"  "true"
        Option "UseEDID" "FALSE"
        Option "DPI" "100 x 100"

#loads of modelines. . .then mine:

Modeline "1368x768" 85.86 1368 1440 1584 1800 768 769 772 795 -hsync -vsync
EndSection

#other stuff, then screen section:
Section "Screen"
        Identifier "Screen0"
        Device     "Card0"
        Monitor    "Monitor0"
        DefaultColorDepth 24
        SubSection "Display"
                Depth     1
                Modes "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
        EndSubSection
        SubSection "Display"
                Depth     4
                Modes "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
        EndSubSection
        SubSection "Display"
                Depth     8
                Modes "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
        EndSubSection
        SubSection "Display"
                Depth     15
                Modes "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
        EndSubSection
        SubSection "Display"
                Depth     16
                Modes "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
        EndSubSection
        SubSection "Display"
                Depth     24
                Modes "1368x768" "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
        EndSubSection
        SubSection "Display"
                Depth     32
                Modes "1368x768" "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
        EndSubSection
EndSection


Now comes the aggravation of the /var/log/Xorg.0.log:
Code:
(**) NVIDIA(0): Option "UseEDID" "FALSE"
(**) NVIDIA(0): Option "DPI" "100 x 100"
(**) NVIDIA(0): Enabling RENDER acceleration
(**) NVIDIA(0): Ignoring EDIDs
(II) NVIDIA(0): Not probing EDID on DFP-0.
(II) NVIDIA(0): NVIDIA GPU GeForce 6150 at PCI:0:5:0
(--) NVIDIA(0): VideoRAM: 524288 kBytes
(--) NVIDIA(0): VideoBIOS: 05.51.22.33.07
(--) NVIDIA(0): Interlaced video modes are supported on this GPU
(--) NVIDIA(0): Connected display device(s) on GeForce 6150 at PCI:0:5:0:
(--) NVIDIA(0):     DFP-0
(--) NVIDIA(0): DFP-0: 310.0 MHz maximum pixel clock
(--) NVIDIA(0): DFP-0: Internal Dual Link TMDS
(WW) NVIDIA(0): Unable to use mode "640x480" for DFP-0; cannot compute backend
(WW) NVIDIA(0):     DFP timings (no EDID).
(WW) NVIDIA(0): Unable to use mode "640x480" for DFP-0; cannot compute backend
(WW) NVIDIA(0):     DFP timings (no EDID).

#long list of un-useable modelines... then

(II) NVIDIA(0): Assigned Display Device: DFP-0
(WW) NVIDIA(0): No valid modes for "1368x768"; removing.
(WW) NVIDIA(0): No valid modes for "1024x768"; removing.
(WW) NVIDIA(0): No valid modes for "800x600"; removing.
(WW) NVIDIA(0): No valid modes for "640x480"; removing.
(WW) NVIDIA(0):
(WW) NVIDIA(0): Unable to validate any modes; falling back to the default mode
(WW) NVIDIA(0):     "nvidia-auto-select".
(WW) NVIDIA(0):
(II) NVIDIA(0): Validated modes:
(II) NVIDIA(0):     "nvidia-auto-select"
(II) NVIDIA(0): Virtual screen size determined to be 800 x 600
(++) NVIDIA(0): DPI set to (100, 100); computed from -dpi X commandline option
(--) Depth 24 pixmap format is 32 bpp
(II) do I need RAC?  No, I don't.

#a bunch of resource ranges, then:

(II) NVIDIA(0): Setting mode "nvidia-auto-select"


then some other non-pertinent stuff.

So, my display is stuck at 800 x 600. I've tried EDID "TRUE" and "FALSE" and I also tried DPMS "TRUE" and "FALSE"
When I try EDID "TRUE" I can get 1024x768 but the 1368x768 never budges from
Code:
No valid modes for "1368x768"; removing.


Also, note that I'm not using the "nvidia-auto-select" option in the screen section at all but it still seems to be there. When I do use it, I get 1024x768 and the same 'No valid modes for "1368x768" message.

