View unanswered posts    View active topics

All times are UTC - 6 hours





Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 22 posts ] 
Go to page Previous  1, 2

Print view Previous topic   Next topic  
Author Message
Search for:
 Post subject: I like dyndns.org
PostPosted: Tue Jul 22, 2008 12:25 pm 
Offline
Joined: Fri Mar 24, 2006 10:35 pm
Posts: 89
Location: Detroit, MI
I have been using the free service at dyndns.org and I set the email notify for 30 day account time-out to my cell phone so I don't miss any longer weekends and loose my account.

I think it is cheap to buy the service.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Sep 30, 2008 11:40 pm 
Offline
Joined: Fri Jul 29, 2005 1:22 am
Posts: 232
Location: SF East Bay, CA
mark60050 wrote:
First install ddclient using apt-get.

Code:
apt-get install ddclient


Follow prompts to install ddclient. The debian configurator will update the client based on the local address. My local address is behind NAT firewall so I need to edit the configuration based on the global address the router sees.

As a habit, I overwrite the ddclient.conf ......

hmmm.. During the install, I get..
ddclient Installer wrote:
Configuring ddclient
Enter the interface which is used for using dynamic DNS service.
Interface used for dynamic DNS service: ____________

I don't know what it's asking for. :?:
My KM box is behind a LinkSys Router BEFSR41
Thanks

_________________
// Brian - Hardware:
ASUS P5P800 - P4 3Ghz, 500 GB PATA HD
ASUS P5K-V - P4 Core2 Duo, 500 GB SATA HD
Hauppauge PVR-350, IR Blaster, Comcast Digital Cable
http://tech.groups.yahoo.com/group/KnoppMyth/
KnoppMyth R5F27 >> R5.5


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Oct 01, 2008 1:33 am 
Offline
Joined: Mon May 10, 2004 8:08 pm
Posts: 1891
Location: Adelaide, Australia
My guess would be eth0


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Oct 19, 2009 7:32 am 
Offline
Joined: Mon May 10, 2004 8:08 pm
Posts: 1891
Location: Adelaide, Australia
R6 has just been updated to support configuring the dyndns service through the service menu. Testers wanted.

(you must first setup an account with your host details on dyndns.org if you dont already have one).


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jan 05, 2010 6:27 pm 
Offline
Joined: Fri Apr 02, 2004 10:08 am
Posts: 1637
Location: Virginia, USA
Just noticed that ddclient was there in R6, but since I'm using the testing version for VDPAU I don't think I can use the service menu. I got it working I think but not sure it is set to run at startup. What's a good process for setting it all up manually? Thanks.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: R6 dyndns service
PostPosted: Thu Jan 07, 2010 3:54 pm 
Offline
Joined: Thu Jun 10, 2004 7:38 am
Posts: 1
I just tried configuring the DDNS setting in the menu. Where should I see the changes? I don't see ddclient running, so I'm guessing something didn't work.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Nov 29, 2010 11:03 pm 
Offline
Joined: Wed Apr 28, 2004 10:42 pm
Posts: 405
Location: Bendigo, Victoria, Australia
I have the same problem as sponge-ted. I have set it up via the front end, but it doesn't get updated.
I have managed to get it to work from the command line once so the settings are right, but how can I get it to regularly update.

_________________
Paul Turpie
-------------
<--Is your location in your profile? Why not?


Top
 Profile  
 

Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 22 posts ] 
Go to page Previous  1, 2



All times are UTC - 6 hours




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

Theme Created By ceyhansuyu