View unanswered posts    View active topics

All times are UTC - 6 hours





Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
Print view Previous topic   Next topic  
Author Message
Search for:
PostPosted: Wed Jul 10, 2013 2:50 pm 
Offline
Joined: Wed Jul 10, 2013 2:42 pm
Posts: 3
I usually build MythTV on Gentoo, however I had my backend die on me and figured I just wanted it to work so I grabbed the latest stable release and installed. All that went fine, except my frontend was 0.26. So I backed that down, got everything configured and it's all running fine. However 0.26 fixes a few bugs that are pretty annoying for me so I was hoping there was some way to get 0.26 in LinHES 7.4?

I read references to using a testing repo, I tried adding:

Server = http://linhes.org/repo/i686/core-testing
Server = http://linhes.org/repo/i686/extra-testing

But that didn't seem to make any difference.. Perhaps I just didn't use the correct pacman command line?

I'm not sure if this is relevant but when I login I'm getting

Couldn't connect to MythTV service for status
Exception AttributeError: "'MythBE' object has no attribute 'hostname'" in ignored

It used to display information about Myth, recordings, etc.. Maybe that's a hint? Perhaps I messed up something....

Thanks for any tips/links/suggestions..etc..


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Jul 10, 2013 3:02 pm 
Offline
Joined: Sun Sep 05, 2004 7:06 pm
Posts: 677
Best thing would be to upgrade R8 it is based on myth 25 + fixes. As far as I know Linhes is going to skip Myth 26 since it has some nasty bugs so the next release will be based on myth 27 when it arrives...


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Jul 10, 2013 3:08 pm 
Offline
Joined: Wed Jul 10, 2013 2:42 pm
Posts: 3
Weird, I ran 0.26 since it was released and never had any problems with it (my BE crash was hardware related). Must be problems with hardware I dont' use I'd guess.

I'll wait until the next official release of LinHes. Might see about fixing the bugs that bug me in 0.25 they're all frontend related anyway..

Thanks.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Jul 10, 2013 3:27 pm 
Offline
Joined: Sun Sep 05, 2004 7:06 pm
Posts: 677
Another option might be Linhes R8 with XBMC for frontend. That might allow you to escape so of those issues...


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Jul 10, 2013 4:13 pm 
Offline
Joined: Wed Jul 10, 2013 2:42 pm
Posts: 3
RacerX wrote:
Another option might be Linhes R8 with XBMC for frontend. That might allow you to escape so of those issues...
Thanks, didn't think of that... never tried XBMC, installing now.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Jul 10, 2013 9:07 pm 
Offline
Joined: Sun Sep 05, 2004 7:06 pm
Posts: 677
Please make sure to use R8 Linhes with XBMC.

Then run Pacman -Syu

to update to to R8.02 this ... will fix the lirc XBMC bug so your remote will work perfect with XBMC

Here is the migration documentation

http://www.linhes.org/projects/linhes/wiki/Upgrading_LinHES_R7X_to_R8

Any questions fell free to ask

Enjoy


Top
 Profile  
 

Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 


All times are UTC - 6 hours




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

Theme Created By ceyhansuyu