PostPosted: Sun Mar 11, 2007 11:45 pm 
Hi, I'm a newbie and have built a new system:
mv2-tvm motherboard
3800+ 64 AMD CPU
ATI x1050 video Card
Compro T750 tv tuner card
Seagate 320GB S-ATA disk
PAL TV; I'm in Australia

I am connecting to my plasma TV with a DVI-D connector from the video card.

I have tried installing a dual boot with vista and knoppmyth, but have given that up for the time being because the Compro card is just not behaving with vista, even though the box had a sticker on it saying it was certified for Vista. Can't get any support from Compro, either.

Anyhow, on to Knoppmyth...
1: I partitioned my disk drive with CFDISK during the manual install, and I could never get more than 4 partitions. It always said the space after the 4th partition was "unusable". Any ideas on why?
2. Installation went fine; when I rebooted the splash screen looked fine, but as soon as I came to configuration, my display (plasma TV) went all black and white and distorted .... PLEASE tell me what is wrong. I can't possible configure it like this .... and I'm SO frustrated with this installation.

On the dual booting...I have found at least 5 sets of instructions on getting a dual boot to work, and none of them are clear, and none specifically address Vista and Knoppmyth. Can anyone help me on this?

Thanks!
Michele

Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Mar 12, 2007 11:37 am 
Quote:
I partitioned my disk drive with CFDISK during the manual install, and I could never get more than 4 partitions. It always said the space after the 4th partition was "unusable". Any ideas on why?
On x86 based systems there can only be 4 primary partitions, if you need more than 4, create an extended partition, then create as many partitions you need in the extended partition.

Quote:
Installation went fine; when I rebooted the splash screen looked fine, but as soon as I came to configuration, my display (plasma TV) went all black and white and distorted