View unanswered posts    View active topics

All times are UTC - 6 hours





Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 
Print view Previous topic   Next topic  
Author Message
Search for:
PostPosted: Sat Oct 17, 2009 7:59 am 
Offline
Joined: Fri Apr 14, 2006 9:59 am
Posts: 7
I am copying Cecils Atomic Ant system found here http://knoppmyth.net/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=19476. So far the install went well but I can't figure out how to add the USB Hauppauge HVR device as shown here: Tuner Card http://www.hauppauge.com/site/products/data_hvr850.html,

When I enter Myth setup to add the card I do not see an option for this, how do I configure it?

If I cant get the hauppauge to work I Have the SA4250 cable box provided by my cable company. In the back of the box I see two USB ports and one firewire. Can I simply get a Firewire to USB cable and plug it into the back of the cable box and connect it to the Atomic system and than add the Card "Firewire Cable Box? Perhaps I need a USB to USB cable?

I would really like to get the Hauppauge HRV 850 working but I do not know how to add it?

Please advise.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Oct 19, 2009 12:23 am 
Offline
Site Admin
Joined: Fri Sep 19, 2003 6:37 pm
Posts: 2657
Location: Whittier, Ca
When mythtv-setup is ran after installing (or <alt><s> after stopping the backend <alt><2>), the tuner should be configured as a DVB device. As far as I'm aware, you cannot attached a USB tuner to any set top box. Those ports are mostly for firmware upgrades.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Oct 19, 2009 5:06 am 
Offline
Joined: Fri Apr 14, 2006 9:59 am
Posts: 7
I do set the card up as DVB. Than I exit out of that section and select input connections. I set the 850 card to use schedules direct and select fetch channels. I have tried to also just scan the channels but It never finds anything.

One thing I notice in the DVB setup is it says the card is ATSC. Perhaps this is part of the problem.

Last night I also tried the HVR-950 and it does the exact same thing.

Are the 850 and 950 cards only to be used as ATSC?

As a test I used my old Haumpage 150 card and everything works great so that kind of tells me the process I am using to setup the system is somewhat valid.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Oct 19, 2009 5:14 am 
Offline
Joined: Wed Jan 25, 2006 1:03 pm
Posts: 240
Location: Shakopee, MN USA
With a DVB card, you need to scan for the channels and not fetch from Schedules direct.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: HVR 850 scanning
PostPosted: Mon Oct 19, 2009 6:43 am 
Offline
Joined: Fri Apr 14, 2006 9:59 am
Posts: 7
Okay so when I fetch the channels it never finds anything even with the cable companies cable hooked to the card. I am not intrested in ATSC channels I simply want NTSC that the cable company is providing. So no matter what I set the search settings to it never finds any channels.

Is what I am trying to do not possible?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Oct 19, 2009 9:53 am 
Offline
Joined: Wed Jan 25, 2006 1:03 pm
Posts: 240
Location: Shakopee, MN USA
A DVB device can only do ATSC or QAM. Does a device show up if you set it to a V4L device? From the description of it on the Hauppage Website, it is a hybrid tuner.

http://www.hauppauge.com/site/products/data_hvr850.html

It is possible that only ATSC is supported in Linux.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: HVR 850 / 950 V4L device
PostPosted: Mon Oct 19, 2009 10:23 am 
Offline
Joined: Fri Apr 14, 2006 9:59 am
Posts: 7
Yes the device shows up under V4L after the device listing is says ATSC. I am about ready to give up on this and switch to plan B. Hopefully this thread can continue to get updated and a resolution can be found.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jul 15, 2011 5:29 am 
Offline
Joined: Tue Aug 15, 2006 11:14 am
Posts: 1196
Location: Orlando FL
Yes Ericksha you can mix spagetti noodles with chicken soup on the friday after labor day of the week. Although the fish on my plate and the cow on second basement of the hospital might find your lack of humanity disturbing.

I have a feeling ericksha is just testing their new spam account I saw another completely irrational unrelated post the other day.

_________________
My System


Top
 Profile  
 

Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 


All times are UTC - 6 hours




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

Theme Created By ceyhansuyu