View unanswered posts    View active topics

All times are UTC - 6 hours





Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
Print view Previous topic   Next topic  
Author Message
Search for:
PostPosted: Fri Oct 29, 2010 3:00 pm 
Offline
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2009 6:12 am
Posts: 80
Hi. I'm stuck. I have the first full trusted edition of LinHes that was released excitedly to the public last year (when you released it at a conference I think). I want to update it to current version, saving all my settings for programming, VDPAU etc.

For fear of ruining my working MythTV, I tried to clone the drive first. I ran GParted and copied each partition (in order -- the ext2 boot, the linux swap, and the ext2 main).

Problem one. Cloned drive does not boot. Help.

Problem two. I tried running the current LinHes CD and ran update, which said it would update the first partition. It failed. (With a huge FAILED on the LinHes screen). Help!

_________________
==========
Knoppmyth R6 Preview auto - Dell Dimension 2400 2.4 GHz - 1.2gb ram - Sparkle GeForce 8400GS (was MX4000 128MB) PCI TV-out - HDHomeRun dual ATSC over gigabit. It's not Greek to me, just Linux


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Oct 29, 2010 3:40 pm 
Offline
Joined: Sun Sep 25, 2005 3:50 pm
Posts: 1013
Location: Los Angeles
worldpoop wrote:
Hi. I'm stuck. I have the first full trusted edition of LinHes that was released excitedly to the public last year (when you released it at a conference I think). I want to update it to current version, saving all my settings for programming, VDPAU etc.

For fear of ruining my working MythTV, I tried to clone the drive first. I ran GParted and copied each partition (in order -- the ext2 boot, the linux swap, and the ext2 main).

Problem one. Cloned drive does not boot. Help.

Problem two. I tried running the current LinHes CD and ran update, which said it would update the first partition. It failed. (With a huge FAILED on the LinHes screen). Help!


I use clonezilla for this type of thing. It's been a while since I used it (> 1 year) but it always worked for me.

_________________
Mike
My Hardware Profile


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Oct 29, 2010 5:34 pm 
Offline
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2009 6:12 am
Posts: 80
This is awesome, Mike, thank you. I'll give Clonezilla a try and report back! (I says it supports grub -- good sign...)

_________________
==========
Knoppmyth R6 Preview auto - Dell Dimension 2400 2.4 GHz - 1.2gb ram - Sparkle GeForce 8400GS (was MX4000 128MB) PCI TV-out - HDHomeRun dual ATSC over gigabit. It's not Greek to me, just Linux


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Oct 31, 2010 1:37 am 
Offline
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2009 6:12 am
Posts: 80
Yes. Clonezilla worked perfectly. Thank you.

_________________
==========
Knoppmyth R6 Preview auto - Dell Dimension 2400 2.4 GHz - 1.2gb ram - Sparkle GeForce 8400GS (was MX4000 128MB) PCI TV-out - HDHomeRun dual ATSC over gigabit. It's not Greek to me, just Linux


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jan 15, 2011 6:23 pm 
Offline
Joined: Fri Dec 31, 2010 9:43 am
Posts: 14
Clonezilla worked pretty well for me.

The problem I had while moving the disk over to a larger one was when I needed gparted to expand the partitions. The specific problem was the swap partitiion not being recognized correctly. I had to move it to expand the partitons and in the process it failed to mount during boot. I deleted that line in fstab and put in an appropriate line. Everything is great now.

The boot sector seems to be a problem with Gparted. The paritions always move over good but booting is a problem. I have similar issues with Windows partitions.

So, I recommend using Clonezilla to move to a new drive and make sure it boots. Then use gparted to expand the patitions. I am not sure why the swap was not labeled correctly for gparted to move it, but as long as you are certain it is only a swap you can fix it afterward.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jan 16, 2011 3:35 am 
Offline
Joined: Wed Dec 10, 2003 8:31 pm
Posts: 1995
Location: /dev/null
You can copy of the partitions one-by-one as you did initially, you just have to chroot into the "new" system and rebuild the kernel images as well as install grub and edit the /etc/fstab on the new drive if you made changes. Then it'll boot just fine.

https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/In ... get_system

You don't need gparted; just partition the new drive to match the partitions on the old one - you can vary their sizes, just keep the order/type consistent. I'd recommend using rsync to copy the needed partitions over.

_________________
Retired KM user (R4 - R6.04); friend to LH users.


Top
 Profile  
 

Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 


All times are UTC - 6 hours




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

Theme Created By ceyhansuyu