View unanswered posts    View active topics

All times are UTC - 6 hours

Print view Previous topic   Next topic  
Search for:
PostPosted: Mon Sep 25, 2006 6:09 am 
I'm just getting started with MythTV, and I'm wondering what HDTV tuner and antenna to get. Since I'm not even sure how many channels (if any) I can get, my first step is to prototype an HDTV MythTV box with my old PC (Athlon 1.33 GHz) before investing in a fancy home theater PC.

According to antennaweb.org, several digital channels are within 7 miles of my house, with the furthest one that I care about being 22 miles away. However, I live in Pittsburgh which is very hilly, and I have lots of trees around. Analog reception has always been an issue in this area. Anyway, I'm thinking that I probably need a pretty powerful antenna and tuner card.

Does anyone know how the various HDTV tuner cards compare? Seems like the pcHDTV HD-5500 and the Air2PC HD-5000 are popular. There are several others listed on:

http://www.linuxtv.org/wiki/index.php/ATSC_cards

What I'm wondering is:

1) Which are better at receiving weak signals?

2) Do any of these pay attention to the "broadcast flag" (I know the pcHDTV 5500 does not, and that's a selling point)?

3) Is there a difference in computation load on the PC with these for HDTV (e.g., Air2PC has PID filtering in HW, but it sounds like that doesn't necessarily help with OTA HDTV)?

4) Which are easier to get working with MythTV?

5) Is heat an issue with any of these?

6) All of these just take the digital MPEG2 signal and put it on the hard drive, without any type of "capture" or "encoding" involved, so all would have the same video quality, right?

Thanks.

Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Sep 25, 2006 8:55 am