View unanswered posts    View active topics

All times are UTC - 6 hours

Print view Previous topic   Next topic  
Search for:
PostPosted: Sat Apr 28, 2007 1:40 pm 
My first attempt at setting up knoppmyth.

I can complete the entire install. My problem occurs when I reboot the system. I appear to be having problem related to blacksreen after install. I have read the black screen after install article in the wiki. My problem now is that i cant get to the XF86Config-4 file. I can get to \etc but i cannot get to x11 directory. tells me directory not found. However if i do a dir in etc i can see it in the list. I have re-installed several time. problem recurs each time.

To make things a little more interesting I am a complete newb with linux.

Thanks in advance for your help.

Below is my hardware.
athlon3200+
nvidia 7100gs
hp pvr 350
1 gig ram
130gig sata hdd
generic mboard with nforce chipset.

Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Apr 28, 2007 2:27 pm 
Did you try X11 (note capital 'X')?

Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Apr 28, 2007 2:44 pm 
As mudguts says it's X11, not x11. *nix is case-sensitive. Also, if you are installing R5E50 (you didn't mention which version) then you are looking for xorg.conf instead of XF86Config-4, as the latest Knoppmyth uses the x.org X server. Check http://mysettopbox.tv/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=13108 for more information on R5E50 stumbling blocks and solutions.

Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Apr 28, 2007 5:46 pm 
Thanks, that allowed me to get to the directory. I am installing R5E50 I am currently trying to install the nvidia drivers. I have completed all the steps in the install guide. I am stuck at the step that says to enter the following,
sh NVIDIA-Linux-x86-1.0-9746-pkg1.run /
--kernel-source-path=/usr/src/linux-source-2.6.18-chw-13

It tells me No such file or directory. Any ideas how to find this file? My old dos dir method doesnt work of course.

Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Apr 28, 2007 7:01 pm 
pathi wrote: