View unanswered posts    View active topics

All times are UTC - 6 hours

Go to page 1, 2  Next

Print view Previous topic   Next topic  
Search for:
PostPosted: Sun Jun 10, 2007 10:16 am 
Okay, the title might be an exaggeration. But seriously, I've done enough tweaking to my setup to get my firefly remote working, rip and transcode DVD's, run an ampache music server on the side, and otherwise make my system functional as a media server. I'm still very much a linux newbie.

But outside of the MythTV application, good GOD it's an ugly pain to work with. I've been running the system for about 18 months, and I still can't figure out how to change the initial ugly-a** wallpaper. Or do anything with the "taskbar"-looking thing on the bottom of the screen. Or change fonts. I know that Knoppmyth was designed to be a bare-bones installation, but it's just a little TOO bare to make it friendly at all.

I've recently put Ubuntu 7.04 on a laptop, and it's a dream to work with by comparison. Obviously, however, the Ubuntu installation contains a lot of stuff that you don't need for a media server--office software, etc. I THINK that what this all comes down to is maybe the windows manager?

So how do I change the default Knoppmyth windows manager to something more user-friendly like Ubuntu's? And is that the right approach? I'd just install Ubuntu over my current Knoppmyth installation, but I don't want to lose all the changes I've made to the system over the last year+, or all the hundreds of gigabytes of media stored there on my multi-drive partition.

Help me make my system easier to get along with outside of MythTV, please.

Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jun 10, 2007 11:08 am 
If you want a box with more eye candy and other stuff on it, why don't you install something like mythdora?