TIA

_________________
R5F27 | M2NPV-VM | 4600+ 65W AM2X2 | CORSAIR TWIN2X1024A-6400 | 2x HD-5000 |
DVI to HP LC3700N


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri May 11, 2007 4:28 pm 
Offline
Joined: Sat Jan 27, 2007 3:31 pm
Posts: 40
Location: Chattanooga TN
Post your xorg.0.log after changing EDID = true and remove the dpi 100 * 100.
Thanks


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri May 11, 2007 7:24 pm 
Offline
Joined: Tue Mar 22, 2005 11:56 am
Posts: 110
Location: San Francisco
here's the guilty part of my xorg.conf:
Code:
Section "Monitor"
        Identifier      "Monitor0"
#       Option  "DPMS"  "true"
         Option "UseEdidDpi" "TRUE"
         Option "EDID" "TRUE"
#      Option "DPI" "100 x 100"

#bunch of unrelated stuff, then:
# The following line is auto-generated by KNOPPIX mkxf86config
        Driver      "nvidia"
        VendorName  "All"
        BoardName   "All"
#       BusID       "PCI:1:0:0"
EndSection

Section "Screen"
        Identifier "Screen0"
        Device     "Card0"
        Monitor    "Monitor0"
        DefaultColorDepth 24
        SubSection "Display"
                Depth     1
                Modes "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
        EndSubSection
        SubSection "Display"
                Depth     4
                Modes "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
        EndSubSection
        SubSection "Display"
                Depth     8
                Modes "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
        EndSubSection
        SubSection "Display"
                Depth     15
                Modes "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
        EndSubSection
        SubSection "Display"
                Depth     16
                Modes "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
        EndSubSection
        SubSection "Display"
                Depth     24
                Modes "1368x768" "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
        EndSubSection
        SubSection "Display"
                Depth     32
                Modes "1368x768" "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
        EndSubSection
EndSection




and my xorg.conf:
Code:
(II) Setting vga for screen 0.
(**) NVIDIA(0): Depth 24, (--) framebuffer bpp 32
(==) NVIDIA(0): RGB weight 888
(==) NVIDIA(0): Default visual is TrueColor
(==) NVIDIA(0): Using gamma correction (1.0, 1.0, 1.0)
(**) NVIDIA(0): Option "UseEdidDpi" "TRUE"
(**) NVIDIA(0): Enabling RENDER acceleration
(II) NVIDIA(0): NVIDIA GPU GeForce 6150 at PCI:0:5:0
(--) NVIDIA(0): VideoRAM: 524288 kBytes
(--) NVIDIA(0): VideoBIOS: 05.51.22.33.07
(--) NVIDIA(0): Interlaced video modes are supported on this GPU
(--) NVIDIA(0): Connected display device(s) on GeForce 6150 at PCI:0:5:0:
(--) NVIDIA(0):     Sharp LCD (DFP-0)
(--) NVIDIA(0): Sharp LCD (DFP-0): 310.0 MHz maximum pixel clock
(--) NVIDIA(0): Sharp LCD (DFP-0): Internal Dual Link TMDS
(II) NVIDIA(0): Assigned Display Device: DFP-0
(WW) NVIDIA(0): No valid modes for "1368x768"; removing.
(II) NVIDIA(0): Validated modes:
(II) NVIDIA(0):     "1024x768"
(II) NVIDIA(0):     "800x600"
(II) NVIDIA(0):     "640x480"
(II) NVIDIA(0): Virtual screen size determined to be 1024 x 768
(++) NVIDIA(0): DPI set to (100, 100); computed from -dpi X commandline option
(--) Depth 24 pixmap format is 32 bpp


I REALLY appreciate the input! If I can't figure out what's going on with this by sunday, I'm going back to R5C7.

_________________
R5F27 | M2NPV-VM | 4600+ 65W AM2X2 | CORSAIR TWIN2X1024A-6400 | 2x HD-5000 |
DVI to HP LC3700N


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri May 11, 2007 7:38 pm 
Offline
Joined: Thu Mar 25, 2004 11:00 am
Posts: 9551
Location: Arlington, MA
Try going forward to R5F1...


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri May 11, 2007 8:12 pm 
Offline
Joined: Tue Mar 22, 2005 11:56 am
Posts: 110
Location: San Francisco
tjc wrote:
Try going forward to R5F1...


Hey! I'm liking the sound of that "xorg 7.1" hmmm... Thanks, I hadn't seen the new release.

_________________
R5F27 | M2NPV-VM | 4600+ 65W AM2X2 | CORSAIR TWIN2X1024A-6400 | 2x HD-5000 |
DVI to HP LC3700N


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat May 12, 2007 3:03 pm 
Offline
Joined: Sat Jan 27, 2007 3:31 pm
Posts: 40
Location: Chattanooga TN
Change the following:

SubSection "Display"
Depth 24
Modes "1360x765" "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
EndSubSection
SubSection "Display"
Depth 32
Modes "1360x765" "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
EndSubSection

It seems to be having trouble setting the exact resolution, so sometimes it is easier to give it something it can setup.
Thanks


Top
 Profile  
 

Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 16 posts ] 
Go to page 1, 2  Next



All times are UTC - 6 hours




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 69 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

Theme Created By ceyhansuyu