LinHES Forums
http://forums.linhes.org/

start a program from a shell and have it load into X on :0
http://forums.linhes.org/viewtopic.php?f=14&t=19633
Page 1 of 1

Author:  graysky [ Mon Mar 02, 2009 3:17 am ]
Post subject:  start a program from a shell and have it load into X on :0

Basically, I'd like to know how to start a program from a shell and have it load up in an active X session. Example. KM box is running X on display :0 as per defaults. I want to ssh into the box from another PC and run a GUI program like mplayer and have it appear in the :0 display. Is this possible and if so, how?

Thanks!

Author:  mikavir [ Mon Mar 02, 2009 5:19 am ]
Post subject: 

Try using the -X -option with ssh. Here at work I have a Fedora 9:

Quote:
OpenSSH_5.1p1, OpenSSL 0.9.8g 19 Oct 2007


ssh -X mythtv@mythboxip

xeyes and even mythfrontend work, even though fe is _really_ slow...

Author:  alien [ Mon Mar 02, 2009 7:34 am ]
Post subject: 

ssh tunneling (ssh -X) will allow a problem run on a remote machine to display on the machine you used to log into it (very useful).

If you want to have the program display on :0 (i.e. your TV), execute the following after logging in:
Code:
export DISPLAY=:0
Any further commands (ex. xterm) will display on the TV.

Author:  graysky [ Mon Mar 02, 2009 3:46 pm ]
Post subject: 

Thanks for the suggestions. The way to do it:

1) On the LOCAL machine (i.e. the one on which you want the program running), open a shell and type 'xhost localhost'

2) Connect to the machine via ssh and enter the following into the shell 'export DISPLAY=:0.0'

Now anything you run from that ssh shell appears on X on the machine. Very cool and useful.

Page 1 of 1 All times are UTC - 6 hours
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
http://www.phpbb.com/