Print view Previous topic   Next topic  
Search for:
PostPosted: Mon Jan 12, 2009 12:56 pm 
Hi,
I'm trying to install KnoppMyth on a
Pentium III 533 Mhz
256 MB RAM
10 GB IDE Harddrive
At the moment the Hard Drive has got Windows 2000 installed but I'm trying to install Knoppmyth over it. This should format the hard drive automatically. Right?
The BIOS successfully boots from the CD, I press Enter and the screen goes black and the computer freezes.
When I type in debug or failsafe, I get the messages at the end of the screen:
Code:
Code: Bad EIP value.
EIP: [<00000000>] _stext=03xfeff000/0x20 SS:ESP 0068:c13c3cf8
Kernel panic - not syncing: Fatal exception in interrupt

I'm a complete beginner in Linux and do not know anything about. I'm very familiar with Windows, Windows Server, PHP, MySQL, HTML, some CSS, Javascript and know the basics of PC Hardware, but I do not know anything about Linux so could you please give detailed solutions.

Thanks in advance,

Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jan 12, 2009 1:29 pm 
If you haven't already, you should start by checking the integrity of the CD.

Check the MD5 checksum of the image you downloaded and burned the CD from (there's free MD5 software you can download for Windows if you poke around).

You should also use the testcd option at the prompt that you're getting and see what happens.

Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jan 12, 2009 1:43 pm 
Thanks for your post. I have checked the md5 checksum of the ISO image I downloaded.
(e58bebb074c8287d3f3d8bf61cc0413f *KnoppMythR5.5.iso)
So the image seems to be fine.
I have reburned the KnoppMyth onto another CD, this time with the slowest available speed. (16x)
I have tried the option "knoppmyth testcd" which got me a black screen.
Then I tried "debug testcd" which got me to the message:
Quote:
EIP: [<c0181a9>] kmem_cache_create+0x99/0x440 SS:ESP 0068:cfec3f34
Kernel panic - not syncing: Attempted to kill init!

What shall I do now?

Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jan 12, 2009 4:55 pm